Tord31 Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 steps down as Vice Chairman. reveals cancer scare last year. Presumably this is the beginning of some changes to the ownership/board at the club as we work towards raising the funds for the stadium and delivering the stadium. what absolute bollocks the rumours of a fall out were then. 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Everything improved with his arrival and decisions. Worrying. 7 Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted June 25, 2018 Admin Share Posted June 25, 2018 Yule, who joined the club in 2012 with the aim of forging stronger relationships with the supporters and delivering the training facilities and new stadium, cited recent surgery as a factor in his decision to step down. He said: “I had a prostate cancer scare towards the end of last year which subsequently led to major surgery and, although I’m heading towards full recovery, the absence gave me an opportunity to re-evaluate my priorities and I decided that my own health and family must come first in future. “As a life-long Dons fan It’s not been an easy decision to make and I will certainly miss mixing and working with footballers, business colleagues and our passionate supporters on a daily basis.” Dons chairman Stewart Milne thanked Yule for his contribution at Pittodrie and expects his former colleague to continue to play a supportive role at the club despite his resignation. He said: “I have enjoyed working with George during that time, and personally appreciate all that he has contributed to the club’s progress over his time with us, we are indebted to him, and wish him all the best for the future. “He may be leaving his current role, but we are comforted in the knowledge that he will continue to play a role both as a fan and an ambassador of the club.” https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/1506038/dons-vice-chairman-steps-down/ Link to comment
BWG Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Everything improved with his arrival and decisions. Worrying.Aye he certainly seems to have been a positive influence on the club. Watch us give the GWT the job. Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 I thought Yule was to head up the stadium building committee, on full recovery from his cancer issue? Maybe his health issues have lead to a full life evaluation Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Dave Cormack will become vice chairman. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 I'm sure he will be missed but hopefully we some good candidates to step into his shoes, maybe Cormack. Or we could apply the (fucking laughable) logic of Huns and arrive at the conclusion people stepping down from the board means massive investment is about to come into the club and they need to step aside for that to happen ? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 I assume leaves the board as well as steps down as vice chairman? Could feasibly remain on the board in a less involving capacity? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted June 25, 2018 Site Sponsor Share Posted June 25, 2018 Sorry to hear this. Had a good few meetings with George over the years. 100% Dons man. Health takes priority but he'll be at the games if he can be. 2 Link to comment
Sheepskin_1903 Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 The right decision from a good man. Always spoke sense when iv'e met him. Hope his health gets better and he enjoys his time with family and friends. Im sure he will still be a familiar face at pittodrie going forward, but now as a fan. 3 Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Not good news. Been excellent since his arrival. AFCCT will be his legacy. Bailing oot prior to the stadium debacle imo. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Heard this was coming a while ago.A terrible shame that he has been suffering from health issues and his health is more important than anything else.He's been great for the club in his time in the role and I hope whoever comes in to replace him continues on with the good work already started. 1 Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Not good news. Been excellent since his arrival. AFCCT will be his legacy. Bailing oot prior to the stadium debacle imo.Is that not a bit of a contradiction? If he's a good influence at the club why would he leave if he suspected there was a forthcoming "debacle"? Seems to me he's the sort of guy who would stay on to help if he was worried about that sort of thing. Link to comment
Scotty_Toronto Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Dave Cormack will become vice chairman. Can't think of anyone better off hand. (Would he take it?) All the best, George. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 25, 2018 Author Share Posted June 25, 2018 His day to day role is replaced by the new Commercial Director. His stadium role will be replaced in due course i guess? The title of vice chairman you'd presume moves back to non exec and one of the current non exec board members takes that up? Dave C being the best guess Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Is that not a bit of a contradiction? If he's a good influence at the club why would he leave if he suspected there was a forthcoming "debacle"? Seems to me he's the sort of guy who would stay on to help if he was worried about that sort of thing. No. He's delivered everything he was asked to ie planning clearance for a new stadium.The funding and completion will be much harder to deliver. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 So why can't you just take the man at his word rather than make his standing down about the "forthcoming stadium debacle" You need to take a few more pills today Betty, you've fucking lost it again. 5 1 Link to comment
Cults_Sheep Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Jock Gardiner to lead stadium project upon Yules departure. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 So why can't you just take the man at his word rather than make his standing down about the "forthcoming stadium debacle" You need to take a few more pills today Betty, you've fucking lost it again. I'm not saying the forthcoming stadium debacle is the reason he is bailing out. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 You absolutely implied it. But glad to see you are backtracking because you realise that was just plain stupid. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 You absolutely implied it. But glad to see you are backtracking because you realise that was just plain stupid. Not at all. I said he's done very well and done what he's been asked to do. He is leaving before the stadium debacle though but I'm not saying that is the reason for his departure or if it played any part in his decision. Have a read back my friend. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 I don't need to read it back, it's very clear what you implied imo. But it's fine, on your conscious be it Betty. ? Link to comment
super_al Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 There is the big announcement. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 No coincidence the club completely turned around both on and off the pitch with his arrival. I think his influence will be sorely missed. Did a great job while there, hope he enjoys a long retirement. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Good guy. Fair difference in the state of the club from when he took over, from until now. Always listened to what you had to say.And was happy to implement any good input / innovation. Hope he can still be relied on for guidance. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Hope he can still be relied on for guidance. The biggest worry is the appointment of a new manager when the time comes. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 The biggest worry is the appointment of a new manager when the time comes. Indeed. Hopefully nae too soon, as much as my criticism o' Del boy would sometimes suggest otherwise. Link to comment
Red Ram Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 Jock Gardiner to lead stadium project upon Yules departure.Would have thought work at Maven Capital would have kept him busy enough - he's a shrewd businessman, decent bloke and massive fan so would be a good replacement along same lines as Yule 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 25, 2018 Share Posted June 25, 2018 There's been a noticeable improvement in the whole professionalism of the club since Yule came came on board. I hope there's not going to be a relapse. Link to comment