OnceFaeMintlaw Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Been watching channel 4 documentary “Paul Heaton: From Hull to Heatongrad”. 20 minutes from the end, a static shot of a couple of football pennants on the wall of the studio. One was Millwall, the other was our very own Aberdeen FC. WTF?!! It a Hull Penang in sight. What’s the story there? Any other unexpected sighttings of The Famous? I remember John Gordon Sinclair playing a Dons ta. In a short drama with Alan Davies a few years back (god knows the name). Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 There's an old photo of an African fitba team in 80's dons tops Due to O&G work it's not uncommon to see paraphernalia in distant lands I just wish Derek McInnes was in a distant land Link to comment
cumbernauld red Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Played for Newborough yallourn in 1999 - latrobe Valley league, Victoria, Australia. Signed Aberdeen ball from the 80s on the wall. Nobody knew where it came from Link to comment
RedForever Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Aberdeen Top pinned to the Ceiling of Paddy's Irish bar in Beijing Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 There’s a few pictures of Aberdeen fans on the walls of a couple of bars in Munich Legacy from 10 years ago! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Here's one. Interview with Michael Carrick as a kid back in 1995. Aberdeen poster on his bedroom wall. Check out @thespectoview’s Tweet: Link to comment
BitWait Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Girlfriend of mine sometimes wears the Aberdeen top I gave her whilst cleaning rooms at a hotel in Sunny beach , Bulgaria. Hotel has 90% German customers and she says that she has had some interesting comments and some Bayern fans who really want to speak football with her even though she knows fuck all. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Couple of Dons scarves on the ceiling of the (brilliantly named) Beverly Hills Fun Pub in Stavanger, though with all the O&G connections I don't suppose that's particularly random or unusual. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Girlfriend of mine sometimes wears the Aberdeen top I gave her whilst cleaning rooms at a hotel in Sunny beach , Bulgaria. Hotel has 90% German customers and she says that she has had some interesting comments and some Bayern fans who really want to speak football with her even though she knows fuck all. Exotic! Link to comment
BitWait Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Exotic!Did once see an Aberdeen top or pennant in a bar somewhere exotic but can't for the fuck of me remember where it was and not going to make it up. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Aberdeen sticker on a lampost outside Belfast International Airport. I have a photo kicking around somewhere. It's no longer there, probably a hun picked it off with shite stained nails. Link to comment
pwtredz Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 gothenberg 83 pennant on the wall in one of rod stewarts spanish villassaw it many moons ago, when watching a documentry aboot scotish fitba. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 I saw us top of the league. 1 Link to comment
Panda Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Been watching channel 4 documentary “Paul Heaton: From Hull to Heatongrad”. 20 minutes from the end, a static shot of a couple of football pennants on the wall of the studio. One was Millwall, the other was our very own Aberdeen FC. WTF?!! It a Hull Penang in sight. What’s the story there? Any other unexpected sighttings of The Famous? I remember John Gordon Sinclair playing a Dons ta. In a short drama with Alan Davies a few years back (god knows the name).Don't know if it's the same one you're thinking of, but was a made-for-TV film just before the start of France 98 called "my summer with Des", starring John Gordon Sinclair with Neil Morrissey and Rachel Weisz, which was all about Euro 96. Anyway, there's an Aberdeen poster on the wall. And John Gordon Sinclair plays a Dons fan (pretty sure he's a Hibs fan in real life). There's a bit where he goes to kiss the trophy in the team poster for good luck and then says "Aw no, we don't have one". But it was 1996, we'd have been League Cup holders at the time. Anyway, 5 mins 30 secs in you can watch it here:- https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fMrHgZiy94w Edit: Pretty sure later on in the film the two get into an argument and Neil Morrissey rips down the Aberdeen poster in revenge. Link to comment
RUL Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Did once see an Aberdeen top or pennant in a bar somewhere exotic but can't for the fuck of me remember where it was and not going to make it up.Would have made your post a bit more interesting if you had. Link to comment
BitWait Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Would have made your post a bit more interesting if you had.Thinking Rio now but can't give specifics as I was really bad with the drink and drugs at the time. Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 12, 2018 Share Posted December 12, 2018 Thinking Rio now but can't give specifics as I was really bad with the drink and drugs at the time.Interesting Any experience in dealing with dodgy Limo companies? Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 0:29 in. Australian Insurance ad. Random. 1 Link to comment
mcdougall(4) Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Dons scarf has been on a scientific expedition to Antarctica Link to comment
fatjim Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Short film called The Race. https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0436698/mediaviewer/rm2956410368 One of the characters is wearing a replica 1983 top. I knew a guy who worked on the film and he got me the top. Which features in the meme of me pretending to be a fictional character called Jesus. See my profile pic. Link to comment
OnceFaeMintlaw Posted December 13, 2018 Author Share Posted December 13, 2018 Don't know if it's the same one you're thinking of, but was a made-for-TV film just before the start of France 98 called "my summer with Des", starring John Gordon Sinclair with Neil Morrissey and Rachel Weisz, which was all about Euro 96. Anyway, there's an Aberdeen poster on the wall. And John Gordon Sinclair plays a Dons fan (pretty sure he's a Hibs fan in real life). There's a bit where he goes to kiss the trophy in the team poster for good luck and then says "Aw no, we don't have one". But it was 1996, we'd have been League Cup holders at the time. Anyway, 5 mins 30 secs in you can watch it here:- Edit: Pretty sure later on in the film the two get into an argument and Neil Morrissey rips down the Aberdeen poster in revenge. Ah yes, that's the very one. Turns out I was confusing it with another drama called "Roman Road". Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Been mentioned a few times in the past. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Dons top on the door of a shop on the Rialto Bridge in Venice September 1990 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Here RAZOR son - how the fuck did you stumble across this?Twitter. Believe our very own @@Roberto gave a RT. Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Dons scarf has been on a scientific expedition to AntarcticaMiniJC scouting for pets Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 13, 2018 Share Posted December 13, 2018 Here RAZOR son - how the fuck did you stumble across this?@@Ke1t posted it a few months ago too i think. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted December 14, 2018 Share Posted December 14, 2018 So razor is late to the party then it seems.Rehashing old posts and passing off as his own. Link to comment
Singapore Steve Posted December 14, 2018 Share Posted December 14, 2018 Dons top on the ceiling of the Sportsman's pub Singapore. Link to comment
Torry Tosser Posted December 14, 2018 Share Posted December 14, 2018 There a pub in Margate in Kent called Northern Belle wee a Photie of the Boys with the cup in Gothenburg.And another of Willie Miller at Pittodrie. Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 14, 2018 Share Posted December 14, 2018 So razor is late to the party then it seems.Rehashing old posts and passing off as his own.Ban hammer offence imo Link to comment