Ke1t Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 Where did they all go? Deed, is the simple answer, but there was a generation of mostly British actors and musicians who lived life at a thousand miles an hour, drank, smoked, shagged, entertained the shit out of us, and then vanished never to be replaced. Guys like Ollie Reed, Peter O'Toole, Richard Burton, Alex Higgins, Richard Harris, and George Best, tremendous lads, all of them. Has PC killed off anyone with a personality? Ollie in his pomp... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZMXIxIQmPw Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 Modern men do not believe in Hell, so how can they raise it? I saw Oliver Reed appear on The Word, he was some boy. (I think L7's appearance on The Word was still my favourite episode, though). Most guys these days are simpering nancy-boys, concerned about climate change and their weekly intake of alcoholic units. Couldn't even disable a Tiger Tank, if all they had was a PIAT. (Half the woofters on here will be thinking "whats a PIAT?") Link to comment
seann coirthe Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 That and the wonders of modern medicine. I bet most of these guys would have been diagnosed as being on the spectrum and had the pharm cosh put upon them. The like of Barry Sheen and James Hunt will never be seen again. All wipe clean sanitised celebrity types now . Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 'Slebs these days... it's all juicing and yoga and mindfulness. The hellraisers were indeed a breed apart, I'm not even sure who the modern equivalents might be. And no, Liam Gallagher doesn't count, being an arse is not quite the same thing. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 That and the wonders of modern medicine. I bet most of these guys would have been diagnosed as being on the spectrum and had the pharm cosh put upon them. The like of Barry Sheen and James Hunt will never be seen again. All wipe clean sanitised celebrity types now . That is an alarmingly plausible post. Oliver Reed would have been diagnosed as having alcohol-induced ADHD or something equally bullshit, then medicated until all the interesting stuff had been flattened out. Modernity is crap. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 Bluto and the crew still keep it real Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 Fuck that shit. I love it. As soon as they make affrodable sex robot's I'm deleting all my apps and never leaving the house again bar my bi-weekly daunder up the hills. Great time to be alive. Sound. Get them to fit you out with a pair of tits whilst you're at it. Link to comment
For Fecks Sake Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 Modern men do not believe in Hell, so how can they raise it? I saw Oliver Reed appear on The Word, he was some boy. (I think L7's appearance on The Word was still my favourite episode, though). Most guys these days are simpering nancy-boys, concerned about climate change and their weekly intake of alcoholic units. Couldn't even disable a Tiger Tank, if all they had was a PIAT. (Half the woofters on here will be thinking "whats a PIAT?")My grandad used to gauge a man on his ability to 'pull back the spring on a PIAT and fire at a Tiger Yank while it shoots at you' or another if he would 'have that man in my trench or not'. Auld bastard fought the Afrika Korps and respected the Hun (nae the current lot). 99% of today's snowflake generation would fail that test. Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted May 10, 2019 Share Posted May 10, 2019 It’s all shite, folk are a product of the culture they’re brought up in. If there was a war most of the cunts that get ripped to bits for being woofters would step up and get stuck in because they had to. Other than breaking their nails or ruining their hair of course. There’s plenty of hellraisers still, it’s just not cool at this moment in time to be a drunken mess, so they aren’t celebrated 1 Link to comment
Fridge Posted May 11, 2019 Share Posted May 11, 2019 I’m nae convinced. Wouldn’t be trusting any of the non sock wearing, frosted tips haircut gaylords fighting a war for us. Probably all get gunned down while posting war selfies on Facebook. Would probably just need to do it ourselves, Daytz leading the charge. 2 Link to comment
For Fecks Sake Posted May 11, 2019 Share Posted May 11, 2019 I’m nae convinced. Wouldn’t be trusting any of the non sock wearing, frosted tips haircut gaylords fighting a war for us. Probably all get gunned down while posting war selfies on Facebook. Would probably just need to do it ourselves, Daytz leading the charge.Chances are the enemy would comprise of exactly the same snowflakes and both sides would swap moisturising and hair styling techniques as opposed to ramming a bayonet through a throat. 1 Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted May 11, 2019 Share Posted May 11, 2019 Attitudes have changed. It was great fun fighting and drinking and being a lout in general in the 80's/90's.Its was frowned upon but not to the extent it is now especially at the fitba.Turning up at work still half pissed was a laugh, scrapping at the fitba was a laugh but you get sacked and jailed for that these days. Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted May 11, 2019 Share Posted May 11, 2019 Attitudes have changed. It was great fun fighting and drinking and being a lout in general in the 80's/90's.Its was frowned upon but not to the extent it is now especially at the fitba.Turning up at work still half pissed was a laugh, scrapping at the fitba was a laugh but you get sacked and jailed for that these days.Pretty sure you could get jailed for fighting in the 80s /90’s. Link to comment
Arabian Knight Posted May 11, 2019 Share Posted May 11, 2019 whin eh wis hellraisin eh hit a cunt wi an axe n didna git arrested fir it n thir wis aboot 10 witness's. fuckin bloodbeth.. cunts airms n legs wir hingin aff. eh telt the cunts ehd come efter thim wi the axe whin thi wir sleepin if thi reportet it. nae cunt wid git awa wi that noo cos it'd be filmd oan a phone pit oan the internet.. but this wis the diys eh auld nokias. still goat the axe in the cupoard hoachin wi that much eh the cunts dna eh cid mak replica eh the cunt in a lab n hit him agen Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 11, 2019 Author Share Posted May 11, 2019 We are the last generation of men to have cocks. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted May 12, 2019 Share Posted May 12, 2019 Pretty sure you could get jailed for fighting in the 80s /90’s. You could but it took a few repeat offences unlike now when yer more likely to get jailed for a fight at the fitba than looking at kiddie porn. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted May 12, 2019 Share Posted May 12, 2019 You could but it took a few repeat offences unlike now when yer more likely to get jailed for a fight at the fitba than looking at kiddie porn.@@Dad Link to comment
YorkDon Posted May 12, 2019 Share Posted May 12, 2019 Like others have said hellraising is not considered cool anymore.Slebs would rather be known for healthy living and good life choices than punching fuck out of a knob on a night out,drinking a boozer dry and pulling a set of twins for a threesome. Link to comment