Betty Swallicks Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Since its Friday, fits the best chipper in Aberdeen(shire). Note its chippers so don't want any non north east "chippies". I'd say the place at Dyce. Sea Salt & Sole.Expensive but worth it imo. 1 Link to comment
Zeus Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Agreed. Worst - lows in westhill(s). Link to comment
Simply Red Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Torry Chip Bar / old skool chipper. Consistently good. Well trained staff. No retards undercooking the chips. No stupid fucking signs saying they were voted 6th best in Scotland 2015 semi-finalists (see Lowes in Westhill/mostly crap)Havent been for a while tho, but if its the same chinkies that run it then it'll still be gid. 1 Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 21, 2019 Author Share Posted June 21, 2019 Mikes Torry one? Its decent.One by Pittodrie used to be shite.Not been in other(s). Bluebird is ok after thawed out after a game and 5 pints.Kingfisher was nae great. Link to comment
Zeus Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 The one in cove used to be fucking awful. Nae been in ages Dolphin Hazelhead is nae bad - had conflicting reports however was decent when I went . Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 21, 2019 Author Share Posted June 21, 2019 Torry Chip Bar / old skool chipper. Consistently good. Well trained staff. No retards undercooking the chips. No stupid fucking signs saying they were voted 6th best in Scotland 2015 semi-finalists (see Lowes in Westhill/mostly crap)Havent been for a while tho, but if its the same chinkies that run it then it'll still be gid. Chinkies canna dee chippers imo. See my Kingfisher comment above. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 21, 2019 Author Share Posted June 21, 2019 The one in cove used to be fucking awful. Nae been in ages Dolphin Hazelhead is nae bad - had conflicting reports however was decent when I went. Cove one at Langdykes was chinkies inna. It was 20 year ago anyway and correct, it was awful. Link to comment
ebbe Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Hass’ Is good again. Sea salt and sole is untouchable though but a bit out the road. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 21, 2019 Author Share Posted June 21, 2019 Hass’ Is good again. Sea salt and sole is untouchable though but a bit out the road. Aye its top notch. Got a place at Brig O Don now too. Link to comment
Simply Red Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Chinkies canna dee chippers imo. See my Kingfisher comment above.Get yirself doon the torry chipper then and see and report back. Link to comment
Zeus Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Cove one at Langdykes was chinkies inna. It was 20 year ago anyway and correct, it was awful.Was a few years ago as well "wee China" Fit about the oor Willie themed een(old mr chips in mannofield), anyone been? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Always found that the smaller ones in wee villages are the best chippers. The big name ones are pretty bland tbh. Ashvale, for example, are hit or miss. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted June 21, 2019 Site Sponsor Share Posted June 21, 2019 Bay chipper in Stoney Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Mikes is great... only problem is it's usually full of mad Torry types. One of my pilgrimage sites when back in Aberdeen. EDIT: also worth seeing, if you're not over in Torry much, is at the top of the hill Mike's is on... there's a tenement where the wall is falling down, the gate is off the hinges, the grass is feet high, and in the summer the windows are held open with sticks. I've always wanted to dress as a Victorian cutpurse or guttersnipe and pose for a picture by that building. I 1 Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Cove one at Langdykes was chinkies inna. It was 20 year ago anyway and correct, it was awful.Still is and still is! The boy that owns it has written into his lease that another takeaway cannot open in that block of shops, so far he's fucked it up for a decent chipper (I believe Sea Salt and Sole before they opened in BOD) and an Indian and kebab shop.......so we have to put up with a shit chipper /chinkie that doesn't do either well.........the cunt.Hass is the best I have tried. Link to comment
ebbe Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Boy burnt it doon to upgrade Always a good move - but you must stick to your storyWas in a couple of sundays ago, fish supper with a black pudding chaser. 9/10 Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Had a mike's last night from the mugiemos shop. Back under mike's management now and back to its best. Was tremendous. Sea salt and sole (bod and dyce) are both magic too. The Stornoway black pudding chasers are immense. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Dyce one is class. Bit out of the way and off topic but the best hitler I've had is in Brae, Shetland Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 EDIT: also worth seeing, if you're not over in Torry much, is at the top of the hill Mike's is on... there's a tenement where the wall is falling down, the gate is off the hinges, the grass is feet high, and in the summer the windows are held open with sticks. I've always wanted to dress as a Victorian cutpurse or guttersnipe and pose for a picture by that building. ILooks like most streets in the Weeg. Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Dyce one is class. Bit out of the way and off topic but the best hitler I've had is in Brae, Shetland 1 Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 *chipper Wasn't paying attention. Reich old typo that 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 He will feel like a reich twat when he spots it. Edit - beat me to it. Did nazi that coming. You're jew some credit for the attempt. Link to comment
For Fecks Sake Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Bay Fish and chips in Stonehaven is great but expect a long wait for your stuff due the volume of tourists who frequent the place since it was named one of the best places by lonely planet. The Quayside in Gourdon is also quality and has a sit in option up upstairs. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 You're jew some credit for the attempt.Yid better just calm doon with these play on words Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 You're jew some credit for the attempt. What kind of gastronomy is this thread about? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 @@Police@OutragedJewishGroups@DailyRecord #SickDonsFans Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Balmedie chipper was always good. Also quite fond of the one in Kintore. Never found any particularly good ones in the city centre in the 7-8 years I lived there. Seems they get better the führer you get out of town. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 21, 2019 Share Posted June 21, 2019 Tina Tuna?I chuckled Amber Hearddock supper Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 21, 2019 Author Share Posted June 21, 2019 Bay Fish and chips in Stonehaven is great but expect a long wait for your stuff due the volume of tourists who frequent the place since it was named one of the best places by lonely planet. The Quayside in Gourdon is also quality and has a sit in option up upstairs. Bonus point for a sit in option.2 bonus points for a licenced sit in option (do you still get such a thing?). Link to comment