The Cockney Don Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 Draw for the First Qualifying Round is Monday 10th August with the single legged match played on Thursday 27th August(although games can be played on the Tuesday or Wednesday if there are scheduling conflicts). Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 This is shit. Only 50/50 chance of getting an away trip. Then zero chance of getting to the game if we are drawn away. That's before we start on our minimal chances of progress due to a gutless manager. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 Absolutely no chance of progression in this competition, hopefully this will signal the countdown to the sleekit bastard departure Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted August 2, 2020 Author Share Posted August 2, 2020 Would the Dons be seeded in the 2nd Qualifying Round ? Some decent sides in there now. Tottenham, AC Milan, Basel, Wolfsburg, Galatasaray, Standard Liege. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 Seeded in QR1 and QR2. Unseeded in QR3 and QR4. This is our year to get a bit further. It's always down to the luck of the draw more than how shite we are. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 Call me negative but hopefully a home draw against a decent side so we can go out without embarrassing ourselves. Link to comment
NEM Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 6 hours ago, The Cockney Don said: Would the Dons be seeded in the 2nd Qualifying Round ? Some decent sides in there now. Tottenham, AC Milan, Basel, Wolfsburg, Galatasaray, Standard Liege. When do their leagues start up again? Chance to catch the likes of spurs cold? Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted August 2, 2020 Author Share Posted August 2, 2020 2 minutes ago, NEM said: When do their leagues start up again? Chance to catch the likes of spurs cold? Dons are apparently seeded in the 2nd qualifying round so wouldn't meet the likes of them till the 3rd round(24th September) which by then all the top leagues new seasons will be up and running. English Premier League starts back 12th September. Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 18 minutes ago, NEM said: When do their leagues start up again? Chance to catch the likes of spurs cold? Did you see how utterly shite we were yesterday? Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 Need to ride our luck and get any kind of winnable draw In Q3. And then just see where ever Q4 might take us. Rounds 1-3 being well into our season has to help, surely to fuck. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted August 2, 2020 Author Share Posted August 2, 2020 Not much that's too special joining in the 3rd Round. PSV and Sporting Lisbon the standouts. I reckon the Tims will make the Champions League Groups. Link to comment
NEM Posted August 2, 2020 Share Posted August 2, 2020 1 hour ago, WesthillWanderersFC said: Did you see how utterly shite we were yesterday? Afraid so aye ? Clutching at straws Link to comment
afc1903mad Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 13 hours ago, The Cockney Don said: Not much that's too special joining in the 3rd Round. PSV and Sporting Lisbon the standouts. I reckon the Tims will make the Champions League Groups. Couple of teams still to be determined, but the QR3 round would likely include these seeded teams: - Tottenham Hotspur ** Eng 85.000 . FC Basel ** Sui >54.500 . Sporting CP Lisbon Por 50.000 FC København ** Den >38.000 PSV Eindhoven Ned 37.000 VfL Wolfsburg ** Ger >36.000 Sparta Praha Cze 30.500 APOEL Nicosia * Cyp 27.500 BATE Borisov ** Bls 24.000 Galatasaray ** Tur 23.500 Malmö FF * Swe 22.000 Partizan Belgrade * Srb 22.000 CL-Q2nc @2 21.000 - 54.000 Standard Liège ** Bel 20.500 FCSB * Rom 20.500 Granada CF ** Esp >19.885 AC Milan ** Ita 19.000 CL-Q2nc @2 18.500 - 34.000 AEK Athens Gre 16.500 Glasgow Rangers ** Sco >16.250 LASK Aut >14.000 NK Maribor * Slo 14.000 Hapoel Beer-Sheva * Isr 14.000 Rosenborg BK * Nor 13.500 Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 We'll get to round 3 and get papped oot. Not really expecting any more. The chances of this team navigating 4 Cup ties to get to the groups seems like a pipe dream at the moment. Although an away tie in round 2 might be problematic for us. Link to comment
afc1903mad Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 1 minute ago, aberdeen1970 said: We'll get to round 3 and get papped oot. Not really expecting any more. The chances of this team navigating 4 Cup ties to get to the groups seems like a pipe dream at the moment. Just showed on another thread that winning the Scottish cup / getting the third place spot as a default, is even more crucial for next seasons campaign. Doing so puts us automatically into QR3 and have two shots at group stages (EL or EL2) Link to comment
afc1903mad Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 3 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: Although an away tie in round 2 might be problematic for us. Depending on who we get, it could prove a difficult tie, although I'd still be confident with most of them Here's who's expected to be unseeded in QR2: - Zalgiris Vilnius * Lit 6.000 AGF Aarhus * Den >5.650 Motherwell * Sco >5.575 FC Vaduz * Lie 5.500 FK Kukësi * Alb 5.500 Anorthosis Famagusta Cyp 5.350 Aris Thessaloniki Gre >5.260 OFI Heraklion Gre >5.260 Valletta FC * Mlt 5.250 FK Ventspils * Lat 5.250 Olimpija Ljubljana * Slo 5.250 Lincoln Red Imps *p Gib 5.250 Servette FC Genève * Sui >5.120 Vojvodina Novi Sad Srb 5.100 TSC Backa Topola * Srb 5.100 Kalju Nomme * Est 5.000 NK Osijek Cro 4.975 Shakhtior Saligorsk * Bls 4.750 IFK Göteborg Swe 4.550 Hammarby IF * Swe 4.550 FC Santa Coloma *p And 4.500 FH Hafnarfjardar * Isl 4.500 Bodø/Glimt * Nor 4.350 Viking Stavanger Nor 4.350 Progrès Niederkorn * Lux 4.250 FK Riteriai * Lit 4.250 CSKA Sofia * Bul 4.000 Sutjeska Niksic * Mon 4.000 Honvéd Budapest * Hun 4.000 Maccabi Haifa * Isr 3.925 Beitar Jerusalem * Isr 3.925 Ordabasy Shymkent * Kaz 3.850 Kaysar Kyzylorda Kaz 3.850 Neftchi Baku * Azb 3.750 Shamrock Rovers * Irl 3.750 B36 Torshavn *p Far 3.750 Kesla FK * Azb 3.750 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 I assume it’s country specific is it? So ignoring seeding for the moment we can’t get Motherwell or der hun Link to comment
afc1903mad Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 Just now, strachanmcgheegoal said: I assume it’s country specific is it? So ignoring seeding for the moment we can’t get Motherwell or der hun Yes, we will be put into pots meaning we will not be able to draw teams from our own country Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 Next week for the first round draw. It's still not 100% confirmed how this all works. I'm mostly meaning the dollars but 2 more pages of speaking about away goals would be fun Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 3, 2020 Share Posted August 3, 2020 6 minutes ago, Tord31 said: Next week for the first round draw. It's still not 100% confirmed how this all works. I'm mostly meaning the dollars but 2 more pages of speaking about away goals would be fun Please dont bring that up again. All the zoomers will be out in force. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 Draw tomorrow for Aberdeen and Motherwell I see Celtic got an Icelandic team at home Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 Groups have been confirmed now. Regionalised, Iceland, Northern Ireland (Glentoran), Wales (Barry Town) or 2 teams from Faroes. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 Seems like we've got off lightly there. Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 A trip to Iceland would be no gimme. and we weren't exactly brilliant when we last faced Barry Town in Wales Link to comment
Simply Red Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 59 minutes ago, Ten Caat said: A trip to Iceland would be no gimme. and we weren't exactly brilliant when we last faced Barry Town in Wales A trip to spar is like a trip to Mars Link to comment
CalgaryDon Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 1 hour ago, Betty Swallicks said: Groups have been confirmed now. Regionalised, Iceland, Northern Ireland (Glentoran), Wales (Barry Town) or 2 teams from Faroes. Are bohemian FC in the competition? Would be delighted if we drew them and knocked them out. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted August 9, 2020 Author Share Posted August 9, 2020 5 minutes ago, CalgaryDon said: Are bohemian FC in the competition? Would be delighted if we drew them and knocked them out. They are yes. They'll be playing one of : FK Bodø/Glimt (NOR) Nõmme Kalju FC (EST) Fehérvár FC (HUN) . Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted August 9, 2020 Share Posted August 9, 2020 10 minutes ago, The Cockney Don said: Away in Iceland would be the toughest. But we should really be beating any of this lot Link to comment