Zander1903 Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 anyone on here got any thoughts on the quality of kitchen suppliers on the go? im getting new windows put into the flat so as a result i've only got around £5k put aside dont want a B&Q kitchen but wickes im not really sure about, Howdens/ magnet are the next jump up but not sure if i can stretch to that right now( maybe save more 1st) Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Not know anyone with a Howdens account? Their stuff is decent Link to comment
Simply Red Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Give those hillbilly cunts in inverurie a shout. ’we daa dee funcy...’ ’spikin your language’ etc when your there, burn the place to the ground. Worst advert ever made. 1 Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Just now, Simply Red said: Give those hillbilly cunts in inverurie a shout. ’we daa dee funcy...’ ’spikin your language’ etc when your there, burn the place to the ground. Worst advert ever made. Christ, I can only imagine. I'm still hoping something awful befalls Kath fae country bumpkin auto Centre. Link to comment
Simply Red Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 10 minutes ago, milne_afc said: Christ, I can only imagine. I'm still hoping something awful befalls Kath fae country bumpkin auto Centre. I do quite a good Kath fae Kirkhill Autos impression. Her teeth sound like they are far too big for her mouth. Link to comment
Zander1903 Posted August 22, 2020 Author Share Posted August 22, 2020 28 minutes ago, milne_afc said: Not know anyone with a Howdens account? Their stuff is decent aye i have a joiner m8 with a trade account there, dunno if i trust the fker to fit a kitchen tho anyone i've spoken to so far say Howdens kitchens are good just wish they'd put prices up so i could get a rough figure what its gonna be Link to comment
far's_the_bogs? Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Howdens have a sale in October so if you can wait until then you could save a decent amount. What I would recommend though, for roughly the same budget, is a Symphony kitchen from Buildbase. I know a few joiners who do kitchens so if you need someone to do the work, or any other trades, let me know. 1 Link to comment
Zander1903 Posted August 22, 2020 Author Share Posted August 22, 2020 thats good to know, Cheers for that ? might take you up on getting someone in, a lot of ppl i've messaged canna even be bothered to reply.....must have far too much money to pass on jobs lol Link to comment
Zander1903 Posted August 22, 2020 Author Share Posted August 22, 2020 a friend thats fitting my windows is running about 3 months behind but not a problem with the money im saving with that Link to comment
far's_the_bogs? Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 I think a lot of people have been surprisingly busy. Folk having to cancel holidays and choosing to spend money on their house instead. I know 3 joiners / kitchen fitters though so I'm sure they'd be able to sort you out as and when you're ready. Link to comment
Fridge Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Don’t do it min, last one I got was in bridge of Don somewhere. Honestly took about 6 hours discussing colour of drawer handles and the difference between German cookers and British ones. Get yourself a George Foreman grill and save yourself from suicide going through it. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Aye we ended up going to Howdens as all the other companies were a pain in the arse. Mainly trying to sell us stuff we didn't want or need just to make more cash. One bint from one company even suggested that we block off one of the exterior doors from the kitchen to fit in an extra unit. Missus was going to go for it as well until I stepped in to put an end to that nonsense. Howdens was no fuss. What do you want? Aye that will fit. What colour? What finish? Which handles? Job done. Link to comment
redstrummer Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 i was getting quotes at the start of the year , thankfully never pulled the trigger , bit of uncertainty over my job. Anyway the boy at Wren started quoting over 40k , oh but wait until i put in your discount and we are down to 18k typical salesman bullshit. Howdens measured me up but never came back with a quote , was kinda underwhelmed anyway . Will have a look at Symphony as suggested Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 4 minutes ago, redstrummer said: i was getting quotes at the start of the year , thankfully never pulled the trigger , bit of uncertainty over my job. Anyway the boy at Wren started quoting over 40k , oh but wait until i put in your discount and we are down to 18k typical salesman bullshit. Howdens measured me up but never came back with a quote , was kinda underwhelmed anyway . Will have a look at Symphony as suggested Depends what you're after. We've got two young kids so Howdens was fine as it's functional rather than fancy. Kids will fucking wreck the joint like they do the rest of the house before they're up anyway. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Anyone had any experience with ikea units? I need to replace a fucked counter and units at some point. Ive been trying to buy an oven for over a month. So I expect it’ll take me about 5 years to get it sorted. Link to comment
far's_the_bogs? Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Yeah, the quality is decent and they're well priced but from a practical point of view they don't have a service gap behind the back of the unit. It can make things difficult for the plumbing and electrics. They do look nice though, or different at least. Just don't go for the 20mm deep worktop. Invariably looks shite. Link to comment
Fridge Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 It’s probably a great time for a deal to be fair. Just do not accept any price until he says he’ll need to check with his manager. Pretty much guaranteed they will agree especially just now.. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 19 minutes ago, Fridge said: It’s probably a great time for a deal to be fair. Just do not accept any price until he says he’ll need to check with his manager. Pretty much guaranteed they will agree especially just now.. It's nae actually. Home improvement trades are oot the door right now. Nae much haggling to be done. Link to comment
Simply Red Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 1 hour ago, Sooper-hanz said: We were getting a quote for our old house and this middle aged bint from B&Q came round , looked at the kitchen , did a VR thing on her laptop to show us what it would look like ,then gave us a quote . We thought it was a bit steep She then proceeds to offer us the option of her contacting her joiner pals and doing the job via her for half the price .?? I shopped her . ? nah I never but couldn’t believe her bravado. Ha theres not enough of that these days. I got made redundant a few weeks back and im thinking after reading that, that i could get a job as a traffic warden, put tickets on folks cars, then offer them £10 cash on the spot ticket removal service. 10 of them a day, keep me and the family in crack and turkey twizzlerz till o&g picks up again. Link to comment
Localfitbafan Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 I have a flat I rent out and put an IKEA kitchen in it and 2 years down the line it still looks decent and it was reasonably cheap.IKEA also offer interest free credit, 12 months if you spend more £1200 and 24 months if its over £2400 (numbers might be slightly different) I needed to about £1150 worth of units and worktops so just bought an extra unit to take me over the amount for the interest free credit, kept it in the box and returned it a month later and they credited the account the value of the unit As said above, the only issue was the lack of space at the back of the unit so I had to go old school and drill hole through the sides to run the pipes for the sink as I was changing the position of the sink They were good to deal with, book a time, get them to draw a plan and no hard sale, took the plan home and then tweaked it slightly and ordered it all Link to comment
Simply Red Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 We got ikea units for the living room. The usual assortment of cupboards and drawers with the tv in the middle of it. Looks good, good quality, good price. I assembled all the units and got a joiner in to fix it all to the wall. Saved me a lot of fucking about. Edit: ikea offer a service to assemble and mount yir units but no need. The units are easy to assemble, just take a good few hours. Link to comment
The Buzzard Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 As mentioned above, Howdens always do a sake round about October and we got outs from there for a good price. Boys in the place were ideal in terms of measuring up and going through options. Some of them will come and go on prices of individual items too if you're lucky. She had a £160 tap on our stuff and I had a few choice words on that and the boy knocked £100 off. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 I got a Howdens kitchen about 5 years ago. My old man had an account. Can't fault it for quality. No doors have fallen off yet. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Will be putting a new een in with this extension. She's just been looking at Howdens which seem reasonable. Might look at the ikea ones though. The issues above won't bother me as I won't be fitting it. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 21 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Anyone got a serving hatch? I do My ma and da used to have one in the 80s. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 There's nothing wrong with B&Q stuff, but Magnet is top of the pops. My folks have a Magnet kitchen and the look and feel is superior. Its very rare that kitchen units take my breath away, but I was forced to commend the look of their fine new Kitchen. We have a Manhattan Kitchen (grandiose name) which the builders installed for us moving in. Its decent, never given us any bother. Don't know if they sell to the public, beyond spares. We did a garage conversion and moved our washing machine out of the kitchen, leaving a big gap under the worktop - I got a cabinet out of B&Q to fill it (using the same door which had covered the integrated washing machine) and it worked a treat. The B&Q cabinet was rickety as fuck, until sandwiched in its gap, but its turned out fine. The B&Q cabinet didn't have holes for the door hinges in the right places, but I drilled them by eye and it turned out perfect. I was genuinely shocked by how well the door turned out and with the finished appearance. From experience I would say don't buy integrated appliances, they are shite (ask any repair man). Link to comment
Fridge Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 Henry surely is the man for this. He actually architected a hotel in his back garden Link to comment
Parklife Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 4 minutes ago, Clydeside_Sheep said: There's nothing wrong with B&Q stuff, but Magnet is top of the pops. My folks have a Magnet kitchen and the look and feel is superior. Its very rare that kitchen units take my breath away, but I was forced to commend the look of their fine new Kitchen. We have a Manhattan Kitchen (grandiose name) which the builders installed for us moving in. Its decent, never given us any bother. Don't know if they sell to the public, beyond spares. We did a garage conversion and moved our washing machine out of the kitchen, leaving a big gap under the worktop - I got a cabinet out of B&Q to fill it (using the same door which had covered the integrated washing machine) and it worked a treat. The B&Q cabinet was rickety as fuck, until sandwiched in its gap, but its turned out fine. The B&Q cabinet didn't have holes for the door hinges in the right places, but I drilled them by eye and it turned out perfect. I was genuinely shocked by how well the door turned out and with the finished appearance. From experience I would say don't buy integrated appliances, they are shite (ask any repair man). AHA!! Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 6 minutes ago, Parklife said: AHA!! Gaudete ya bass! I selected my kitchen cabinets to ensure they could accommodate the extra large plates I take to travel lodge buffets. Link to comment
Parklife Posted August 22, 2020 Share Posted August 22, 2020 It was the kitchen units taking your breath away line that did it ? Link to comment