Clydeside_Sheep Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 As we know it was Burns night recently. Do any of you attend Burns nights, in more normal times? Every year or just 1 or 2 times? I perceive (perhaps wrongly) that these are pretty alien to most Scots and are largely the preserve of small, special interest groups or misty eyed expats. My dad has a friend who would fit into the "special interest group" description and through him my Dad attended / spoke at a few Burns nights in previous years. Other than those two, I do not know of anyone who has been to a Burns night, or has the slightest interest in going to one (a stance which includes me). Are these actually a thing (?) or largely a false aspect of modern Scots identity, perpetuated by lazy media stories? (Much like how maypole dancing is alien to most English ppl, or dressing up as Krampus is alien to most Germans/Austrians). Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 fuck burns night pish but do enjoy haggis and trimmings tho Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 3 minutes ago, Clydeside_Sheep said: As we know it was Burns night recently. Do any of you attend Burns nights, in more normal times? Every year or just 1 or 2 times? I perceive (perhaps wrongly) that these are pretty alien to most Scots and are largely the preserve of small, special interest groups or misty eyed expats. My dad has a friend who would fit into the "special interest group" description and through him my Dad attended / spoke at a few Burns nights in previous years. Other than those two, I do not know of anyone who has been to a Burns night, or has the slightest interest in going to one (a stance which includes me). Are these actually a thing (?) or largely a false aspect of modern Scots identity, perpetuated by lazy media stories? (Much like how maypole dancing is alien to most English ppl, or dressing up as Krampus is alien to most Germans/Austrians). Been to loads. ? Link to comment
jamiesd Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Normally head to the golf club for one. Any excuse for a meet up and piss up Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Been to plenty. Normally a good feed and heaps of drink. What's not to like. Link to comment
Simply Red Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 I think its only masons who really celebrate it here in Scotland? I noticed on the tv on the 25th folk talking about the fact it was Burns night more than ive ever heard it mentioned before. Lassies on the news saying have a good burns night to each other. Fuck off. Never been or invited to one, or even aware of one here in Scotland. I know o&g wankers abroad organise them for fellow expats. I love haggis, neeps, tatties, with HP sauce, and getting smashed but dont do poetry recitals from any cunt with the reluctant exception of John Cooper Clarke and Mr Tumble. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 1 minute ago, Sooper-hanz said: I love his poetry . #gaa-aaaaaaaaaaaaa-aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay Link to comment
The Buzzard Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Would Rabbie have survived in today's world? Probably be banged up for drunken disorderly behaviour and domestic abuse. Link to comment
Joe pike Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 2 minutes ago, The Buzzard said: Would Rabbie have survived in today's world? Probably be banged up for drunken disorderly behaviour and domestic abuse. Sturgeon would fit him up. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 10 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: ‘Eh man’s eh sheel o’ a man fur aw that.’ AK Burns 2020 Wee, sleekit, cowran, tim'rous beastie, O, what a panic's in thy breastie! Thou need na start awa sae hasty, There's monie a cauld duvel! and cheese toasties ah sae tastie, yer da's fell in the canal! 1 Link to comment
NEM Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 1 minute ago, Redforever86 said: Wee, sleekit, cowran, tim'rous beastie, O, what a panic's in thy breastie! Thou need na start awa sae hasty, There's monie a cauld duvel! and cheese toasties ah sae tastie, yer da's fell in the canal! ? Link to comment
Arabian Knight Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 cunt climbs intae mens beds tae git ez hole eh beady peepers ir eh windae tae ez soul liket starin bawdeep intae an empty abyss gormless lookin spuzzy cunt thir sumhin amiss 1 1 Link to comment
For Fecks Sake Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Been to a few organised Burns nights with Mrs FFs and friends where the whole addressing the Haggis / speeches / immortal memory etc. has been done and they have all been fantastic nights out. It's something different, a good laugh, Haggi, Neeps and Tatties with Whisky and Beer - what's not to like? Link to comment
Fridge Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 They’re alright if it’s a freebie. Same as charity pish, you have to endure the complete shite at the start, speeches and the inevitable tear jerking story to get you to donate cash, but ultimately everyone is just there to get pished and try and nail some bird in a tartan frock. Link to comment
Fridge Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Nae sure this a path you want to go on Dad! Link to comment
Parklife Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 3 hours ago, Clydeside_Sheep said: As we know it was Burns night recently. Do any of you attend Burns nights, in more normal times? Every year or just 1 or 2 times? I perceive (perhaps wrongly) that these are pretty alien to most Scots and are largely the preserve of small, special interest groups or misty eyed expats. My dad has a friend who would fit into the "special interest group" description and through him my Dad attended / spoke at a few Burns nights in previous years. Other than those two, I do not know of anyone who has been to a Burns night, or has the slightest interest in going to one (a stance which includes me). Are these actually a thing (?) or largely a false aspect of modern Scots identity, perpetuated by lazy media stories? (Much like how maypole dancing is alien to most English ppl, or dressing up as Krampus is alien to most Germans/Austrians). The Scottish cringe is strong in this one. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 I've been in his house, was a nice enough place, recommend. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 44 minutes ago, Fridge said: They’re alright if it’s a freebie. Same as charity pish, you have to endure the complete shite at the start, speeches and the inevitable tear jerking story to get you to donate cash, but ultimately everyone is just there to get pished and try and nail some bird in a tartan frock. Strings to fridges bow philanthropy what's your fave charity night fridge? Link to comment
Fridge Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Auld chieftain of the pudding race Now all Bairns carry mace His betting tips we all did wish Weren’t all completely pish For the jokes made about Lockerbie Amazing he is still walking free Wi Haggis crisps and a Renault Mcgan Dad has Maddie McCann 2 Link to comment
Fridge Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 7 minutes ago, Poodler said: Strings to fridges bow philanthropy what's your fave charity night fridge? Meningitis Ball I liked for family reasons. Cash for kids. Link to comment
NEM Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 1 minute ago, Fridge said: Meningitis Ball I liked for family reasons. Cash for kids. Dads ears perked up there. "How much"? 1 Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 1 hour ago, Fridge said: Meningitis Ball I liked for family reasons. Cash for kids. I went to cash for kids at the beach ballroom once. Patrice/ mcruvie did a raffle. If you got a winning ticket you had to go up and they picked something for you from the prizes. a young tidy went up and Patrice gave her an envelope with vouchers for a facial. Obscene shouts for a charity kids doo. Link to comment
Fridge Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 7 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: The capital B in Bairns makes it look like Falkirk fans, Frigo. Two other points. 1 What's with the Haggis crisps? and 2. The Renault Mcgan ? Scottish car is it? ? It flows relatively well though. I'd say you have promise . Yeah spelling mistakes. Just thought crisps would be better than actual haggis, maybe fuelling then with a dram might have been better. Could probably come up with something frisky / whisky. Work in progress. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 leave it to Shakespear \ Larkin \ etc. I say Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 1 hour ago, Studebaker-90 said: Poodler spewing ???? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 28, 2021 Share Posted January 28, 2021 Went to a Burns night in Hatton of Fintry about 2 years ago. That particular one was held by Masons. Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted January 29, 2021 Share Posted January 29, 2021 2 hours ago, rocket_scientist said: I heeded his advice 5.5 years later. ? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 29, 2021 Share Posted January 29, 2021 9 hours ago, Studebaker-90 said: This is exactly what makes the Hat my social medias of choice Link to comment
Parklife Posted January 29, 2021 Share Posted January 29, 2021 7 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said: It's uncanny ? Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 29, 2021 Share Posted January 29, 2021 16 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: “Towards the end of the five hour snoozefest some random older guy asked me in the bogs from the adjacent urinal if I was new to the town.” Aye, that actually happened. ?? While admiring each others willy's. Link to comment