Betty Swallicks Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Don't think I could do a week these days (used to manage 3/4 weeks at a time due to work). I can manage a few days (and usually do during the week) but a weekend without a beer would be murder. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Over 15 years. Don't miss it one bit. Mind you I did shift it back in the day like. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted March 4, 2021 Author Share Posted March 4, 2021 Just now, Beachend Bootboy said: Over 15 years. Don't miss it one bit. Mind you I did shift it back in the day like. Never? Bet you do now n then. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 1 minute ago, Betty Swallicks said: Never? Bet you do now n then. Nah mate. Life's much better without it, not just for me but for those around me. Took me 30 odd years to realise it weren't big, clever, tough or particularly Scottish to get arseholed at any give opportunity. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted March 4, 2021 Author Share Posted March 4, 2021 6 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Nah mate. Life's much better without it, not just for me but for those around me. Took me 30 odd years to realise it weren't big, clever, tough or particularly Scottish to get arseholed at any give opportunity. But you must feel a cunt at nights oot (mind them?), at the fitba, weddings etc though? I couldn't stand to be around pissed folk if sober. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 5 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Nah mate. Life's much better without it, not just for me but for those around me. Took me 30 odd years to realise it weren't big, clever, tough or particularly Scottish to get arseholed at any give opportunity. So you were an alcoholic? Well done for getting through it. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 9 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Nah mate. Life's much better without it, not just for me but for those around me. Took me 30 odd years to realise it weren't big, clever, tough or particularly Scottish to get arseholed at any give opportunity. To be fair you're a pretty good advert not to give it up. 5 Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Just now, Don Fonte said: So you were an alcoholic? Well done for getting through it. Just now, Don Fonte said: So you were an alcoholic? Well done for getting through it. No, never had a dependacy just a strong liking (binging). As Frankie Boyle once said 'Isn't binge drinking just what we used to call..........drinking.'? I think I could easily have lost control tho, the signs were there but managed to pull back from that particular precipice. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 2 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: No, never had a dependacy just a strong liking (binging). As Frankie Boyle once said 'Isn't binge drinking just what we used to call..........drinking.'? I think I could easily have lost control tho, the signs were there but managed to pull back from that particular precipice. Take drugs instead min. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 3 minutes ago, Geoff_Tipps said: To be fair you're a pretty good advert not to give it up. Aye, and you're a pretty good advert for you continuing. Thing is, I wouldn't preach to any cunt. I stopped because I realised where it was likely to end. Others can do what they want. Moderation is something I struggled with (not just drink either). Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Just now, Don Fonte said: Take drugs instead min. Nah, mugs game too. Got that tee shirt and video as well. Link to comment
Arabian Knight Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 mind tup seen eh lite efter e quit bevvy..n then e preachd thit cunts lifes wir in peril if thi cerryd oan bevvyin..e hated bluto boastin aboot bevvyin..but blutos cut doon a loat since ez first born..e wis forced tae by ez auld ride..poof dis a dry december n jan maist yrs 1 Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 8 minutes ago, Betty Swallicks said: But you must feel a cunt at nights oot (mind them?), at the fitba, weddings etc though? I couldn't stand to be around pissed folk if sober. Well, on more than one occasion (fuckin hundreds probably) I made a cunt of myself at weddin's, night's oot and do's or got lifted bacause of the drink. You kinda get used to others bein' pished, dizna really bother me now, seein' as I used to be like that myself. Each to their own like. Link to comment
Parklife Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 I think I've had one weekend not drinking since the start of Covid times. I rarely drink during the week but come Saturday afternoon, I'm always in the mood for a beer or ten. Once we're able to do a bit more in life again, I'll cut back the weekend excesses. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Just now, Parklife said: I think I've had one weekend not drinking since the start of Covid times. I rarely drink during the week but come Saturday afternoon, I'm always in the mood for a beer or ten. Once we're able to do a bit more in life again, I'll cut back the weekend excesses. That was my system too. Rarely drank on a school night. Weekends, fuckin' hell for leather. Three or four day hangover and bang, into another weekend. Just got to be a routine. The hangovers were effecting me mentally as opposed to physically. Just the depressive effect of alcohol I suppose. Horrible feeling tho. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 2 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Me too I forget about all that after a couple of days viva la booze You're lucky then. I couldn't forget and people take great delight in reminding you if you were a cunt. I fuckin' hated it. Link to comment
Parklife Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 9 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: That was my system too. Rarely drank on a school night. Weekends, fuckin' hell for leather. Three or four day hangover and bang, into another weekend. Just got to be a routine. The hangovers were effecting me mentally as opposed to physically. Just the depressive effect of alcohol I suppose. Horrible feeling tho. I've never suffered hangovers much at all. Needs to be a solid 3-4 day session, like on a boys trip somewhere, before I get one. It's the boredom just now that is leading to an increase in my drinking. Fuck all else to do and fuck all to get back in my best shape for either. Link to comment
Poodler Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 I'm a poofter, have a 2/3 day bender and make sure everyone Ken's about it then dinna drink again for a week. the binges are in the locker though not every weekend now. some of you are absolute machines. I'm in decline, propped up by narcotics and a short career at the top level. but I'll talk a good game Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 3 minutes ago, Parklife said: I've never suffered hangovers much at all. Needs to be a solid 3-4 day session, like on a boys trip somewhere, before I get one. It's the boredom just now that is leading to an increase in my drinking. Fuck all else to do and fuck all to get back in my best shape for either. Lucky too. I was never bothered with hangovers until my mid-late 20's but by fuck they hit me after that. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 3 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: if you like drinking (making a cunt of it) to fuck what everyone else thinks about you life’s too short Life's also too short to fuck up the things that mean something to you. I'm afraid that's what I was faced with. Anyhow, as I said, I don't preach, each to their own. The question was asked and I answered for my circustances. Everyone's different. Link to comment
RedArmyFakshun Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 there's an equilibrium that emerges over time, where you get moderately pished every single night.. on occasion you push the boat oot further, you just take the next night aff and then get straight back on it again with a settled regimen, its not so much whether you could stay aff it... mair to the point why the fuck would you Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 14 minutes ago, Parklife said: It's the boredom just now that is leading to an increase in my drinking. Fuck all else to do and fuck all to get back in my best shape for either. This is basically my life for the past 12 months. All I need is a massive blow out and I’ll be back to drinking less. Fags are the same. Smoke cause I’m bored, I don’t need one or even want one, but when it’s 8 degrees, dark outside and there’s fuck all else to do I’ll crack a 20 deck open and sit in the garage listening to music full chat and have a beer. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 I did 22 month off before because of me 'leever', had been drinking loads for years everyday especially through the 90's and early 00's, power drinking(lager & spirits) on days off work with hardly any food, had developed a tolerance and rarely got pissed which added to my problem, sometimes the illegal substances on top would bang me out though to be fair. Rarely drank at home those days, although i didn't spend much time at home, drinking was a sociable pastime for me, smoking too. Being stuck at home recently i've learnt how to only have a few drinks and with a meal. Think i could do a few month off it these days if i wanted. Link to comment
NEM Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Not had a beer for around 9 weeks barring the odd schofferhoffer. Back on it this weekend though ? Link to comment
Henry Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 Did dry January this year to see if I could. piece of piss. think that’s the longest I’ve done as an adult. 1 Link to comment
Zeus Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 5 days (Sunday - Thursday) Although school night drinking definitely creeping in more the last year. Covid/sturgeons fault. Link to comment
Poodler Posted March 4, 2021 Share Posted March 4, 2021 1 hour ago, Roberto said: You met someone. Happens to the best of them. I could stay off it for as long as I want, I just don't want to. I like beer and wine. She's bloody mintal!!! Outdoes me easily Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted March 5, 2021 Share Posted March 5, 2021 Misers is conspicuous by his absence in this thread Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted March 5, 2021 Share Posted March 5, 2021 25 minutes ago, BrianFaePerth said: Misers is conspicuous by his absence in this thread Stick in champ...?...nightwatchmen ..at the crease ?... Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted March 5, 2021 Share Posted March 5, 2021 Not an issue for me at all to stop drinking. Wednesday night there was nae drink in the hoose, so just had a pepsi and some water. Link to comment