aberdeen1970 Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 Just now, NEM said: Raith away Good team Raith Link to comment
NEM Posted July 25, 2021 Author Share Posted July 25, 2021 3 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: Good team Raith Not quite the bye the huns and tims got but should be beating them Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 2 minutes ago, NEM said: Not quite the bye the huns and tims got but should be beating them Aye can't complain. Link to comment
sheepcrooky Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 In their group, they beat Cowdenbeath and Brechin and drew with Livi and Alloa. Good little tie for us. Might even get some away fans ? (Although my wife tell me we are having a family gathering that day). Link to comment
Zeus Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 Hopefully we put in a better performance than our last trip doon there ? Gary Mcdonald equalised with pretty much the last touch of the game, McGhee in his post match interview said we'd beat them at Pittodrie. That turned out well ?♂️ Dinna think we've played them since? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 That's a decent draw and I am going to guess a Saturday 3pm so dare I say .... the away allocation tickets could be priced at £100 and start at 100 loyalty points. If aug 9th goes ahead and its not moved for tv then it will be a very popular one Link to comment
ullevi Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 23 minutes ago, Zeus said: Hopefully we put in a better performance than our last trip doon there ? Gary Mcdonald equalised with pretty much the last touch of the game, McGhee in his post match interview said we'd beat them at Pittodrie. That turned out well ?♂️ Dinna think we've played them since? Was down at this game, most notable things were a lad having a heart attack on the way back to the bus and Zander Diamond coming on to train at the end and getting an ovation. Link to comment
NEM Posted July 25, 2021 Author Share Posted July 25, 2021 23 minutes ago, Tord31 said: That's a decent draw and I am going to guess a Saturday 3pm so dare I say .... the away allocation tickets could be priced at £100 and start at 100 loyalty points. If aug 9th goes ahead and its not moved for tv then it will be a very popular one Be the Sunday - 15th Link to comment
Specky Ginger Posted July 25, 2021 Share Posted July 25, 2021 2 hours ago, Zeus said: Hopefully we put in a better performance than our last trip doon there ? Gary Mcdonald equalised with pretty much the last touch of the game, McGhee in his post match interview said we'd beat them at Pittodrie. That turned out well ?♂️ Dinna think we've played them since? You played us at the start of the following season in the league cup and won 3-2. We're playing lots of tidy possession football, but lacking a cutting edge so far. Link to comment
RUL Posted July 26, 2021 Share Posted July 26, 2021 7 hours ago, Specky Ginger said: You played us at the start of the following season in the league cup and won 3-2. We're playing lots of tidy possession football, but lacking a cutting edge so far. Yous were a bit like that in spells last season. Decent team but would expect us to progress. Link to comment
Zeus Posted July 26, 2021 Share Posted July 26, 2021 8 hours ago, Specky Ginger said: You played us at the start of the following season in the league cup and won 3-2. We're playing lots of tidy possession football, but lacking a cutting edge so far. Do not recall that at all. Probably a good thing the way things were going at the time. The 1-1 Raith deserved to win, Dons were terrible. Was a good day out spoiled by the fitba was usual at the time. Link to comment
Specky Ginger Posted July 26, 2021 Share Posted July 26, 2021 1 hour ago, RUL said: Yous were a bit like that in spells last season. Decent team but would expect us to progress. Aye, we've lost our best player since then (Regan Hendry). Artificial surface, but most teams reckon it's far and away the best one in the league. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 26, 2021 Share Posted July 26, 2021 Harder for the wee teams to progress in this format. Makes it funny that this is the wee cup and the Scottish Cup, featuring the same teams + some non league teams, is a much bigger deal. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 26, 2021 Share Posted July 26, 2021 My home town team but have supported Dons all my life. Have watched Raith v Dons twice at Starks Park. The first a league cup tie when, despite winning 3 or 4 nil, Rougvie managed to kick the ball out of each side of the ground, narrowly missing a passing train on one occasion. The second was the Gary McDonald game, when McGhee was increasingly speaking out of arse. Raith did deserve to win that day and got their reward in the replay. We will not get beat this time around. Raith can be decent on their day but if we are prepared, on what will be a post Europe Sunday tie, we should be far too good on the day. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted July 26, 2021 Share Posted July 26, 2021 Hopefully away support allowed to this. A good day out and Raith would make a few quid as we'd take as many as offered. Link to comment
Specky Ginger Posted July 27, 2021 Share Posted July 27, 2021 17 hours ago, Betty Swallicks said: Hopefully away support allowed to this. A good day out and Raith would make a few quid as we'd take as many as offered. There'll definitely be away fans allowed to this game. We gave Alloa tickets for our game last weekend. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 If August 9th goes ahead then this will be some game.... Link to comment
Specky Ginger Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 Confirmed for Sunday 15th August at 12 o'clock. A bit of a pisser for you boys that Scotrail are on strike every Sunday, but I think the trains which run from Aberdeen to London aren't affected and stop at Kirkcaldy. Link to comment
Laichomoray Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 On 7/26/2021 at 12:17 PM, Woody21 said: My home town team but have supported Dons all my life. Have watched Raith v Dons twice at Starks Park. The first a league cup tie when, despite winning 3 or 4 nil, Rougvie managed to kick the ball out of each side of the ground, narrowly missing a passing train on one occasion. The second was the Gary McDonald game, when McGhee was increasingly speaking out of arse. Raith did deserve to win that day and got their reward in the replay. We will not get beat this time around. Raith can be decent on their day but if we are prepared, on what will be a post Europe Sunday tie, we should be far too good on the day. Was down at both Cup ties v Raith in the early 80s. Won both.Great wee stadium,full house and atmosphere for the Scottish cup tie if I mind right though Another tricky game again with us not quite up to speed Link to comment
Kilgore Trout Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 Last time I was at Starks Park Andy Harrow was playing for Raith. Anybody mind him ? Link to comment
Laichomoray Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 Aye that was the SC game 80/81.Signed for us soon after.....unfortunately Link to comment
Kilgore Trout Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 12 minutes ago, Laichomoray said: Aye that was the SC game 80/81.Signed for us soon after.....unfortunately Aye he’s up there with Duncan Davidson and big Walker McCall Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 19 minutes ago, Kilgore Trout said: Aye he’s up there with Duncan Davidson and big Walker McCall Steve Cowan, Link to comment
frankie_mac's_4 Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 Cowan wasn't a bad striker - as his record at hibs proved. Up against pretty tough competition to get a starting place at AFC at that time Link to comment
RUL Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 17 minutes ago, frankie_mac's_4 said: Cowan wasn't a bad striker - as his record at hibs proved. Up against pretty tough competition to get a starting place at AFC at that time He's a shite pundit. Link to comment
frankie_mac's_4 Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 15 minutes ago, RUL said: He's a shite pundit. Lost a bit of weight since his playing days inna ? Link to comment
Specky Ginger Posted July 29, 2021 Share Posted July 29, 2021 2 hours ago, Kilgore Trout said: Last time I was at Starks Park Andy Harrow was playing for Raith. Anybody mind him ? Rovers flogged him to Luton and built half the railway stand with the proceeds (the bit that's now delapidated),before he signed for Aberdeen. Link to comment
TheRock Posted August 10, 2021 Share Posted August 10, 2021 Has there been any ticket news yet? Does anyone know what Raith have asked for from their council in terms of stadium restrictions? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 10, 2021 Share Posted August 10, 2021 12 minutes ago, TheRock said: Has there been any ticket news yet? Does anyone know what Raith have asked for from their council in terms of stadium restrictions? Raith announced sales for Dons season ticket holders will be announced by the Dons soon. No idea of numbers Link to comment