Hearts 1 - 1 Aberdeen

Just watched the match… a few observations;

1) we are clearly a better team than hearts.. more creative, more threatening, just overall better skill and talent. 
2) considering midweek games, etc., a good result away from home in a hostile atmosphere. Will be a good primer for the boys come Thursday. 
3) jenks settled in quite nicely this match.. perhaps just needs some time. 
4) the combination of JET and Ramirez is our best attacking option. Ramirez really needs a partner to allow him to make his runs.. in his most effective spell in MLS, in Minnesota, it seems he had a good strike partner. 
5) clear pen from Gallagher. I don’t see how we don’t concede on Thursday.. we really need help defensively.

6) Big Joe seems to have lost a lot of confidence. His best days may be behind him… as the season progresses I wouldn’t mind seeing Woods. Especially since he’s a great distributor of the ball.. which may suit our new style. But for now, keep the faith. 
7) Deano did fantastic, would like to see him get more time. 

8 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

I agree with your final paragraph but I'm not sure that we need to sign a first choice keeper, certainly not before addressing the problem. This is a management issue and if Glass can't see it, what the fuck do we employ so many experts around him for, including presumably a GK coach?

Before any problem can be addressed, it needs to be identified first and acknowledged to exist second. It can't be anything other than a crisis in confidence. Good technicians don't lose their skills overnight or gradually lose them over a couple of seasons or so. Maybe they have identified the problem and have tried to fix it but if so, it's clearly not working. He's getting worse. 

It’s a bit harsh to suggest a management issue.

They may indeed like to replace Lewis, but given his contract situation, that will be a different phase of our transition 

24 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

It's not harsh at all. I'm not being critical of the manager. It's absolutely a management issue to identify problems though and the unknown is whether Glass does see what the specific problem actually is, which some of us see but many won't even hear of it.

It's also 100% accurate to point out that it's a "management issue" to fix problems. If they have seen the obvious, they've totally failed to fix it.

They may indeed want to replace him, I've no idea but if they do, they're admitting they can't help him and have written him off. I don't just think, I know that you need to exhaust every possibility in fixing problems and with Joe, it might be getting close to being too late and that the mental scarring is too deep but I refuse to believe that. I don't even think they've identified the problem with the requisite amount of specificity. 

The harshness is that you are not providing them with time to make the changes / improvements.

Rome wasn’t built in a day and the transition we are going through will not be complete just a few weeks into the season.

10 minutes ago, Millertime said:

Yep

That chasing the hearts players like benny hill after dropping that cross was bloody embarrassing

He is done

For me, there's a degree of pensive, poor decision making from him that we're not used to seeing. Today when he should have punched it clear instead of trying to catch it, and the Anderson goal v Livi. That said, he used to pluck crosses out of the sky for breakfast. But his reactions/hand to eye, has maybe gone downhill at a rates of knots.

I also don't like his distribution. Plenty times he could roll or pass the ball to a spare man in defence but chooses to kick it long. Yes, it worked for our equaliser at Livi, but 9/10 times it ends up losing possession.

Not sure what the answer is. He's shown he's a brilliant keeper, but even at pens now, I have absolutely no faith in him saving one.

19 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

I'm also not convinced he's going to improve, far less get back to his form of old. He comes across as a "gentle giant" personality stereotype and whilst he obviously needs to man the fuck up, I reckon he needs cuddling more than kicking, the least favourite type of people to have in the ranks in my experience. 

It could be a pretty straight forward fix - if you are right about his personality then people who need cuddling need to feel secure in their positions. His form has gone off since we’ve had a decent backup GK. When we had Fanny Rogers as backup Joe was the best keeper in the league. Ergo, we should sign Rogers again and help convince Joe that he is 100% secure and will never lose his jersey. These types of people don’t benefit from life jeopardy.

12 minutes ago, Tinyweelad said:

For me, there's a degree of pensive, poor decision making from him that we're not used to seeing. Today when he should have punched it clear instead of trying to catch it, and the Anderson goal v Livi. That said, he used to pluck crosses out of the sky for breakfast. But his reactions/hand to eye, has maybe gone downhill at a rates of knots.

I also don't like his distribution. Plenty times he could roll or pass the ball to a spare man in defence but chooses to kick it long. Yes, it worked for our equaliser at Livi, but 9/10 times it ends up losing possession.

Not sure what the answer is. He's shown he's a brilliant keeper, but even at pens now, I have absolutely no faith in him saving one.

I said it before. That’s him saved 8 out of 42 for us. For 6ft6 he’d be better doing star jumps on the spot

In no way am i excusing Lewis for that shambles at the GMS missed sitter. He should have had that ball comfortably with either a catch or punch. He was weak as fk in coming for it. Reminded me of a complete Clanger with his efforts for high balls.

How though does the Hearts player get away with putting his arms up for the ball? Mad hun is a cock that’s clearly a foul on keeper using your arms to block him to ball. Slightest touch is enough to make poor wee Joe shite it though 

31 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

It's absolutely a management issue to identify problems though and the unknown is whether Glass does see what the specific problem actually is, which some of us see. 

It's a shame he doesn't have you on the management team to point out all of the goalkeeping errors you imagine he is unable to spot.

31 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

I don't even think they've identified the problem with the requisite amount of specificity. 

Is it really your contention that only you and a mere handful of switched on fans are able to spot goalkeeping mistakes that our entire management team miss? 

From what I saw of Woods last season he's not even as good as a confidence-shot Lewis. 

His kicking was good compared to Joe but that's nae exactly hard. 

I was surprised we gave him a 2 year deal in the summer. Would have been a chance to mix things up and bring someone in who could actually have challenged for the first team. But maybe they felt they had bigger fish to fry this summer without looking for goalies. 

Joe's heid definitely looks gone just now though 

1 minute ago, strachanmcgheegoal said:

I was blaming Joes heid on the Ill-advised captaincy.  Relieving him of it has seen a small improvement but I also fear it’s an irreversible decline.

And I want it to work for him more than anyone.

Just looks terrified of making a mistake. Particularly when kicking or having to deal with high balls. Still seems OK with the shot stopping, maybe when he doesn't have time to think about it too much. 

And the more scared you are the more tense and hesitant you get making another mistake almost inevitable. 

1 minute ago, rocket_scientist said:

I've never said this. I'm only identifying a problem that many on here deny. Everybody can see the mistakes. Not everyone has the management skills to fix them and before any problem can be fixed, it needs to be identified. Knowing that he's making mistakes is the easy bit. Understanding why he's making them and where the SPECIFIC problem lies is where the art of management kicks in. 

I think we can assume it has been identified. Hopefully Glass can get the best out of Lewis. Sometimes the right pep talk and positive reinforcement can work wonders... and sometimes not. There could be a lot of unseen factors at play.

Alex Ferguson was a pretty decent manager and sometimes even he failed to get the best out of a goalkeeper.

15 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Goalkeepers are a specialist subject, which is why we employ specialist coaches for the position. Between the lot of them, we can not assume that they have identified the specific mental problem that Joe is suffering from. The only thing I've been arguing is that it is a mental problem, a crisis in confidence in particular. The one thing we can all be certain of (even though many on here don't see that it is a mental problem) is that the management team have totally failed to address the specific issue. 

You're assuming that they aren't addressing the issue or haven't been working on it, which is something you can't possibly know. So you can't contend that they've failed to address it.

Humans are pretty complex. When you address a psychological issue you don't always witness immediate results and the problem can evolve and shift over time. It can go away and resurface. You can make progress and then regress again. This seems like fairly obvious stuff to me.

It's not like big Joe has a confidence guage and when it's a wee bit low we can take him to the confidence refueling station to sort him out.

Maybe there is something more the club can do. I don't know, because I don't know what they've been doing - and neither do you - which is the whole point.

So how come that was Deano’s first game this season? Has he been injured or something? Left back or centre mid, the loon just stood out as a footballer today. He showed the quality to be a starter for either side. Surely we’ll see more of him now?

I don’t want to be down on Hayes, the guys commitment by playing for nothing was good, and he plays whatever role is asked of him. But I’m really beginning to question why he starts. Seems to give the ball away more than anyone else for my money.

I really don’t understand Ferguson either. It always looks like he is playing in a position he doesn’t want to be in or is simply in the wrong place. It’s a shame, but it feels like we’re not getting the best out of one of our top players. I’d be taking the 3M and moving on.

JET is going to delight and frustrate this year. So strong, such a lovely touch for a big fella, but so pedestrian it hurts. He’ll look magic in some games and disappear in others.

On the plus side we didn’t see McGinn today. Hope McLennan joins him and Kennedy on the surplus to requirements list and moves on. Best of luck to them all.

It’s getting really weird that we only have one striker and our best fit CH is a midfielder. I’m still reading this as a positive with some massive signings inbound (my pint remains half full)

Seems to be a general feeling that Lewis is suffering from sort of crisis of confidence. Maybe it’s the opposite, though , and his increasingly frequent fuck-ups have been due to over-confidence on his part ...manifesting itself in complacency and lack of focus/concentration in dealing with bread-and-butter situations , such as the one at Tynecastle when he effectively gifted them a gilt-edged chance.

As has been mentioned already there isn’t really any stiff competition for his place which could be a factor in his complacency , as could the lengthy contract he was given.

20 minutes ago, redone said:

Seems to be a general feeling that Lewis is suffering from sort of crisis of confidence. Maybe it’s the opposite, though , and his increasingly frequent fuck-ups have been due to over-confidence on his part ...manifesting itself in complacency and lack of focus/concentration in dealing with bread-and-butter situations , such as the one at Tynecastle when he effectively gifted them a gilt-edged chance.

As has been mentioned already there isn’t really any stiff competition for his place which could be a factor in his complacency , as could the lengthy contract he was given.

I don't think a new goalie is a priority however I'm beginning to lose faith in Lewis. He's becoming more like clangers in recent times.

11 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

Not seen him so can't comment. Some of us have been concerned about Lewis for a while but we are speaking crap to even discuss it according to one of the mutant spastics, ably supported by another total arsehole who's so thick he bases his whole opinion on what his mate who used to play in goals says, him having a proven incapacity to think for himself.

Hiya bulbous.

• Haha 3
6 hours ago, redone said:

Heard over the weekend from a reliable source that he’s got glaucoma. 

That would explain the flapping at crosses if his vision is deteriorating and needs correcting. Trip to specsavers required as a bare minimum. 

10 hours ago, Simply Red said:

Glass could do a lot worse than Siegrist (dufc)

Big Joe looks shaky as fuck and im not convinced he’s going to improve anytime soon. 

I totally agree except for one thing.

Siegrist was missing from the Utd line up yesterday. He's supposedly fucked himself in training and may be out for quite some time