jamiesd Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Maybe its time to get rid of him? Two goalkeepers, errors every game. He was pish as well back in the day. Thoughts? 1 Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Could be worse, could be Nicky Walker Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 5 minutes ago, jamiesd said: Maybe its time to get rid of him? Two goalkeepers, errors every game. He was pish as well back in the day. Thoughts? There is absolutely no requirement for a goalkeeping coach whatsoever and it is a complete waste of a wage. Another one of these positions needlessly created in modern times of which clubs feel compelled for some reason to have, just like a Director of Football, Head of Recruitment, and Football Consultant. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Meet his replacement Lewis Sharpe was promoted to ATL UTD 2 Goalkeeper Coach prior to the 2020 season. He most recently served as the Atlanta United Academy goalkeeper coach since 2017. Sharpe attended Georgia Gwinnett College where he holds nearly every goalkeeper record in the program's history. Link to comment
Alex Ferguson Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 22 minutes ago, ericblack4boss said: Could be worse, could be Nicky Walker Nicky Walker would eat Joe Lewis for breakfast Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Joe Lewis has the worst save percentage of all keepers in the league. Woods isn't far off. We need a new number 1, that much is clear. 1 Link to comment
Don_Corleone Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Surely it's not rocket science - a keeper needs to practice saving shots, dealing with crosses and kicking the ball. Not sure there's a need for a specific coach to set up some drills for that. We don't have a defence coach, midfield coach, winger coach and striker coach. Be better saving the money on a keeper coach and adding it to the budget for a decent keeper's wages. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 28 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: Meet his replacement Lewis Sharpe was promoted to ATL UTD 2 Goalkeeper Coach prior to the 2020 season. He most recently served as the Atlanta United Academy goalkeeper coach since 2017. Sharpe attended Georgia Gwinnett College where he holds nearly every goalkeeper record in the program's history. Must be difficult holding all that and a ball. Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 What’s Langfield up to these days? BHH Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Just now, 1903Fitba said: What’s Langfield up to these days? BHH Tell you where is isn't.... Shaving his head for the Clutha victims. GOT'EEEEMM!!!!! - YouTube Link to comment
Parklife Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 42 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said: There is absolutely no requirement for a goalkeeping coach whatsoever and it is a complete waste of a wage. Another one of these positions needlessly created in modern times of which clubs feel compelled for some reason to have, just like a Director of Football, Head of Recruitment, and Football Consultant. Nonsense. Makes complete sense to have a specialist goalkeeping coach. 1 Link to comment
starryfish Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 I'd hoped we'd have tried for David Preece before he went to Sunderland. Link to comment
mutant Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Absolutely need a goalkeeper coach. Just not Marshall. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 He always seems to be dishing out tactical advice to subs. Fuck off and sort your keepers out. Link to comment
jamiesd Posted February 10, 2022 Author Share Posted February 10, 2022 6 minutes ago, RUL said: He always seems to be dishing out tactical advice to subs. Fuck off and sort your keepers out. was just about to say that. He always seems to be barking instructions at outfield players even when the bearded wonder was manager Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 29 minutes ago, Parklife said: Nonsense. Makes complete sense to have a specialist goalkeeping coach. Waste of a wage in my opinion but no surprises you disagree.? We never had one before it was deemed a must and fashionable to have a goalkeeping coach and, funnily enough, we were far more successful back then without this unnecessary position being created, along with the roles of DoF and Head of Recruitment. Don't get the philosophy that you must have a goalkeeping coach or you will suffer. When you become a professional goalkeeper, you should have all of the required attributes to make it in the game. As long as you train regularly to maintain your fitness levels, concentration, decision-making, and reactions, and adhere to a disciplined lifestyle, there's no need for such a coach. Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 So every other professional team employs a goalkeeping coach but certain folk here are advocating taking the opposite opinion to them and going without one?? They don't just work with the first team squad 'keepers.......but apparently the age group keepers don't require specialist coaching. Seems a great way to entice youngsters to sign up with us as opposed to such eminent teams as Stirling Albion or even non league Brechin City who have them. Maybe we should consider Captain Redbeard Rum as Chief Exec into the bargain Link to comment
Parklife Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 2 hours ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said: Waste of a wage in my opinion but no surprises you disagree.? We never had one before it was deemed a must and fashionable to have a goalkeeping coach and, funnily enough, we were far more successful back Not sure how that's relevant? Loads of teams never had a goalkeeping coach back in the day and were less successful than they are now WITH a goalkeeping coach. We never used to have sports science, data tracking of players or video analysis either. We were better then. So we should get rid of all these things? Quote When you become a professional goalkeeper, you should have all of the required attributes to make it in the game. So goalkeepers can't improve with coaching but presumably you still want us to have coaches coaching the outfield players? What makes them different? 1 Link to comment
Guest Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 3 hours ago, ericblack4boss said: Could be worse, could be Nicky Walker Mind Frank Mcdougall rattled 3 past him in a 5-1 demolition of the huns....ah the good old days Link to comment
Guest Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Think goalkeeping coaches are not essential, surely the 2 goalies will train each other. Marshall is just another merc taking coin fron the club. Get em tae fuck. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 How do you develop young goalies without a goal keeping coach? Link to comment
Parklife Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 1 hour ago, Dandiesmin68 said: Think goalkeeping coaches are not essential, surely the 2 goalies will train each other. Why do we need coaches for outfield players? Surely they can just train each other? 1 Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Why do we need a manager, a head of recruitment or a director of football? Surely the chairman does all those jobs himself? Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Why do we need strikers or defenders when we have midfielders to play in every position? 1 Link to comment
BIG FAN Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 I have read so much shite posted about a goal keeping coach and what he does , or does not do when most of you don’t know the remit of the post he fills Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 Why does my heart feel so bad?Why does my soul feel so bad? He'll open doors Link to comment
RED_JOHN Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 I often wonder how a terrible goalkeeper can be a good goalkeeping coach. Marshall was rank. Under his coaching our goalkeepers have been rank. Has Danny Ward retired yet?….he can coach them instead. Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 2 hours ago, Parklife said: Not sure how that's relevant? Loads of teams never had a goalkeeping coach back in the day and were less successful than they are now WITH a goalkeeping coach. We never used to have sports science, data tracking of players or video analysis either. We were better then. So we should get rid of all these things? So goalkeepers can't improve with coaching but presumably you still want us to have coaches coaching the outfield players? What makes them different? Nothing at all. That's the point. #InspiralCarpets Link to comment
Don_Corleone Posted February 10, 2022 Share Posted February 10, 2022 1 hour ago, Sooper-hanz said: Why do we need to pay players, surely the fans would play for fuck all? Probably do a better job too. Worth a shot. Link to comment
G31DON Posted February 11, 2022 Share Posted February 11, 2022 Goalkeeper is pretty much the most important person on the pitch. He can win more points than any other single player on the pitch. Unless you have an outstanding striker who can create something from nothing. Link to comment