anderson72 Posted April 16, 2022 Share Posted April 16, 2022 Just for discussion or argument sake. Where would Aberdeen be if Derek Mcinnes was in charge this season? If the Chairman had given him the same support Stephen Glass got. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 16, 2022 Share Posted April 16, 2022 17 minutes ago, anderson72 said: Just for discussion or argument sake. Where would Aberdeen be if Derek Mcinnes was in charge this season? If the Chairman had given him the same support Stephen Glass got. 4th, out of both cups, and the prospect of an early exit from Europe pre-group stages. Change is sometimes painful, like this has been, but it still needs to be made. 2 Link to comment
Tommy Posted April 16, 2022 Share Posted April 16, 2022 Still in the north east of Scotland. North of Stoney, south of Peterheid. 1 4 Link to comment
redone Posted April 16, 2022 Share Posted April 16, 2022 Da ken , but my auntie wid be scratchin her baas Link to comment
Hoofball Posted April 16, 2022 Share Posted April 16, 2022 Going by the results before he was given the bullet, bottom six with a chance of relegation so just like just now. McGeouch and Considine signed up for at least another season, Taylor and Logan still here with Lafferty and Cosgrove the two main strikers. 3 Link to comment
huncunts Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 Quality of the league was abysmal this year. We’d have had our usual good 4 or 5 months and a dip in form. Miles clear in 4th at least. Anyone that really thinks we’d have even had to think about bottom 6 is stupid. Link to comment
anderson72 Posted April 17, 2022 Author Share Posted April 17, 2022 I think we would have been in the top six, perhaps 6th or 5th place. Got into the quarters of the cups or just before. The football would be counter attack, and defensive. Probably due to the lack of quality to be signed. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 The biggest danger would have been Dereks mentality would have been even more entrenched. The whole Dereks way or the high way thing especially towards the end. Derek would have essentially “won” versus Dave. And as others have said we MIGHT have had years of 4ths, cup semis and Euro QRs to get vaguely excited about, but absolutely no more due to his self imposed glass ceiling whilst always being lectured about being careful what we wish for. in short, fuck that. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 Not much better I suspect. Just look at Killie for answers. 1 point ahead of part time Smokies with 2 games to go. 1 against Smokies at home and 1 away to Raith. Apparently Killie performances away from home are very poor, no change there for DM, and at home performances are flawed because they are more used to that awful pitch. In conclusion may be same DM as last season and, if still boss here, we'd be bottom 6 struggling like fuck. Link to comment
Zeus Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 Probably be winning the treble and challenging for the champions league next season ? 1 Link to comment
NEM Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 Already relegated. Get this thread in the bin 4 Link to comment
Dad Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 3 hours ago, Roberto said: Why ask then. 9 hours ago, anderson72 said: Just for discussion or argument sake. Where would Aberdeen be if Derek Mcinnes was in charge this season? If the Chairman had given him the same support Stephen Glass got. Always too heavy on the aggro lever like an arsehole Link to comment
TheRedPrawcess Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 I've a pal who is a Killie fan. Ripping into me before Christmas because they had McInnes and we were struggling under Glass. He now complains weekly about style of football they play and about how they can't put teams to the sword. I referred him back to the messages I sent him when they appointed McInnes with an "I told you so" McInnes had also (apparently) decided he was leaving at the end of last season anyway. So even if he wasn't punted early he likely wouldn't be here now. Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 McInnes should have left in 2019, his time was clearly up but despite this, he is a competent (if pretty boring) manager. Unlike Glass Coupled with every other team outwith the arse cheeks and Hearts being totally shite this season....and Hearts being no better than "competent"....it's safe to assume that we'd be higher up the table than we currently are. Given that the team in 4th place are only 5 points ahead of us, I'm certain that he'd have had us ahead of them and probably pushing Hearts close for third. But all totally academic. We are where we are because Cormack thought he knew best. 1 Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 11 hours ago, anderson72 said: Just for discussion or argument sake. Where would Aberdeen be if Derek Mcinnes was in charge this season? If the Chairman had given him the same support Stephen Glass got. I think we would be higher up the league than we are currently. Probably 4th, but miles behind the top 3. As he can organise a defence, a few of our narrow defeats would have been draws, really really boring 0-0 or 1-1 draws. We would definitely have lost to Motherwell at fir park in the SC but probably not have lost to raith in the LC. He would probably have lost to qarabag in Europe but probably not 3-1 at home. The slow puncture of his reign would have continued and we would all most likely be raging at him and the team for underperforming and winning fuck all as per usual. We wouldn’t know the alternative would be worse and would be utterly convinced that had we had a different manager the season would have turned out significantly better. Link to comment
Jigsaw666 Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 13 hours ago, anderson72 said: Just for discussion or argument sake. Where would Aberdeen be if Derek Mcinnes was in charge this season? If the Chairman had given him the same support Stephen Glass got. 4th. Hearts have had a good season and everyone below is shit so I believe 4th would be nailed on to be our position. Knocked out of Europe at the same stage, knocked out of the cups by any of those above us in the league....or Motherwell. That movie with McInnes as director and producer I think the vast majority of us have seen on repeats once too often. Link to comment
shooftahmooftah Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 14 hours ago, anderson72 said: Just for discussion or argument sake. Where would Aberdeen be if Derek Mcinnes was in charge this season? If the Chairman had given him the same support Stephen Glass got. Mcinnes would be in Hawaii getting a tan with India doing the hula hula. Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 8 hours ago, TheRedPrawcess said: I've a pal who is a Killie fan. Ripping into me before Christmas because they had McInnes and we were struggling under Glass. He now complains weekly about style of football they play and about how they can't put teams to the sword. I referred him back to the messages I sent him when they appointed McInnes with an "I told you so" Killie before McInnes came were mid-table shite that were going nowhere. Now they're top of the league. Sadly, McInnes has somehow developed this reputation as a negative manager....it's actually a heap of pish....and it's come to pass that 1-0 wins (against sides that they would have lost to pre-McInnes) are somehow really bad results. I had a wee look last week at that demented forum that is hibs.net. For years they slagged Aberdeen under McInnes as somehow being boring. I really don't know why, we used to score wheens of goals against them on a regular basis.....now many of them are wondering why they didn't appoint McInnes instead of Maloney when they had the chance. Yer Killie mate needs to ask himself where his club would be without the appointment of McInnes. Does he think they would have appointed somebody that would have Killie playing scintillating Brazil 1970's football and thrashing everybody ? Really ? 2 Link to comment
TheRedPrawcess Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 1 hour ago, Schapenneuker said: Killie before McInnes came were mid-table shite that were going nowhere. Now they're top of the league. Sadly, McInnes has somehow developed this reputation as a negative manager....it's actually a heap of pish....and it's come to pass that 1-0 wins (against sides that they would have lost to pre-McInnes) are somehow really bad results. I had a wee look last week at that demented forum that is hibs.net. For years they slagged Aberdeen under McInnes as somehow being boring. I really don't know why, we used to score wheens of goals against them on a regular basis.....now many of them are wondering why they didn't appoint McInnes instead of Maloney when they had the chance. Yer Killie mate needs to ask himself where his club would be without the appointment of McInnes. Does he think they would have appointed somebody that would have Killie playing scintillating Brazil 1970's football and thrashing everybody ? Really ? I've just realised I said before Christmas. It must have been much more recently as McInnes didn't take over until January. Felt that long ago. I'd call McInnes overly cautious, some say boring. Potato potato You say now they're top of the league (Championship mind) like it's an achievement. Kilmarnock are a top flight team probably paying top flight wages. Or certainly have been for as long as I can remember. Christ they've won as many trophies as we have since the mid 90's. Not saying much however. My point was more that he initially made out that they were laughing at us because we'd gotten rid of this great manager who was winning games with them whilst we struggled. Tried to make out I was wrong saying he was a problem. A matter of months later and he now acknowledges that despite being top the football is really poor, as I'd warned him. You mention 1-0 wins but 1-0 in a game that should be 3-0 and includes 30 mins of game management is not what any fan wants to see every week. We did have spells of scoring loads of goals. I mentioned that in another thread but ultimately that didn't last. I think all Killie fans are suffering from thinking they're bigger than they actually are because of an 18 month spell of punching above their weight under Clarke. Kelt mentioned earlier, this is a painful change but was necessary. Link to comment
huncunts Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 1 hour ago, Schapenneuker said: Killie before McInnes came were mid-table shite that were going nowhere. Now they're top of the league. Sadly, McInnes has somehow developed this reputation as a negative manager....it's actually a heap of pish....and it's come to pass that 1-0 wins (against sides that they would have lost to pre-McInnes) are somehow really bad results. I had a wee look last week at that demented forum that is hibs.net. For years they slagged Aberdeen under McInnes as somehow being boring. I really don't know why, we used to score wheens of goals against them on a regular basis.....now many of them are wondering why they didn't appoint McInnes instead of Maloney when they had the chance. Yer Killie mate needs to ask himself where his club would be without the appointment of McInnes. Does he think they would have appointed somebody that would have Killie playing scintillating Brazil 1970's football and thrashing everybody ? Really ? Ironically, the real boring negative pricks in the final years were the fans. Spending every single day analysing his tenure from the most suicidally negative angle possible. 1 Link to comment
Simply Red Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 21 minutes ago, huncunts said: Ironically, the real boring negative pricks in the final years were the fans. Spending every single day analysing his tenure from the most suicidally negative angle possible. Well said Link to comment
Schapenneuker Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 1 hour ago, TheRedPrawcess said: I've just realised I said before Christmas. It must have been much more recently as McInnes didn't take over until January. Felt that long ago. I'd call McInnes overly cautious, some say boring. Potato potato You say now they're top of the league (Championship mind) like it's an achievement. Kilmarnock are a top flight team probably paying top flight wages. Or certainly have been for as long as I can remember. Christ they've won as many trophies as we have since the mid 90's. Not saying much however. My point was more that he initially made out that they were laughing at us because we'd gotten rid of this great manager who was winning games with them whilst we struggled. Tried to make out I was wrong saying he was a problem. A matter of months later and he now acknowledges that despite being top the football is really poor, as I'd warned him. You mention 1-0 wins but 1-0 in a game that should be 3-0 and includes 30 mins of game management is not what any fan wants to see every week. We did have spells of scoring loads of goals. I mentioned that in another thread but ultimately that didn't last. I think all Killie fans are suffering from thinking they're bigger than they actually are because of an 18 month spell of punching above their weight under Clarke. Kelt mentioned earlier, this is a painful change but was necessary. Not having a go at you bud, far from it. The long and the short of it was that McInnes was the best manager Aberdeen had since Alex Smith. But ultimately he reached his sell by date with us and it was time for him, and us, to move on. I don't get the thing about Killie fans slagging him though. You say that they're a top flight team paying top flight wages, but the same could well have been said about Dunfermline, Partick Thistle, ICT, Raith Rovers, Hamilton et al when they went down. The Championship is a competitive league and you have to play and fight your way out of it. Killie were going nowhere until they appointed McInnes, and now they're on the brink of promotion. As to poor football well, every single club in Scotland that doesn't have millions suffers from periods of stagnation where they simply can't overwhelm sides 4 or 5-0 every single weekend. The undoubted fact is though, that McInnes over a season succeeds more than he fails. If I were a Killie fan, I'd be delighted to have him there. Outside Steve Clarke...who has also been criticised for being 'boring'....McInnes is the best Scottish manager in the country. Link to comment
TheRedPrawcess Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 4 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said: Not having a go at you bud, far from it. The long and the short of it was that McInnes was the best manager Aberdeen had since Alex Smith. But ultimately he reached his sell by date with us and it was time for him, and us, to move on. I don't get the thing about Killie fans slagging him though. You say that they're a top flight team paying top flight wages, but the same could well have been said about Dunfermline, Partick Thistle, ICT, Raith Rovers, Hamilton et al when they went down. The Championship is a competitive league and you have to play and fight your way out of it. Killie were going nowhere until they appointed McInnes, and now they're on the brink of promotion. As to poor football well, every single club in Scotland that doesn't have millions suffers from periods of stagnation where they simply can't overwhelm sides 4 or 5-0 every single weekend. The undoubted fact is though, that McInnes over a season succeeds more than he fails. If I were a Killie fan, I'd be delighted to have him there. Outside Steve Clarke...who has also been criticised for being 'boring'....McInnes is the best Scottish manager in the country. He's the best manager I've known in my time definitely. Like you say just past his best with us. Aye I definitely thought at the time he'd be a good appointment for them in terms of just getting resluts. I agree, a bit like Hearts last season (who also slaughtered Neilson at time) Killie fans should really just be focussing on getting out of the Championship and back to the top flight. They probably thought they'd coast it every game. I'm a bit like that myself with us at the moment. I'd take a few results with shite performances just to steady the ship to the end of the season then let Goodwin assemble his squad. Or at least a good chunk of it, I fear he may have too much to do in this window. Link to comment
JamieMT Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 We'd be top six, no question. But the football would be rotten, he'd have made questionable signings (albeit not as bad as Glass) and there'd be continued discontent among the support. If he were still here we'd only have kicked the departure can down the road. No animosity toward Derek, he was an excellent manager for us, but his time had come at least a season and a half before he left. The mistake wasn't parting company, it was who we replaced him with. And for what it's worth, he's making heavy weather of Kilmarnock. Given the squad he inherited and the players they were allowed to sign in January, they should be out of sight. Not heading into a potential title decider with Arbroath. Had Killie stuck with Tommy Wright and given him the same January budget i can't imagine they'd be any worse off than they are right now. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 4th. On about, say, 48 points just now. Out both cups. it was time to go…. But that doesn’t mean just anyone could replace him and do a better job. As we have seen Link to comment
Jigsaw666 Posted April 17, 2022 Share Posted April 17, 2022 49 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said: Not having a go at you bud, far from it. The long and the short of it was that McInnes was the best manager Aberdeen had since Alex Smith. But ultimately he reached his sell by date with us and it was time for him, and us, to move on. I don't get the thing about Killie fans slagging him though. You say that they're a top flight team paying top flight wages, but the same could well have been said about Dunfermline, Partick Thistle, ICT, Raith Rovers, Hamilton et al when they went down. The Championship is a competitive league and you have to play and fight your way out of it. Killie were going nowhere until they appointed McInnes, and now they're on the brink of promotion. As to poor football well, every single club in Scotland that doesn't have millions suffers from periods of stagnation where they simply can't overwhelm sides 4 or 5-0 every single weekend. The undoubted fact is though, that McInnes over a season succeeds more than he fails. If I were a Killie fan, I'd be delighted to have him there. Outside Steve Clarke...who has also been criticised for being 'boring'....McInnes is the best Scottish manager in the country. Well that would be us scuppered then. Link to comment
NEM Posted April 18, 2022 Share Posted April 18, 2022 11 hours ago, Schapenneuker said: Not having a go at you bud, far from it. The long and the short of it was that McInnes was the best manager Aberdeen had since Alex Smith. But ultimately he reached his sell by date with us and it was time for him, and us, to move on. I don't get the thing about Killie fans slagging him though. You say that they're a top flight team paying top flight wages, but the same could well have been said about Dunfermline, Partick Thistle, ICT, Raith Rovers, Hamilton et al when they went down. The Championship is a competitive league and you have to play and fight your way out of it. Killie were going nowhere until they appointed McInnes, and now they're on the brink of promotion. As to poor football well, every single club in Scotland that doesn't have millions suffers from periods of stagnation where they simply can't overwhelm sides 4 or 5-0 every single weekend. The undoubted fact is though, that McInnes over a season succeeds more than he fails. If I were a Killie fan, I'd be delighted to have him there. Outside Steve Clarke...who has also been criticised for being 'boring'....McInnes is the best Scottish manager in the country. The 92-93 Dons side under Willie Miller would piss all over any Dons team under McInnes. 3 Link to comment