Edwin Starr Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Anyone on here got a degree . I know it may come as a surprise but I don't have one . When I was at school it was mostly people from wealthy families that went to university. In my day you left school and got a job in my case a trade . Things are different now with free university places here in Scotland which means more people from working class backgrounds now have opportunities we didn't have. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 I don’t have a degree. 30 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said: Things are different now with free university places here in Scotland which means more people from working backgrounds class now have opportunities we didn't have. I don’t think this is necessarily a good thing. Link to comment
YorkDon Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 No, but was set to do A levels (schooled mostly in England) in History, German & English Lit. Discovered lager and chasing women and for some reason decided to join the army instead of continuing my education. Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Got about 62 of them here today, Fucking roasting!!!! Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 No. Left school, got a trade. Worked all me life. Workin' class way? Further education ??. Not for me. Each to their own. Link to comment
Bournemouth Gee Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 No education to speak of I'm a Tory MP now 1 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Got a crap degree in property. Left before I finished my honours because I went to get pished and see Aberdeen play in Madrid rather than do an essay. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Love 'When Will I See You Again' . 1 Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Oh, I forgot about my Masonic degrees. Do they count? Boaz yah bass.? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 6 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Oh, I forgot about my Masonic degrees. Do they count? Boaz yah bass.? @the Boof Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 1 minute ago, Joe pike said: Went to an approved school. Does that count? You have my approval if that's a thing. Link to comment
Joe pike Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Went to an approved school. Does that count? Link to comment
Joe pike Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 3 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: Aye. Did it in my 30s still working full time. Hasn't helped me in the slightest employment wise but it wasn't supposed to. More of a pursuit of interests than anything else. Okay Johnny 2 pencils. 2 Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 5 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: Aye. Did it in my 30s still working full time. Hasn't helped me in the slightest employment wise but it wasn't supposed to. More of a pursuit of interests than anything else. Interests bein'? Link to comment
Zeus Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 56 minutes ago, Joe pike said: Went to an approved school. Does that count? BODA? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 just a hunch but I bet good ol working class true north east man @RS graduated from the school of hard knocks and then phd’d at the university of life Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 3, 2022 Author Share Posted July 3, 2022 3 hours ago, Quagmire said: Two What are they in ? Link to comment
Quagmire Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 54 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said: What are they in ? Nothing exciting Buc, honours in engineering and a masters in project management. Done them both later on while working as I was thick as mince at school. Link to comment
Arabian Knight Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 ^ 7 yr in edinbrgh tryin tae b a dreftsmin..mon greybaws..yer gittin aw chatty..dinna b shy..tell us aboot yer 7yr 1 Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 3, 2022 Author Share Posted July 3, 2022 10 minutes ago, Quagmire said: Nothing exciting Buc, honours in engineering and a masters in project management. Done them both later on while working as I was thick as mince at school. You've done very well and good on you. Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 3, 2022 Author Share Posted July 3, 2022 Just now, Arabian Knight said: ^ 7 yr in edinbrgh tryin tae b a dreftsmin..mon greybaws..yer gittin aw chatty..dinna b shy..tell us aboot yer 7yr We are listening ? Link to comment
Parklife Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 Got a degree. Felt the entire process was a bit drawn out. No need for 4 years to do an honours degree. Could've condensed that in to 3 years easy. I spent half my time at uni playing Yahoo pool or drinking. Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 3, 2022 Author Share Posted July 3, 2022 7 minutes ago, Parklife said: Got a degree. Felt the entire process was a bit drawn out. No need for 4 years to do an honours degree. Could've condensed that in to 3 years easy. I spent half my time at uni playing Yahoo pool or drinking. You had a good time then . As I say I haven't one but my wife even though she's a staff Nurse she has a science degree . My loon has 2 degrees Both my wife and loon speak Spanish very well. Me I can't even speak English. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 1 minute ago, Edwin Starr said: You had a good time then . As I say I haven't one but my wife even though she's a staff Nurse she has a science degree . My loon has 2 degrees Both my wife and loon speak Spanish very well. Me I can't even speak English. Brainy bastard family that min. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 3, 2022 Share Posted July 3, 2022 23 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: I used to play Yahoo chess and pool a bit. Remember this..., A/S/L ? Dennis Bell of Torquay, he was a bad sport. Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 3, 2022 Author Share Posted July 3, 2022 21 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Brainy bastard family that min. Well not me mate ? Link to comment