beaudandy Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Who remembers seeing their first AFC European game. Mine was 10-0 against Reykjavik at Pittodrie.Our first ever in Europe. 1 Link to comment
BonnieDon Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 A 1-1 draw against Lokomotiv Moscow at Pittordrie. Andrew Considine scoring from a header I believe. Went to all the home games in Europe that season. Both the Bayern Munich and Cophenagen matches are arguably the most memorable games I've been to. Link to comment
Bournemouth Gee Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Torino away 93 I think. What a piss up Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 10 minutes ago, BonnieDon said: A 1-1 draw against Lokomotiv Moscow at Pittordrie. Andrew Considine scoring from a header I believe. Went to all the home games in Europe that season. Both the Bayern Munich and Cophenagen matches are arguably the most memorable games I've been to. Same for me. Was zander diamond not consi. Ivanovic(later Chelsea) scored for them. Link to comment
BonnieDon Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Just now, Durrant Dived said: Was zander diamond not consi. Ivanovic(later Chelsea) scored for them. I knew it was centre back for us. I was sat behind the goal when he scored. Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 4 minutes ago, BonnieDon said: I knew it was centre back for us. I was sat behind the goal when he scored. I was in the Merkland too. Absolutely criminal from Chris Clark putting that out for a corner that leads to the goal. Could easily have been put out for a throw in. Link to comment
redone Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 52 minutes ago, beaudandy said: Who remembers seeing their first AFC European game. Mine was 10-0 against Reykjavik at Pittodrie.Our first ever in Europe. Yaaasss !!....I'm nae the aalest fucker on here ! My first was Marek Dimitrov in 1977. Won 3-0 after losing the first leg 3-2. I know it's a cliche , but there was usually a special atmosphere for European games, even a buzz walking doon Merkland Road. Link to comment
Stavrogin Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 1977 for me too. Aberdeen 1 RWD Molenbeek 2, this after a 0-0 away draw. They scored first but Drew Jarvie gave us hope with 15-20 minutes to go. Full on Aberdeen pressure, followed by a Molenbeek breakaway. It was a long time ago, and I was young, but my memory is that the guy shot tamely from half way and Bobby Clark, smoking a cigar and drinking brandy, watched it nestle in to the bottom corner. I sulked for at least three days. Link to comment
Watson Oh The Bar! Scanlon Yes! Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Waterschei, ‘83. School holidays. Sat in the seats high up in the corner between the South Stand the Beach End. Unfamiliar territory then….and now. (Technically the South Stand for the pedantic). 2-0 after 4 mins. Aged 9, I thought every European night would be like this. Link to comment
Stavrogin Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 34 minutes ago, Durrant Dived said: I was in the Merkland too. Absolutely criminal from Chris Clark putting that out for a corner that leads to the goal. Could easily have been put out for a throw in. It was not a great header either. Langfield's greatest strength was 'shot stopping', but not in this case. 1 Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Mine was Liverpool in 1980 Never seen a team with as many moustaches as that Liverpool team 1 Link to comment
Zeus Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Torino at home in 1993 in the merkland. Torino fans were in the main closest to the merkland, swapped my scarf at HT with one of them. Rico scored a peach. Sure someone ran onto the pitch, at the ref? Link to comment
NEM Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Think Gothenburg at home when the Smithy out chants started up was my first euro game. Link to comment
NEM Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 3 minutes ago, Zeus said: Torino at home in 1993 in the merkland. Torino fans were in the main closest to the merkland, swapped my scarf at HT with one of them. Rico scored a peach. Sure someone ran onto the pitch, at the ref? They did aye, out of the bottom deck. Ref was absolutely honking tbf, deserved a slap Link to comment
sheepcrooky Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 RWD Molenbeek. 1977 shite result. https://afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=3280&season=1977-78&squad=Senior Link to comment
pocrawred Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 1 hour ago, aberdeen1970 said: Mine was Liverpool in 1980 Never seen a team with as many moustaches as that Liverpool team Same here, me and a school pal climbed over the wall at the paddock then sauntered doon to the front of the stand. Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 8 minutes ago, King Street Loon said: Feyenoord in 87 Same one as me… back when we still expected todo really well in Europe. Sure we got knocked out on away goals. Link to comment
North_Andy_Dandy Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Sigma Olomouc. Massive que to get in so only got to my seat as we scored, thinking great that’s us 1-0 up. How wrong I was. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Barry Town 3-1 win and been to the majority of the games since then #topRed Link to comment
frankie_mac's_4 Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Dons 1-1 Eintracht Frankfurt 1979. Their Korea boy being called Cha Bum Kun is seared into my brain Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 1 hour ago, Stavrogin said: It was not a great header either. Langfield's greatest strength was 'shot stopping', but not in this case. Aye, pish goal all round to lose. Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Doubler. FTH. Good thing about this it shows people's ages ? Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Bohemians cant mind why I never went to any of the games in 1996 cause I was going a lot around then. Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 17 minutes ago, North_Andy_Dandy said: Sigma Olomouc. Massive que to get in so only got to my seat as we scored, thinking great that’s us 1-0 up. How wrong I was. Did you think we lost 4-1? We were already 1 down when Mulgrew scored haha. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Seeing Duff line up at centre back with Derek Young beside him at right back was a low Link to comment
North_Andy_Dandy Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 Just now, Durrant Dived said: Did you think we lost 4-1? We were already 1 down when Mulgrew scored haha. I didn’t know we were 1-0 down, I thought we’d taken the lead until the guy next to us said that it was an equaliser. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 1 minute ago, North_Andy_Dandy said: I didn’t know we were 1-0 down, I thought we’d taken the lead until the guy next to us said that it was an equaliser. And that was the high point of the entire evening 1 Link to comment
Simply Red Posted July 15, 2022 Share Posted July 15, 2022 43 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said: Seeing Duff line up at centre back with Derek Young beside him at right back was a low One of the weirdest (and shitest) games ive seen at Pittodrie. Mghee’s first game wasnt it. Bizarre team selection First euro game i can mind being at was Torino for Rico’s screamer. Link to comment