Annan Athletic 1 - 4 Aberdeen

8 minutes ago, GeorgeStreetReds said:

Surely a start for Duk and Morrice in this one?

Annan are mid-table in League 2.

Canna see this happening.

Goodwin not one for changing a winning team, always preached consistency of selection.

Though maybe either of those you mention could get a wee shotty in place of Clarkson if carrying a knock or perhaps in need of a wee rest.

Hopefully Coulsen is ok, maybe taken off as a precaution.

It does seem like a game for rotating a couple of players in the squad. Don't want to see too many changes but 2 or 3 worthwhile to keep players sharp.

If McKenzie is fit I'd give him a start - we might need him later in the season.

Maybe start Duk over Hayes or Besuijin? Or start Duncan.

Ramirez, Bates, Watkins, McLennan all seem to be out in the cold so don't see the point in playing any of them really.

10 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Need to play more or less the same team again. 

Too early for this team to think that we can rest lots of players 

I see what you're getting at but I'd like to see some changes to give the new, young players a greater sense of responsibility and I'd prefer the likes of Stewart/Coulson to be rested before it becomes a necessity through injury. 

Just now, Dal Riata Don said:

I see what you're getting at but I'd like to see some changes to give the new, young players a greater sense of responsibility and I'd prefer the likes of Stewart/Coulson to be rested before it becomes a necessity through injury. 

I'd change one or two tops.  Plenty of subs these days to change things when/if the game is won like yesterday. 

Last thing we need is to have an off day and get punted out of the cup.  Look how quickly the wheels came off after getting knocked out early last season. 

We've not had a particularly heavy schedule.  League games have been one a week so far. 

15 minutes ago, Dal Riata Don said:

Goodwin knows our goals are win a trophy and qualify for Europe. Can’t see him taking many risks. 

The cynic in me says "beware what happened in Kirkcaldy last year"

The realist says that Annan aren't anywhere close to being as good as Raith. So give Lewis a run out, don't risk Coulson (MacKenzie to replace) and give Duk, Morris and Duncan starts. And let McLennan come on at HT to save someone's energy for next weekend/put himself into the shop window.

29 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

We've not had a particularly heavy schedule.  League games have been one a week so far. 

16 minutes ago, Rico1903 said:

Goodwin knows our goals are win a trophy and qualify for Europe. Can’t see him taking many risks. 

Both excellent points.

Maybe we will start unchanged, try to get 2 or 3 first half then make whole-scale changes second half?

Hayes is playing really well but hes no spring chicken albeit one of the fiiter players. I would rest him to help him to retain his form. Should never be complacent but I think Annan are too weak to take advantage of a wee bit of alteration. Give Lewis a game as well as sounds like hes no causing any problems despite losing his place which can't be easy to take. The break might have done him good and hes still not a bad keeper despite an awful season in a bad team. 

8 hours ago, muttonhumper said:

Canna see this happening.

Goodwin not one for changing a winning team, always preached consistency of selection.

Though maybe either of those you mention could get a wee shotty in place of Clarkson if carrying a knock or perhaps in need of a wee rest.

Hopefully Coulsen is ok, maybe taken off as a precaution.

Plastic pitch could influence his starting line up

5 hours ago, ClayholeRed said:

Annan did well in groups but are rubbish.  

Aye, for example, at venues we ourselves have played:

Drew 0-0 at St. Johnstone (won on pens).

Lost 2-1 at home to Striling Albion last week.

Sitting 9th out of 10 in bottom league with 1 win from 5.

4 hours ago, fine-n-dandy said:

Plastic pitch could influence his starting line up

Yeah. No point in taking any unnecessary risks.