zeroisgod76 Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 I know its often mentioned about how good the 92-93 squad was (and it really was). Looking back on that season we finished 2nd, 9 points behind the huns (2 points for a win). They had 73 points, we had 64. The following season for some reason doesn't stick in the memory quite so much (other than Torino), however just looking back at it we finished that season only 3 points behind the huns and they won the league with only 58 points. Incredibly we drew 21 league games that season, including 15 1-1 draws. Definitely like 90/91 another one that got away. Had we picked up the same amount of points as the previous season we'd have comofortably won the league, in fact had we turned 4 of the 21 draws into wins we'd have won it. We actually led in 10 of the games we drew and dropped a point. How different things could have been, could have been playing Champions League football in 94/95 instead of battling to avoid relegation. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Not surprised but you do have to factor in that would have been the Tims trough was it? Before McCann came in. interesting the draws too. Out and about or I’d look it up myself. What we’re the hun head to heads that year, see if I remember them. Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted February 22, 2023 Author Share Posted February 22, 2023 Just now, strachanmcgheegoal said: Not surprised but you do have to factor in that would have been the Tims trough was it? Before McCann came in. interesting the draws too. Out and about or I’d look it up myself. What we’re the hun head to heads that year, see if I remember them. Yeah McCann came into Celtic towards the end of the 94/94 season. Against the huns we won 2-0 and drew 0-0 at Pittodrie and lost 2-0 and drew 1-1 at Ibrox (guess you could say we beat them on away goals 😂). Stephen Pressley scoring a cracking own goal for us in the 2-0 win... Link to comment
NEM Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Did we lose to the jutes in a replay in the Scottish cup semis that season? I mind the 2-0 home game against the Huns Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 22 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said: I know its often mentioned about how good the 92-93 squad was (and it really was). Looking back on that season we finished 2nd, 9 points behind the huns (2 points for a win). They had 73 points, we had 64. The following season for some reason doesn't stick in the memory quite so much (other than Torino), however just looking back at it we finished that season only 3 points behind the huns and they won the league with only 58 points. Incredibly we drew 21 league games that season, including 15 1-1 draws. Definitely like 90/91 another one that got away. Had we picked up the same amount of points as the previous season we'd have comofortably won the league, in fact had we turned 4 of the 21 draws into wins we'd have won it. We actually led in 10 of the games we drew and dropped a point. How different things could have been, could have been playing Champions League football in 94/95 instead of battling to avoid relegation. If memory serves, it was a 44 game league season, but despite all the draws we had the most away wins in Britain, hammered mainly by teams parking the bus at Pittodrie and scraping a draw? Good OP though, both seasons we were fantastic to watch, with a team that would win the SPL any time in the last 10 years. The consensus in the mid-90's was that Miller's tenure saw some of the best football in our history, but went pear-shaped because, frustrated at being second best, he ripped up the team and tried to do too much too soon. I seem to recall McLeish asking for one more season, before he was let go and subsequently joined Motherwell as manager. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 I haven’t checked but my memory is rangers won the league with plenty to spare in march and lost interest leading to league looking closer than it really was. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 17 minutes ago, NEM said: Did we lose to the jutes in a replay in the Scottish cup semis that season? I mind the 2-0 home game against the Huns Yeah Utd beat a fairly average rangers side in the final. Link to comment
Guest findlay_1903 Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Great times when I used to be genuinely excited about aberdeen, instead of the dulness of today. Oh to go back in time. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 That era 88-,93 I maintain had the best attacking players in our history. Nicholas,Gillhaus, Jess, Booth, Van Der Ark, Paatelainen,Shearer, Then in midfield Bett , Mason,and Richardson. Then the fringe players Cameron, Thomson , Gibson, Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 8 minutes ago, ericblack4boss said: That era 88-,93 I maintain had the best attacking players in our history. Nicholas,Gillhaus, Jess, Booth, Van Der Ark, Paatelainen, Interesting debate between that group and the 78-85 group Harper, Archibald, Jarvie, McGhee, Black, Hewitt, McDougall Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Black ,and McDougall I would swap with Van Der Ark, and Booth. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 4 minutes ago, ericblack4boss said: Black ,and McDougall I would swap with Van Der Ark, and Booth. Aye. I'd have Archibald, Black and McDougall instead of Paatelainen, the Ark and Booth. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Debate ends right here if you’re not going to include Peter Weir!!! Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Solid evening ahead of results archive and YouTube I feel. 1 Link to comment
Kincardine_Mearns_Red Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 1 hour ago, zeroisgod76 said: Yeah McCann came into Celtic towards the end of the 94/94 season. Against the huns we won 2-0 and drew 0-0 at Pittodrie and lost 2-0 and drew 1-1 at Ibrox (guess you could say we beat them on away goals 😂). Stephen Pressley scoring a cracking own goal for us in the 2-0 win... Is this not from the end of 92/93 season? Anyway better days for the club and supporters back then. Link to comment
OnceFaeMintlaw Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 21 minutes ago, strachanmcgheegoal said: Solid evening ahead of results archive and YouTube I feel. Can’t beat a last minute goal against that club 1 1 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Bless Dougie Link to comment
Dad Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 Mind souness got fined for the rolling ball pish hahahaha hun cunt - nae luck 🖕 Link to comment
Russell Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 This was my growing up team and it's amazing how I always thought Connor, Irvine and Grant in particular were shite at the team but they'd easily be starting for this team 1 Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted February 22, 2023 Author Share Posted February 22, 2023 I remember watching this one on the Italian channel on Aberdeen cable… 1 Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted February 22, 2023 Author Share Posted February 22, 2023 And then Ricos cracker in the home game… 1 Link to comment
graham Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 5 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said: I remember watching this one on the Italian channel on Aberdeen cable… Thanks for that clip.These were the days. Pittodrie Saturday afternoon.Football Italia , Channel 4 live game, Sunday afternoon. Link to comment
graham Posted February 22, 2023 Share Posted February 22, 2023 7 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said: And then Ricos cracker in the home game… Lee Richardson,now there was a player ! Brilliant goal. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 23, 2023 Share Posted February 23, 2023 We were awful that season. Real dip from the previous season. Don't recall why that was, probably squad changes if I were to guess. Chalk and cheese. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 23, 2023 Share Posted February 23, 2023 One of my favourite VHS tapes as a youngster was from this season. Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted February 23, 2023 Author Share Posted February 23, 2023 104 draws from 264 games in the Scottish Premier League that season. The last season of 2 points for a win, i guess a draw was more acceptable back then as only dropping a point instead of the 2 dropped on 3 points for a win. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 23, 2023 Share Posted February 23, 2023 A rare bounce when Scott Booth bangs one in at McDermid Park 'just before 10 to 5' Link to comment
Tommy Posted February 23, 2023 Share Posted February 23, 2023 6 minutes ago, RAZOR said: One of my favourite VHS tapes as a youngster was from this season. Debbie Does Dallas? Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted February 23, 2023 Share Posted February 23, 2023 Buc does Buchanhaven Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted February 25, 2023 Share Posted February 25, 2023 On 2/23/2023 at 9:55 AM, RAZOR said: A rare bounce when Scott Booth bangs one in at McDermid Park 'just before 10 to 5' That was Andy Roddie min. Scotty Booth scored a late winner against St. Johnstone away during our 11 wins out of 12 run in season 90/91. Link to comment