BaaBaaRedSheep Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 Personally was at Pittodrie midweek in April,1984. 5-1 going on 10 was the score. 2 goals for Rougvie, 2 goals for McGhoo and Black the other. If memory serves me right Rougvie was pure class that night and was threatening to score on numerous occasions, despite playing at the back. I genuinely don't spend my days harping back to the 80's but happy memories nonetheless. Fortunately we have had many memorable victories over the Arabs during the years since, which I am sure that several will recall. Hopefully Saturday will be another one. COYR. Link to comment
Guest findlay_1903 Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 1 nil when Calvin zola scored. Epic game. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 2-1 win at Tannadice about 10ish years ago, New Year time. Kari Arneson with the winner from about 73 yards. What a bounce. 2 Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 3-2 at Tannadice too many years ago than I'd care to admit but Jess got a hat-trick...........late 1990 I think it was. Duncan Disorderly was in his first season as a regular starter for the Dabs and frankly caused McLeish and Irvine an absolute nightmare all match. IIRC, they took an early lead, but within 10 minutes or so Jess knocked in a quickfire double only for them to get a penalty close to half time to equalise. But Jess got the winner very early in the second half. From then on we were unlucky not to at least double our tally, although United were still dangerous on the break. 6-3 to us really wouldn't have flattered us. Best game I've been to by a long way Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 4 minutes ago, Ten Caat said: 3-2 at Tannadice too many years ago than I'd care to admit but Jess got a hat-trick...........late 1990 I think it was. Duncan Disorderly was in his first season as a regular starter for the Dabs and frankly caused McLeish and Irvine an absolute nightmare all match. IIRC, they took an early lead, but within 10 minutes or so Jess knocked in a quickfire double only for them to get a penalty close to half time to equalise. But Jess got the winner very early in the second half. From then on we were unlucky not to at least double our tally, although United were still dangerous on the break. 6-3 to us really wouldn't have flattered us. Best game I've been to by a long way Same season he scored 4 away against Dunfermline.. remember having highlights of both games on VHS that were watched over and over again. Link to comment
perthshirered Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 13 minutes ago, Ten Caat said: 3-2 at Tannadice too many years ago than I'd care to admit but Jess got a hat-trick...........late 1990 I think it was. Duncan Disorderly was in his first season as a regular starter for the Dabs and frankly caused McLeish and Irvine an absolute nightmare all match. IIRC, they took an early lead, but within 10 minutes or so Jess knocked in a quickfire double only for them to get a penalty close to half time to equalise. But Jess got the winner very early in the second half. From then on we were unlucky not to at least double our tally, although United were still dangerous on the break. 6-3 to us really wouldn't have flattered us. Best game I've been to by a long way Aye, was there too. That's when Tannadice was a proper ground, seemed steep as fuck along the side. Pumping them 4-0 at Tynecastle in the semi was pleasing too. Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 This one. Close the thread 1 1 Link to comment
starryfish Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 3-2 win at Tannadice around about 2005/2006, 2-0 down at half time and then Derek Stillie helped us to the win, Scottish Cup and think maybe Billy Dodds and Sandy Clark near scrapping on touchline post match Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 Many memorable wins but the Scottish cup game at Tannadice in 2006 was special. 2 down at half time and a Stevie Crawford double then Barry Nicholson winner was a brilliant day out. 1 Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 1 hour ago, Don Fonte said: 2-1 win at Tannadice about 10ish years ago, New Year time. Kari Arneson with the winner from about 73 yards. What a bounce. Was at that one too! I think the equaliser was scored by Mo Chalali. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 6 minutes ago, Geoff_Tipps said: Was at that one too! I think the equaliser was scored by Mo Chalali. A great day oot. Mo Mo, Mo Mo Mo Mo, Mo Mo Mo Mo, Mo Mo Mo Chalali. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted March 2, 2023 Author Share Posted March 2, 2023 1 hour ago, WesthillWanderersFC said: This one. Close the thread Cheers for uploading WW. Worth watching for the Shearer goal alone 👍. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted March 2, 2023 Author Share Posted March 2, 2023 1 hour ago, Don Fonte said: 2-1 win at Tannadice about 10ish years ago, New Year time. Kari Arneson with the winner from about 73 yards. What a bounce. My loon's first away game without his da. Never stops going on about it. Some way to win a game I have to say. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 I was assuming OP meant Tannadice else its SHHEEEEAAAARRRRREEERRRRRR and close thread. Quite like the Vernon game at tannadice just cos its recent. Memories of the 80's just seemed to be constant 1-1 draws. Link to comment
Russell Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 Can't mind if we won the game but one of my (maybe inaccurate) endearing memories is of a very young Russell Anderson coming from what seemed like halfway to slide in on Kjell Olofsson as he was literally walking the ball in to an empty net 2 Link to comment
CCB III Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 Maybe not the best game but I mind we beat them in a NY game at Tannadice. Was buzzing to get tickets as a present. 0-1 Mulgrew the scorer I believe. Abdy was chucking snowballs at their keeper, who I think was Nicky Weaver? Link to comment
jamiesd Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 This Saturdays hopefully.....GFRIT Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 Tynecastle semi in 1990. Prime Hillhoose. Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted March 2, 2023 Author Share Posted March 2, 2023 9 minutes ago, CCB III said: Maybe not the best game but I mind we beat them in a NY game at Tannadice. Was buzzing to get tickets as a present. 0-1 Mulgrew the scorer I believe. Abdy was chucking snowballs at their keeper, who I think was Nicky Weaver? Remember it. Think the powers at be wanted to postpone the game due to the snow but there was thousands of Dons fans already at the ground. Link to comment
CCB III Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 3 minutes ago, BaaBaaRedSheep said: Remember it. Think the powers at be wanted to postpone the game due to the snow but there was thousands of Dons fans already at the ground. Aye, I mind being on the bus down and constantly refreshing the BBC page to see. Good times! Link to comment
BaaBaaRedSheep Posted March 2, 2023 Author Share Posted March 2, 2023 Just now, CCB III said: Aye, I mind being on the bus down and constantly refreshing the BBC page to see. Good times! Driving home was kinda slow in the snow but, as you say, the 1-0 victory helped. Link to comment
Bournemouth Gee Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 2 hours ago, perthshirered said: Aye, was there too. That's when Tannadice was a proper ground, seemed steep as fuck along the side. Pumping them 4-0 at Tynecastle in the semi was pleasing too. 🙋♂️ Yep. The family had gone to broughty ferry staying with some friends so I sulked like a bitch until they let me go. First time I'd seen Jess play, fucking fantastic Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 2 hours ago, Tommy said: Many memorable wins but the Scottish cup game at Tannadice in 2006 was special. 2 down at half time and a Stevie Crawford double then Barry Nicholson winner was a brilliant day out. Definitely. Absolute bounce that day. Took the train with some pals and someone left a Big Innes poop in the bogs. As Jack said - they'd have had to stand off it. Trades bar pre and post match also 👌 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 Looking for Barry to come out the tunnel at 5.55 Saturday like that ^^^^ 1 Link to comment
Saturday's Kid Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 4-2 victory at Pittodrie 30th March 1985. This win virtually clinched our last league championship (so far) it was my birthday I got a mention over the tannoy and my horse was placed in the Grand National. Not a bad day all round. Link to comment
Roberto Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 6 minutes ago, Saturday's Kid said: 4-2 victory at Pittodrie 30th March 1985. This win virtually clinched our last league championship (so far) it was my birthday I got a mention over the tannoy and my horse was placed in the Grand National. Not a bad day all round. Did you get your end away in the evening? Living the dream if so. Link to comment
redone Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 3 minutes ago, Russell said: Can't mind if we won the game but one of my (maybe inaccurate) endearing memories is of a very young Russell Anderson coming from what seemed like halfway to slide in on Kjell Olofsson as he was literally walking the ball in to an empty net Well described min! Pretty sure that game at Pittodrie finished 1-1. Whatever season it was , we were pish and United had a strong team at the time. One memorable game was at home the season we came through the group stages of the UEFA Cup. We came in to the game on the back of indifferent form, and had a few injuries. I was fairly pessimistic going to the game but we actually played well and bossed the game. Sone Aluko made his home debut and scored a great goal. And Lee Miller made it two in injury time with a shot from about 30 yards. United had two players sent off late on , one of them being Barry Robson. Link to comment
Saturday's Kid Posted March 2, 2023 Share Posted March 2, 2023 26 minutes ago, Roberto said: Did you get your end away in the evening? Living the dream if so. I'm aye hoping. Link to comment