Cove Huns

Took in the Cove v Scumdee game yesterday, probably like a few others who didn't make the trip to Tannadice.

Feckin eye bleeding stuff. They lack any creativity, midfield and their defence is honking. Vigurs looks like he's carrying 2 stone too much. Odd set up with Hartley going back, but he's inherited a bit of a shambles from where he left them.

Was my first game at Balmoral... having only seen Cove once in the flesh which was one of our pre-season friendlies against them many moons ago. Not sure I get the plan for them. In 10 years time, 50% of their fan base will have kicked the bucket. Just full of middle aged to auld men and woman and a smattering of young kids. Who actually supports them other than residents of Cove? Used to worry about the impact a successful Cove could have on our fan base, but having seen that yesterday, I can sleep easy now.

Odd move for Richard Gordon as well... he's the PA guy asking for donations to the girls doing a collection and calling out the subs when they come on. Odd indeed.

8 minutes ago, Tinyweelad said:

Took in the Cove v Scumdee game yesterday, probably like a few others who didn't make the trip to Tannadice.

Feckin eye bleeding stuff. They lack any creativity, midfield and their defence is honking. Vigurs looks like he's carrying 2 stone too much. Odd set up with Hartley going back, but he's inherited a bit of a shambles from where he left them.

Was my first game at Balmoral... having only seen Cove once in the flesh which was one of our pre-season friendlies against them many moons ago. Not sure I get the plan for them. In 10 years time, 50% of their fan base will have kicked the bucket. Just full of middle aged to auld men and woman and a smattering of young kids. Who actually supports them other than residents of Cove? Used to worry about the impact a successful Cove would have on our fan base , but having seen that yesterday, I can sleep easy now.

Odd move for Richard Gordon as well... he's the PA guy asking for donations to the girls doing a collection and calling out the subs when they come on. Odd indeed.

As far as I can recall there were two posters off the Hat who openly deserted us for the Cove huns, at a time when they were moving up through the leagues and we were struggling.

One of them was the clown whose excuse for deserting the Dons was not being able to use cash to buy his pies. 
The other was the Zoomers’ Zoomer , Rocket Scientist , who , I think , had pretty much boasted that he had hardly been a regular at Pittodrie for several years anyway.

I’m not concerned at all about Dons fans WHO ACTUALLY SUPPORT THE DONS defecting to Cove in significant numbers.

I’m more concerned about other issues like the effect of long term crap , bottom-6 football , the soul-destroying complete and utter dominance of the Arse-cheeks and the potentially disastrous move to a stadium outwith the city.

27 minutes ago, Tinyweelad said:

Was my first game at Balmoral... having only seen Cove once in the flesh which was one of our pre-season friendlies against them many moons ago. Not sure I get the plan for them. In 10 years time, 50% of their fan base will have kicked the bucket. Just full of middle aged to auld men and woman and a smattering of young kids. Who actually supports them other than residents of Cove? Used to worry about the impact a successful Cove could have on our fan base, but having seen that yesterday, I can sleep easy now.

I’d have thought there could be a job found for him at Pittodrie 

1 hour ago, Dynamo said:

They're totally irrelevant. Fuck them.

Probably wont hear many disagree. But it does intrigue me as to just where they think their fan base could come from, if indeed, they managed to keep improving? Not sure what the attendance was yesterday and probably limited due to the fact they're having a crap season. But clubs must survive mainly with supporters finances from attending games. Surely not enough to be made from SPFL prize money and sponsorship, or is McRae still bank rolling them? Not sustainable in any case.

2 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Sounds comfortingly familiar. Might need to head along

Couldn't help but feel, watching Vigurs replicating an elephant running through quick sand, that it's a great place to put a few of our players on loan to. Polvara for example, would surely be better playing there rather than not getting any mins at all with us.

10 minutes ago, minijc said:

Gordon and all of the other rats who jumped ship once McInnes left are not welcome back. 

Richard Gordon wasn't officially part of AFC. He's been used for various celebrations/marketing before, but on a consultancy basis.

I can't believe anyone has deserted AFC in favour of supporting Cove. Boy who cried wolf that sort of behaviour that.

5 minutes ago, Tinyweelad said:

Richard Gordon wasn't officially part of AFC. He's been used for various celebrations/marketing before, but on a consultancy basis.

I can't believe anyone has deserted AFC in favour of supporting Cove. Boy who cried wolf that sort of behaviour that.

A lot of Aberdeens corporate clients have ditched the club in favour of Cove.

21 minutes ago, minijc said:

A lot of Aberdeens corporate clients have ditched the club in favour of Cove.

What, all 20 of them? Really really poorly suported game. Was probably as many Dundee supporters there.

3 minutes ago, Tinyweelad said:

What, all 20 of them? Really really poorly suported game. Was probably as many Dundee supporters there.

Their corporate was sold out for the whole season back in September, you can argue if you want but it's a fact that quite a lot of people that would be in the AFC corporate most weeks gave up and shifted to Cove.

4 minutes ago, minijc said:

Their corporate was sold out for the whole season back in September, you can argue if you want but it's a fact that quite a lot of people that would be in the AFC corporate most weeks gave up and shifted to Cove.

Off the back of their form last season. Any idea how many corporate attendees they can get in the building? The main stand is bloody tiny in itself.

Let's produce a list of companies that have jumped ship and boycot them ;) In any case, after subjecting themselves to the drivel that was dished up yesterday, I can't see many carrying on ploughing money into that. Was worse than Darvel type fitba. The fact Logan couldn't get a game yesterday says a lot about how his standards must have fallen.

4 hours ago, Tinyweelad said:

Was that back in the Calderwood days?  We wore the brand new black and gold third kit and Jeff De Visscher played his first game for the Dons.  He might even have scored.

1 hour ago, ericblack4boss said:

The yon Irish lassie from original 106 is a regular Thier apparently, 

Though in pretty sure it's the buffet that appeals to her,

No she doesn't, she MC's the Aberdeen corporate stuff not the Cove.

Having been to corporate at both this season (check Mr Corporate here) for me Cove was the better experience. Smaller scale, good food, good booze, no airs and graces and while the football was nae great the day itself was really good. Day did not feel rushed and you got the feeling they really appreciated your customer.

While Aberdeen was also good, it felt far more stuffy, formal and not as relaxing as the Cove day out. Again enjoyed my day out but would put the Cove experience above the Aberdeen one.

I also know a few guys who now do the bulk of their corporate entertaining at Cove. They pointed to the more relaxed environment, complained about the commercial costs compared against what they were actually receiving, the lack of flexibility at AFC and some of the staff being dicks.

Something for Burrows to look at I reckon as there should be no doubt that Aberdeen should be the club of choice for all corporate entertainment.

5 hours ago, Tinyweelad said:

Any team with “Rangers” in their name can fuck off and die.

Like “Rangers” did. 

1 hour ago, RabidGiraffe said:

Was that back in the Calderwood days?  We wore the brand new black and gold third kit and Jeff De Visscher played his first game for the Dons.  He might even have scored.

Yes, I think you could be right......