FAO Dandies down under, more specifically, Perth

Options aren’t great for Dons matches… Main issue is time difference. Everywhere shuts early out here. Crown sports bar is safest bet, but will only be available if BEIN sports are televising… and will be drowned out if there is an EPL game at the same time.  Used to be a few supporters groups that would meet up to watch the games… but sadly that’s died away in recent years.

If we could get a crowd of Dandies together, I know of a place in West Perth where I might be able to hook up my RedTV international account… 10pm KO might be a touch too late tho.

Occasionally Scotland games get shown at Johnny Fox in Northbridge, or Woodvale Tavern (northern suburbs). But I see both the up coming games are at 3am… and I’ve noticed the Scotland supporters clubs have had trouble getting a late licence to show games recently… so sadly Crown is best bet again!

Someone once sent me a link to a Perth dons supporters Facebook group - never went on it but there may be some folk active on it who have some way to watch it.

Have watched it Crown but it’s full of English lager louts. Best just watching it at hame (golden triangle vibes)

Moved here around 6 months ago and all the Facebook groups are dead now.

I am happy to meet folk for a beer or 2 on match days. Timing is difficult for bars at either 10pm or 11pm most Saturdays, so Crown is the best bet. Euros and evening games is shit at 2 or 3 am.

3 hours ago, Rot-10-One said:

Moved here around 6 months ago and all the Facebook groups are dead now.

I am happy to meet folk for a beer or 2 on match days. Timing is difficult for bars at either 10pm or 11pm most Saturdays, so Crown is the best bet. Euros and evening games is shit at 2 or 3 am.

Was a big influx of dandies 10-20 years ago when O&G was pumping here… many of these guys are still around - they’re just 10-20 years older, with wives and kids now! So don’t get out as much! Back in the day, I’ve seen Crown packed with Dandies. For the Gothenburg 30th anniversary there was an event organised at Durty Nellys - again, was packed to the rafters!  Nothing for the 40th this year - a sign of the times!

For cup finals etc, these groups still fire up and you can get a decent crowd, as the auld team come out of the woodwork… but crown is still a terrible venue.

As I mentioned above I’ll look into an option in West Perth (well connected, on the train line). Could definitely sort out an area with a big screen for UK lunchtime KOs…(7pm/8pm) our time.  Celtic would have been ideal, but I’m out of town for the next few weeks. I’ll keep my eyes on the schedule..

I’m Adelaide based and to be honest haven’t even tried to find somewhere 

the time difference is just nuts for going to the pub

For the bigger matches I can usually round up some folks for a late evening at mine with redTV tho. Mind you evening matches (UK) can be a bugger too - I’ve been headed into work in the morning before they’ve finished 

3 hours ago, Sonoftherock said:

Was a big influx of dandies 10-20 years ago when O&G was pumping here… many of these guys are still around - they’re just 10-20 years older, with wives and kids now! So don’t get out as much! Back in the day, I’ve seen Crown packed with Dandies. For the Gothenburg 30th anniversary there was an event organised at Durty Nellys - again, was packed to the rafters!  Nothing for the 40th this year - a sign of the times!

For cup finals etc, these groups still fire up and you can get a decent crowd, as the auld team come out of the woodwork… but crown is still a terrible venue.

As I mentioned above I’ll look into an option in West Perth (well connected, on the train line). Could definitely sort out an area with a big screen for UK lunchtime KOs…(7pm/8pm) our time.  Celtic would have been ideal, but I’m out of town for the next few weeks. I’ll keep my eyes on the schedule..

By all accounts one of the owners is a fanny

On 7/27/2023 at 10:33 AM, super_al said:

Not much of a Dons contingent here as far as I’m aware. 

Mick O’Malleys on Queen St shows all the televised Celtic games (diddley dee!).

Haven’t been there since the 2-1 game at Pittodrie when Quinn scored the winner after Hayes was sent off. Might have been a bit vigorous with my GIRFUY gestures but I met a few decent blokes who took it all in good humour. Don’t know anywhere else that shows Scottish games. 

On 7/28/2023 at 1:49 PM, BrisDon said:

Not much of a Dons contingent here as far as I’m aware. 

My very good pal who was just over this month in Cyprus then to ABZ for a stramash, has been Bris since 2007.

Major dandy, think he did previously go to pub for games, not sure aboot noo.

We did have a pint in Pittodrie Bar which he was way too enthusiastic aboot.  :laughing:

Asked the (resonable) bird behind Bar for wifi password, she was English. "oh, it's lower case pittodrie1902"

I say "1902". Sure aboot that?

Voice fae the ither side of the bar "O me quine, it's 1903! It's up there on the wa'!"

Or something like that.