Ramandu Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 The group stages draws take place on Friday afternoon, live streamed on the uefa website. Europa League is at 12:00, Conference League at 1:30. As far as I can see there is no combination of results which would get us out of pot 4 for either competition. Obviously some very tough teams in there, but in the EL there are enough pot 3 teams we should fancy ourselves against. Molde, Union st gilloise, qarabag, slovan Bratislava. There's far too many undecided games in the ECL to have a go at working out teams for that. Link to comment
Ramandu Posted August 29, 2023 Author Share Posted August 29, 2023 My preferred group* Pot 1: Atalanta Pot 2: LASK Pot 3: Molde *I know very little about these teams and am basing this on name recognition and coefficient. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 No time for sleep on Thursday night. Must do permutations. 2 Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 How long do we have to wait between the draw and the fixtures being confirmed? Fuck Hacken. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 1 minute ago, dave_min said: How long do we have to wait between the draw and the fixtures being confirmed? Fuck Hacken. Friday afternoon or evening. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 What’s the best way from Linz Airport to the Irish bar in the old town? Link to comment
milne_afc Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 26 minutes ago, dave_min said: What’s the best way from Linz Airport to the Irish bar in the old town? Taxi 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 Maccabi Haifa, Molde and Panathinaikos move to Europa League, and the first two projected to be in Pot 3. No changes to the projected Europa or ECL groups tonight. Big night tomorrow. Will the huns move to Europa League? Yes. Link to comment
NEM Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 17 minutes ago, Tord31 said: Maccabi Haifa, Molde and Panathinaikos move to Europa League, and the first two projected to be in Pot 3. No changes to the projected Europa or ECL groups tonight. Big night tomorrow. Will the huns move to Europa League? Yes. Could we draw the rancid cunts or are teams from same country kept apart? Link to comment
Ramandu Posted August 29, 2023 Author Share Posted August 29, 2023 9 minutes ago, NEM said: Could we draw the rancid cunts or are teams from same country kept apart? Kept apart for the groups, so no chance. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 29, 2023 Share Posted August 29, 2023 47 minutes ago, Tord31 said: Maccabi Haifa, Molde and Panathinaikos move to Europa League, and the first two projected to be in Pot 3. No changes to the projected Europa or ECL groups tonight. Big night tomorrow. Will the huns move to Europa League? Yes. Link to comment
Ramandu Posted August 30, 2023 Author Share Posted August 30, 2023 This looks like the EL group pots for Friday, and is unlikely to change much. There were only 2 playoff ties where the first leg was drawn (us and sheriff tiraspol), all the others were won by the favourite, who you'd expect to go through. Best: Atalanta, LASK, Molde Worst: Ajax, Sporting, Brighton The conference league has way to many unknowns to put anything up just now. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 30, 2023 Share Posted August 30, 2023 17 minutes ago, Ramandu said: This looks like the EL group pots for Friday, and is unlikely to change much. There were only 2 playoff ties where the first leg was drawn (us and sheriff tiraspol), all the others were won by the favourite, who you'd expect to go through. Best: Atalanta, LASK, Molde Worst: Ajax, Sporting, Brighton The conference league has way to many unknowns to put anything up just now. There might yet be a few surprises sprung tomorrow night but in saying that the champions league its been 5/6 higher ranked sides progressing and many saw Rangers as underdogs anyway. Lets get the win and then turn this in to 40 pages Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted August 31, 2023 Share Posted August 31, 2023 17 hours ago, Ramandu said: This looks like the EL group pots for Friday, and is unlikely to change much. There were only 2 playoff ties where the first leg was drawn (us and sheriff tiraspol), all the others were won by the favourite, who you'd expect to go through. Best: Atalanta, LASK, Molde Worst: Ajax, Sporting, Brighton The conference league has way to many unknowns to put anything up just now. If I could hand pick I would take: Zagreb Olympiakos Qarabag Combination of best trips and beatability. Link to comment
super_al Posted August 31, 2023 Share Posted August 31, 2023 Roma, Marseille and Molde. Link to comment
Dons79 Posted August 31, 2023 Share Posted August 31, 2023 Zagreb, Prague, Bratislava great sightseeing, beautiful architecture…… a mean cheap beer 🍺 1 Link to comment
NEM Posted August 31, 2023 Share Posted August 31, 2023 What’s the highland league pots then? Link to comment
CraigHill Posted August 31, 2023 Share Posted August 31, 2023 POT 1 Eintracht Frankfurt (GER) Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) Club Brugge (BEL) AZ Alkmaar (NED Gent (BEL) Fenerbahçe (TUR) Lille (FRA) Ferencvaros (HUN) POT 2 PAOK GRE Slovan Bratislava (SVK) Maccabi Tel Aviv (ISR) Viktoria Pizen CZE) Aston Villa (ENG) Ludogorets Razgrad (BUL) Fiorentina (ITA) Bodo Glimt (NOR) POT 3 Genk BEL) Zorya (UKR) Astana (KAZ Besiktas (TUR) JK Helsinki (FIN) Legia Warszawa (POL) Spartak Trnava (SVK) Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN) POT4 Zriniski Mostar (BIH) Ki Klaksvik (FRO) Aberdeen (SCO Cukaricki (SRB) Lugano (SUI Breidablik (ISL) Nordsiælland (DEN) Ballkani (KOS) Link to comment
Donstar83 Posted August 31, 2023 Share Posted August 31, 2023 Fair difference in the quality of opposition in those lists. Link to comment
jamiesd Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 What a chance that was. Sick as a dog iday. 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 Absolutely fucking gutted. Europa was the promise land and 3/4 progressing was gold to make it 6 cup finals regardless of if we finished bottom. Conference League and only 2 progressing has every chance of becoming a hinderance we are not interested in long before the end - see Hearts last year. FUCK OFF 1 Link to comment
Ramandu Posted September 1, 2023 Author Share Posted September 1, 2023 16 minutes ago, Tord31 said: Absolutely fucking gutted. Europa was the promise land and 3/4 progressing was gold to make it 6 cup finals regardless of if we finished bottom. Conference League and only 2 progressing has every chance of becoming a hinderance we are not interested in long before the end - see Hearts last year. FUCK OFF Onwards and upwards. I think we've got a real chance of winning a few games here, and a kind draw would put us in with a shout of top two. Some decent trips there too for those who'll be going. Link to comment
Ramandu Posted September 1, 2023 Author Share Posted September 1, 2023 Fwiw, we will be "paired" with rangers, meaning our games don't kick off at the same time. Lots of 6pm KOs incoming? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 12 minutes ago, Ramandu said: Fwiw, we will be "paired" with rangers, meaning our games don't kick off at the same time. Lots of 6pm KOs incoming? It's 5.45 and 8 this season. Sickener if we get two early home games. Hopefully only one or ideally none. 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 23 minutes ago, Ramandu said: Onwards and upwards. I think we've got a real chance of winning a few games here, and a kind draw would put us in with a shout of top two. Some decent trips there too for those who'll be going. I dont think we can win a FEW games but we'll certainly give all teams a game at pittodrie as we saw last night and previous years Link to comment
Rubin Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 hope we are privileged to see the return of Sadiq to pittodrie the lad is world class on that form 1 Link to comment
GAME OF BILLIONS Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 1 hour ago, Tord31 said: It's 5.45 and 8 this season. Sickener if we get two early home games. Hopefully only one or ideally none. Hearts first home game last season against Istanbul Besik... Basko... fuck sake... Başakşehir was 17:45 but the other two were 20:00. Away to Fiorentina was 18:45 their time. Aberdeen aren't at Europa League level at present. They were in shit-the-bed mindset last season, then pulled their shit together to finish third, thank Christ. Hacken are a spotty side, they'll get found out in their upcoming six matches. Conference isn't a diddy league, it has some excellent, hard-battling sides, way better than Hacken, if you ask me. Even Pot 3 teams like Genk, Beşiktaş, Legia Warsaw are excellent sides. Legia v Minge Land two-legs was intense as fuck, 3-3 then 1-1, went to pens and Legia held their bottle superbly, crazy as fuck fans. It's Europe, it's not meant to be easy, be a jolly, it's intense as fuck ferocious fitba. Brentford and Fulham aren't in Europe this season, look at them, hard-battling, skilled fuckers, they'd do really well in this Conference League, I reckon. Will Aberdeen? Only if they seriously up their game and play like demons against whatever goblins we get... Link to comment
shelberightmate Posted September 1, 2023 Share Posted September 1, 2023 Chance of Progressing Draw? Ferencvaros Maccabi Tel Aviv/Ludogorets/Bratislava JK Helsinki/Trnava/Ljubljana Baws Deep in Trouble Draw? Lille/Frankfurt Villa/Fiorentina Besiktas/Genk Hopefully no trip to Kazakhstan, or being paired with Zorya (potentially closed door game?) Link to comment