What are you Drinking today

10 minutes ago, maryhilldon said:

By cutting yourself?  That's fucked up.

Maybe or maybe not.

If nobody listens to you because their actions and words are more worthy than your own (in tation to your social standing, respect given to you by others, level of employment, what car you have. house you rent or own, family, etc.), sometimes you need to relieve the fury inside your body.

54 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Life min. Slashing my arm doesn't help though, however it relieves a bit of anger.

Got really hacked off this morning (as detailed in my reply to The Buzzard).

Get yourself fit loon. Community sports centre in the Broch. Give them a ring and tell them about yir sight issue, see what they can do for you. Wee jog and a swim every other day. Few reps on the weights machines. Out for a good walk. You’ll be amazed what it can do for yir mental health. 

Cooped up in the hoose, same shit, same folk, same barneys, every single day - drive yi mental.

You need an outlet. Get yirself fit. 

The tyskies will taste better aswell. 

1 minute ago, Simply Red said:

Get yourself fit loon. Community sports centre in the Broch. Give them a ring and tell them about yir sight issue, see what they can do for you. Wee jog and a swim every other day. Few reps on the weights machines. Out for a good walk. You’ll be amazed what it can do for yir mental health. 

Cooped up in the hoose, same shit, same folk, same barneys, every single day - drive yi mental.

You need an outlet. Get yirself fit. 

The tyskies will taste better aswell. 

I would love to get back to weightlifting min as well as doing press-ups and crunches.

Used to be really fit but have been advised to stop doing the weights and anything that puts pressure on my eyes. 

A 7 mile walk (Broch to Memsie, and back) could be just the ticket again though min.👍

5 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

I would love to get back to weightlifting min as well as doing press-ups and crunches.

Used to be really fit but have been advised to stop doing the weights and anything that puts pressure on my eyes. 

A 7 mile walk (Broch to Memsie, and back) could be just the ticket again though min.👍

Do that walk everyday bud. You’ll feel better for it straight away. Get the tunes/podcasts on. 

4 hours ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Spot on min.👍

Simply Red is spot on, break the mundane cycle of your normality, get fresh air, hard as it is, try not letting the small stuff get to you, try and be grateful for the things you have, do not covet what other people have(that just drives you mad) like me getting jealous of every other man’s height, fuck it, nothing I can do but if it lets you that shit can really eat you up, social activities like the gym, just don’t bench press mass weights/do to your ability/don’t need to be like rocky, but still gets you out, self worth is the key, shake all the shite to fuck and breath, take it day by day, if you had the space to find a secluded place to just scream, that would save hurting yourself, try and stop that, your better than that, some of your views on things I find ridiculous but that’s life, differing opinions, your a good man mad. Your opinions regardless on here are considered and not just brushed aside, your opinions matter ON HERE, anyway, my tuppence worth, Have a good tomorrow bud 👍.

6 hours ago, Dons79 said:

Simply Red is spot on, break the mundane cycle of your normality, get fresh air, hard as it is, try not letting the small stuff get to you, try and be grateful for the things you have, do not covet what other people have(that just drives you mad) like me getting jealous of every other man’s height, fuck it, nothing I can do but if it lets you that shit can really eat you up, social activities like the gym, just don’t bench press mass weights/do to your ability/don’t need to be like rocky, but still gets you out, self worth is the key, shake all the shite to fuck and breath, take it day by day, if you had the space to find a secluded place to just scream, that would save hurting yourself, try and stop that, your better than that, some of your views on things I find ridiculous but that’s life, differing opinions, your a good man mad. Your opinions regardless on here are considered and not just brushed aside, your opinions matter ON HERE, anyway, my tuppence worth, Have a good tomorrow bud 👍.

Thanks very much min. 👍

You're right in that I shouldn't feel inferior to others as there is fuck all I can do about them having partners, jobs, money, nice houses, and kids. It is easier said than done mind.

I'm very grateful for what I have in life as there as far worse off people out there than myself whether it be through life choices or bad luck, or a combo of both.

I used to do a lot of walking but now that I use a symbol case if walking a fair distance, I feel, at times, very inhibited and forever subject to questions getting asked smugly like "Do you really need it?" ("No, it's just for show."). It's like you are a pariah for having such a condition like mine due to its intangible nature. There are a lot of geniuses out there who think they know you better than you know yourself.

The folk I used to socialise with never helped matters at all as I was subject to a lot of shite, ignorance, abuse, and ridicule. However, I know longer go out to socialise in bars in Fraserburgh anymore for those very reasons.

The hardest part is getting people to listen to me and afford me some respect, just like I do with them. I can't force people to listen to me but when I see them engage in conversation with others with the minimum of fuss, I forever ask myself why that is when I am perennially ignored, not listened to, interrupted, and spoken over the top of.

People who cry wolf and moan and do fuck all about their predicament are the ones who are listened to most and gain sympathy and empathy, although in a lot of cases, they have primarily caused their predicament. If you can do things for yourself, you are thought less of and do not receive help.

I try my damnedest to improve my life and help others but getting barriers needlessly put in your way and not being appreciated for what you have done for others, takes its toll. A simple "thank you" goes a helluva long way.in my book.

As you quite rightly alluded to min, going for walks and the gym are fantastic for de-stressing and making you feel better physically and emotionally.

You're a good loon, Dons79. I really appreciate your words.👍

• Like 2
20 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Thanks very much min. 👍

You're right in that I shouldn't feel inferior to others as there is fuck all I can do about them having partners, jobs, money, nice houses, and kids. It is easier said than done mind.

You could murder them. That'd teach them.

26 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

People who cry wolf and moan and do fuck all about their predicament are the ones who are listened to most and gain sympathy and empathy,

MAD, can tell your post is from your heart and sounds like your in a dark place. As others have said, get yourself out and about, fight the urge to do fuck all and stay in which will only make things worse.

Have you checked out the RNIB for help with getting out and about walking?

https://www.rnib.org.uk/nations/scotland/rnib-scotland-social-and-leisure-groups/

As for your comments above, got to disagree as I find those who fit the criteria you have outlined tend to find the sympathy and empathy from others who are, unfortunately, exactly like them. To everyone else they are simply moaning faced bastards!

13 minutes ago, For Fecks Sake said:

MAD, can tell your post is from your heart and sounds like your in a dark place. As others have said, get yourself out and about, fight the urge to do fuck all and stay in which will only make things worse.

Have you checked out the RNIB for help with getting out and about walking?

https://www.rnib.org.uk/nations/scotland/rnib-scotland-social-and-leisure-groups/

As for your comments above, got to disagree as I find those who fit the criteria you have outlined tend to find the sympathy and empathy from others who are, unfortunately, exactly like them. To everyone else they are simply moaning faced bastards!

😄.

Aye, I am registered with the RNIB and have been for 4 1/2 years.

Unfortunately, their social and leisure groups, which would be ideal for me for getting to know like-minded people and learn from their experiences, don't meet up in the NE of Scotland I'm afraid. Off the top of my head, the nearest group convenes in Montrose and the other groups are located in other parts of Scotland, bar Grampian. Otherwise, it is speaking to others remotely on the telephone, of which I've done several times over the last few years but badly now need face-to-face interaction instead. (Thank you very much though for providing the link though, FFS min.👍)

I have contacted several other similar organisations for help (NESS, Sight Scotland, Retina UK, Macular Society) but either get no response, left in limbo, or the organisation's target market is central Scotland (Sight Scotland) or England (Retina UK). 

Other organisations that I have contacted either provide promises of help then withdraw their help, or simply cannot help me. Even the nurse I was interviewed by at Cornhill Hospital in 2021 referred me to Turning Point Scotland (an organisation set up to help poppers, snorters, skeggers, and alkies) as she assumed the cause of my issues was beer, whilst completely ignoring my sight issues and the adverse social impact this has had on me. Beer consumption is a symptom, and certainly not the main cause of my predicament.

It's certainly nae a case of me doing fuck all and therein lies one of the major issues. If you aren’t listened to, what more can you do?

I fucking hate the predicament I find myself in as before I was a very proactive, active, and independent person.

7 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

😄.

It's crossed my mind before but the price of a shooter is way above my budget min.👍

Take it easy MAD, as other have said try and get out and about, even if its just a wander down to the sports centre, jump on the treadmill there and get the endorphins going, will release a load of tension, then wander round for a coffee in their cafe and back home - via the bookies (if your not barred) - get yourself out and about as opposed to cooped up festering in the house all day

1 minute ago, sigh said:

Take it easy MAD, as other have said try and get out and about, even if its just a wander down to the sports centre, jump on the treadmill there and get the endorphins going, will release a load of tension, then wander round for a coffee in their cafe and back home - via the bookies (if your not barred) - get yourself out and about as opposed to cooped up festering in the house all day

Cheers, Sigh min. 👍

I badly need to get back out there again instead of, as you quite rightly say, being cooped up indoors like a battery hen and try to put my doubts and inhibitions aside.

16 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Unfortunately, their social and leisure groups, which would be ideal for me for getting to know like-minded people and learn from their experiences, don't meet up in the NE of Scotland I'm afraid. Off the top of my head, the nearest group convenes in Montrose and the other groups are located in other parts of Scotland, bar Grampian. Otherwise, it is speaking to others remotely on the telephone, of which I've done several times over the last few years but badly now need face-to-face interaction instead. (Thank you very much though for providing the link though, FFS min.👍)

What about this lot?

https://www.nesensoryservices.org/

Must a good few hundred people who have similar/identical condition as you (aye the blind part, nae the crabbit bastard bit!) in the North East?

1 minute ago, For Fecks Sake said:

What about this lot?

https://www.nesensoryservices.org/

Must a good few hundred people who have similar/identical condition as you (aye the blind part, nae the crabbit bastard bit!) in the North East?

I have been in contact with the NESS on several occasions by telephone to their John Street, Aberdeen premises but either nobody answers or, when I leave a message, bother to ca me back.

The Eye Clinic Liaison Officer at ARI has also been in touch with them on my behalf, but again she has got nowhere.

You would think there would be a requirement for such an organisation considering the population of Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire combined but they are incredibly hard to get anywhere with.

(The Macular Society, who I've also contacted and actually had an appointment with, which their regional manager failed to keep) are also based at their premises but only meet up once every 3 weeks for a couple of hours at a time). 

Have you noticed your other senses improving as your eyesight has deteriorated, MAD? 

do you have a nose like a beagle now? Or is that an old wifeys tale? 

self harm is never the answer (unless you’re a hun). Sounds like a post Munich come down is hitting hard. 

what’s keeping you up in the NE? Could you move to an area with more services? 

5 hours ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Cheers, Sigh min. 👍

I badly need to get back out there again instead of, as you quite rightly say, being cooped up indoors like a battery hen and try to put my doubts and inhibitions aside.

At a boy, you get out there, hope you get over these demons.

• Thanks 2