Was reading the EE earlier on and an article about Champion Street came up.

Was a great summer tourney. Teams from across Aberdeen playing. 

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/scottish/6508441/gallery-pictures-from-champion-street-aberdeen-summer-kids-football-tournament/

For those on the forum that played, what's your fondest memory?

I never won, but remember scoring a goal top corner. I played RB and took a throw, teammate played it back and I leathered it on the volley straight over the keeper into the net. Think we were soundly beaten that day though 😂

48 minutes ago, King Street Loon said:

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/scottish/6508441/gallery-pictures-from-champion-street-aberdeen-summer-kids-football-tournament/

I never won, but remember scoring a goal top corner. I played RB and took a throw, teammate played it back and I leathered it on the volley straight over the keeper into the net. Think we were soundly beaten that day though 😂

One year we'd a lad from Portknockie on the team. Was red carded for violently assaulting one of the other team's players, and while he was being red-carded he tried to assault the ref inna.  We were threatened with ejaculation from the tournament, but we ended up getting knocked out right after, so it was a moot point. 

I think that same year some tit in the next dressing room kept poking his heid over the partition to tell us that we had an overage player on the team, which was in fact 100% true, and that he was reporting us and getting us ejaculated from the tournament. On his third of fourth 'pop-up' he was met with a punch to the face for his trouble, and gales of laughter from his own team mates. 

No-one likes a tattle tale. 

9 hours ago, Ke1t said:

One year we'd a lad from Portknockie on the team. Was red carded for violently assaulting one of the other team's players, and while he was being red-carded he tried to assault the ref inna.  We were threatened with ejaculation from the tournament, but we ended up getting knocked out right after, so it was a moot point. 

I think that same year some tit in the next dressing room kept poking his heid over the partition to tell us that we had an overage player on the team, which was in fact 100% true, and that he was reporting us and getting us ejaculated from the tournament. On his third of fourth 'pop-up' he was met with a punch to the face for his trouble, and gales of laughter from his own team mates. 

I've a pretty good idea who that would have been.

@Reed or deed about a year or two older than you I believe. Should narrow it down.  😀

15 hours ago, Ke1t said:

I'm sure as young lads in your formative years you'd have loved that??

1 hour ago, The Boofon said:

Didn't mean it was you you chocolate. Meant you'd likely know who it was. One of two Scott's I'd say.

I know you didn’t think it was me. 
Was just trying to say i didn’t get involved in stuff like that 😄

I was thinking Mikey Sh**ey.

Canna really think of anybody else

25 minutes ago, Reed or deed said:

I know you didn’t think it was me. 
Was just trying to say i didn’t get involved in stuff like that 😄

I was thinking Mikey Sh**ey.

Canna really think of anybody else

Oh aye could be. Scotty Beef or Scotty Walker my guess.

17 minutes ago, The Boofon said:

Oh aye could be. Scotty Beef or Scotty Walker my guess.

Mind gan to the bishops wi scotty walker bitd.

He was so desperate to get there that despite a rear wheel puncture at Mosstodloch and the tyre bein totally flat he kept gan.

Just a trail of sparks fae there to the bish. He was on aboot 3 wraps of pooder 😂

Hopetoun harriers, I'm willing to be corrected but don't think anyone got more accolades than me, 2 quarter finals and a semi. Big one alluded us, knocked out the favourites Kincorth, went to our heads, beat in the semi by Summerhill who we'd hammered in the league.

Helped my old man was the manager, first name on the team sheet.

10 hours ago, Reed or deed said:

Mind gan to the bishops wi scotty walker bitd.

He was so desperate to get there that despite a rear wheel puncture at Mosstodloch and the tyre bein totally flat he kept gan.

Just a trail of sparks fae there to the bish. He was on aboot 3 wraps of pooder 😂

Could anyone familiar with teuchter talk translate this one for me, I'm ok with the talk till it goes past Inverurie, i'm lost then.

On 6/20/2024 at 7:58 PM, King Street Loon said:

Tillydrone babes and then Tillydrone strollers - (think it was 77/78 till 80/81?) never got far in any of the tournaments but enjoyed it over the 3/4 years i was involved - coach was Jim Strachan - one of the good guys.

I was a marauding right back in the Danny McGrain mould and sometimes Ramadami type player in midfield when required. 

Was heavily involved with the Aberdeen International Football festival (all teams and players stayed  in our accommodation) - was also a great tournament but 9/11 sort of killed it followed by council ,cuts etc...

13 hours ago, alscotoz said:

Got to the final twice. Think team names were Victoria United and Netherview Spurs. Dyce team. Lost the first game in 1978 but i remember scoring 9 in one of the qualifying games that year, won maybe 27-0. Won the second game in 1979, I was captain and scored the sealer in a 2-0 win at Pittodrie from outside the box at the beach end (can't remember last week but that memory is vivid). Happy days.

EDIT: is it possible to see the article somehow, it's behind a paywall

You on iPhone? 

Hit the “Aa” in the address bar and then “Show Reader”. 

4 hours ago, alscotoz said:

Got to see article. Must have been beaten by young Covenanters in 1978, definitely beat 5 nil, I remember that. Too big, too good.

Kincorth always threw big players at it, probably 14 year old ringers. Knocked them out in the quarters once, kicked off big time after. Guy called Paul Munro punched my old man, only 6 ft player I ever saw at that level. My first taste of football violence.

21 hours ago, daytripping said:

Kincorth always threw big players at it, probably 14 year old ringers. Knocked them out in the quarters once, kicked off big time after. Guy called Paul Munro punched my old man, only 6 ft player I ever saw at that level. My first taste of football violence.

What happened next?

Did you call your grandad, who came down in his cammo gear, armed to the teeth?

On 6/21/2024 at 1:58 AM, King Street Loon said:

Great tournament. Grew up watching Dennis Wyness bang them in for Newburgh United at Hazlehead so always wanted to win it. Unfortunately only got as far as the semi's, got beat 3-2 by Provost Watt Pumas (i think) in ET but had the chance to win it in the last minute when some twat shot into the side netting from the byline instead of cutting it back for me. Never forgave him, still haven't. Big crowd at Balgownie for it. Sounds like it went to shit when they moved it down to Aultons and changed to 7 a sides on smaller pitches?

On 7/7/2024 at 8:15 AM, Reed or deed said:

What happened next?

Did you call your grandad, who came down in his cammo gear, armed to the teeth?

No. I turned back and went to the scene, checked my dad was ok then punched fuck out of the cunt.

On 7/8/2024 at 4:42 AM, Quagmire said:

Great tournament. Grew up watching Dennis Wyness bang them in for Newburgh United at Hazlehead so always wanted to win it. Unfortunately only got as far as the semi's, got beat 3-2 by Provost Watt Pumas (i think) in ET but had the chance to win it in the last minute when some twat shot into the side netting from the byline instead of cutting it back for me. Never forgave him, still haven't. Big crowd at Balgownie for it. Sounds like it went to shit when they moved it down to Aultons and changed to 7 a sides on smaller pitches?

Champion street never went 7 a side. Was always 11s. I had a year at balgownie then aulton. Got to the final that year at Allan Park, beat with a late goal vs provost rust pumas, with a young @ebbe in goal. 

Who didn't square it?