Steve Clarke's future

A lot of the Tartan Army are saying it's time for a new approach. Although the consensus is he did a great job qualifying for both Euros, we've been very poor overall in both and, most crucially, bottled it in the big games where we SHOULD have had a genuine chance of winning (Czech Republic at home, Hungary) or at least a draw (Croatia at home). He's done a fine job overall, but has got so many big calls - and team selection in general - very wrong, so is it time for a change, or is Duncan Shearer right?

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/scottish/6512309/duncan-shearer-why-steve-clarke-must-stay-as-scotland-manager/?utm_content=188199411&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&hss_channel=fbp-153054651388736

As for who else we could get, I'm not convinced ET Moyes will want the job, at least not for more than a couple of years. Please don't say McInni, FFS!

3 minutes ago, sooth_stander said:

I think Moyes would jump at the job

He has a better CV than Clarke will ever have, but is a real pragmatist as well.

Think Clarke has done as well as he can do with Scotland & peaked last September with the 5th consecutive group win.

1 win in 13(?) speaks for itself. 

Time to go, but the SFA will absolutely not sack him IMO. 

Scotland will probably never get a better chance to get out a group in a tournament than that and the manager shat the bed instead of doing the obvious thing which was to be brave and have a go at winning it from the first minute. We weren't playing Germany again, it was a mediocre Hungary team with a Barnsley player in their line-up. 

If we got beat having had a good go, no one would be giving a fuck. We didnt lay a glove on them. We didnt have any sort of a go at them. Subs at 76mins to win a game? Bizarre.

Get him to fuck. 

• Upvote 7
Just now, WesthillWanderersFC said:

He has a better CV than Clarke will ever have, but is a real pragmatist as well.

Think Clarke has done as well as he can do with Scotland & 1 win in 13(?) speaks for itself. 

Time to go, but the SFA will absolutely not sack him IMO. 

He has no plan B, he doesn't even fully utilise the players at his disposal. Unless he himself is capable of changing, Clarke's ran his race as Scotland boss.

But as you say, there's no way he'll be sacked. Even if he was, i wouldn't trust the SFA to appoint someone capable of progressing us. They'd opt for the cheap (ideally unemployed), jobs for the boys option.

2 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said:

He won't be sacked and he won't resign. And he won't change the way he wants Scotland to play.

So we'll be stuck with him and his schoolboy tactics until we get our arses ridden in the Nations League. 

Which ironically will have us 2 chances to qualify again seeing as the other pot A teams in our group will probably automatically qualify through normal means. Leaves us to qualify whatever means, and to be ridden again like a Blackpool donkey that’s been starved for weeks embarrassing ourselves at a major tournament again, cannae wait.

4 minutes ago, Dons79 said:

Which ironically will have us 2 chances to qualify again seeing as the other pot A teams in our group will probably automatically qualify through normal means. Leaves us to qualify whatever means, and to be ridden again like a Blackpool donkey that’s been starved for weeks embarrassing ourselves at a major tournament again, cannae wait.

Not according to Wiki...

2026 FIFA World Cup qualification[edit]

The 2024–25 Nations League will be partially linked with European qualification for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, with the format confirmed by the UEFA Executive Committee during their meeting in Nyon, Switzerland, on 28 June 2023.[7] The twelve group winners after the first round (group stage) will qualify directly for the World Cup. Then, the second round (play-offs) will be contested by the twelve group runners-up, along with the best four Nations League group winners, based on the Nations League overall ranking, that finished outside the top two of their qualifying group. The play-offs will be split into four play-off paths, played in two single-match knockout rounds (semi-finals and finals, with the home teams to be drawn), from which an additional four teams will also qualify

So we would have to be a nations league group winner to even get a pop at a play-off game. Not gonna happen. 

36 minutes ago, Jocky Balboa said:

A lot of the Tartan Army are saying it's time for a new approach. Although the consensus is he did a great job qualifying for both Euros, we've been very poor overall in both and, most crucially, bottled it in the big games where we SHOULD have had a genuine chance of winning (Czech Republic at home, Hungary) or at least a draw (Croatia at home). He's done a fine job overall, but has got so many big calls - and team selection in general - very wrong, so is it time for a change, or is Duncan Shearer right?

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/scottish/6512309/duncan-shearer-why-steve-clarke-must-stay-as-scotland-manager/?utm_content=188199411&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&hss_channel=fbp-153054651388736

As for who else we could get, I'm not convinced ET Moyes will want the job, at least not for more than a couple of years. Please don't say McInni, FFS!

Actually think the worst result was Ukraine in 2022. Completely bottled the occasion. 

think we’d have been in great form around the time of the World Cup. I’m sure we’d have beaten the USA and Iran too - if he set us up to

19 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

Scotland will probably never get a better chance to get out a group in a tournament than that

Aye. Beat Hungary and you are through. 

although beat Czech rep at hampden and you are through was some chance as well 

5 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said:

Not according to Wiki...

2026 FIFA World Cup qualification[edit]

The 2024–25 Nations League will be partially linked with European qualification for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, with the format confirmed by the UEFA Executive Committee during their meeting in Nyon, Switzerland, on 28 June 2023.[7] The twelve group winners after the first round (group stage) will qualify directly for the World Cup. Then, the second round (play-offs) will be contested by the twelve group runners-up, along with the best four Nations League group winners, based on the Nations League overall ranking, that finished outside the top two of their qualifying group. The play-offs will be split into four play-off paths, played in two single-match knockout rounds (semi-finals and finals, with the home teams to be drawn), from which an additional four teams will also qualify

So we would have to be a nations league group winner to even get a pop at a play-off game. Not gonna happen. 

Jesus!!!, what’s the point of wasting our time getting the energy drained from them by playing horrific teams for nothing, modern day football is shite.

Clarke said in an interview a couple days before the Germany game that he wanted the players to just relax and enjoy themselves. The hard work in the qualifiers was done and this was the reward. I thought those were great words and was looking forward to seeing a relaxed team enjoying their reward.
The 5-1 (going on 10-0) clearly knocked that out them. But were was that sentiment for the Hungary game? Nothing to lose, give it yir all, show the fans what you can do. Nah just keep it safe at the back for 90mins and hopefully we get a miraculous pen or something. GTF

9 minutes ago, Durrant Dived said:

He needs to ditch his favourites if he stays.

Hanley, Cooper, Ralston, Jack never to be seen again. 

Mcgregor demoted to the bench to allow ferguson/Gilmour to start.

Felt he was selected as a wee reward. You can't be doing that shit.

Whatever happens something needs to change. We failed. Repeat the same mistakes and expect a different result is madness.

So, either Clarke needs to go or he stays and has an overhaul of formation, tactics and team selection. There was so much obviously wrong in all 3 of those areas that I'm certain Barry Robson could've done a better job.

He needs to be dragged over hot coals by his employers for his monumental fuck ups in the best chance we've ever had to get out the groups.

And his press conferences did him no favours. Came across as a right fucking dick 

2 hours ago, Dons79 said:

Leaves us to qualify whatever means, and to be ridden again like a Blackpool donkey that’s been starved for weeks embarrassing ourselves at a major tournament again, cannae wait.

I'd rather qualify every time and go out in the groups, than not be involved at all. Fuck it, it's only fitba.

3 hours ago, Durrant Dived said:

He needs to ditch his favourites if he stays.

Hanley, Cooper, Ralston, Jack never to be seen again. 

Mcgregor demoted to the bench to allow ferguson/Gilmour to start.

Hanley was probably our best player for the tournament

3 hours ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Actually think the worst result was Ukraine in 2022. Completely bottled the occasion. 

think we’d have been in great form around the time of the World Cup. I’m sure we’d have beaten the USA and Iran too - if he set us up to

Aye. Beat Hungary and you are through. 

although beat Czech rep at hampden and you are through was some chance as well 

I forgot to include the Ukraine result. The excuse was the Ukrainians were highly motivated and that saw them through... But when you consider they proceeded to lose the play-off final against the mighty Wales...

He's done a fine job overall, but has got so many big calls wrong as well. Sitting back against Germany, as opposed to getting wired into them, was suicide. Switzerland I can accept was a good effort which could have gone either way, but to set up so timidly against a very ordinary Hungarian side is unforgivable.

As for team selection, why the hell is Lewis Ferguson - who has literally been on fire in Serie A - not a first pick, especially when you consider some of the dross he did pick? Absolutely bizarre.

he doesnt have the squad to cope if we have some injuries, and neither would anyone else. and qualifying isnt as good as it used to be....its never been easier. the truth is our players arent good enough and Hungary were there for the taking - Hungary needed multiple goals and had no urgency. 

it all needs to be torn down and started again otherwise its just all bollocks 

41 minutes ago, redcryptoknight said:

Slovenia, a nation of 2 million, just got through their group. 

By that metric, China or India should be winning every World Cup. Croatia has the same population as Scotland, and they've been one of the best teams in the world for years, New Zealand have traditionally been the team to beat at rugby, and they have a fraction of the population of the other big rugby nations. Strange things happen in sport, we shouldn't beat ourselves up too much.

The thing that beggars belief was his tactic of keeping  it tight for 80 muns then going  for it '

So it's effectively  just 10 mins of attack when we don't have strikers who can score in 90 mins.

Unless he radically  changes tactics and personell  then he can have himself  to fuck