Thread o Gardening

I've just made a bit of space in my garden, and am thinking of planting a few wee apple trees up against a wall. Anybody got a favourite variety to recommend?

When I buy them, I might get a few extra to plant on some scrub land outside the house. Doing my bit to make the world a more fruitful place. 

Any hatters got green fingers?

2 minutes ago, Ramandu said:

I've just made a bit of space in my garden, and am thinking of planting a few wee apple trees up against a wall. Anybody got a favourite variety to recommend?

When I buy them, I might get a few extra to plant on some scrub land outside the house. Doing my bit to make the world a more fruitful place. 

Only from fingering Grotbags (How is your mum? Etc) 

• Haha 3

Strongly recommend growing a few nice marijuana plants if you have a wee stretch of private garden away from prying eyes. My own harvest got fucked early on, so I had to replant a few emergency Marys and three of the four are looking like they might be quite productive.  Can recommend White Bufallo (if you can find it), and Green Crack if you want to focus and get shit done. 

As for apple trees, I recently got interested in Black Diamond, an apple tree that produces black apples and grows in the mountains of Tibet. Unfortunately they are a cunt to grow outside their native area (not my words, Ramadu, the words of the Dalai Lama). Instead I got an Arkansas Black Apple tree, and a Fuji for pollination. Close enough. 

Also recently planted some American Chestnut trees, so if you want to do something in terms of reviving an entire species then find a couple of American Chestunt trees to stick in the ground. It's quite an extraordinary story if you are interested in things of an arborous nature. 

Lastly, and this is on my bucket list to acquire and I will hug them and squeeze them and name them George... Moon Trees, Ramalama... fucking Moon Trees.  I want a Redwood, but will settle for a Sycamore if I have to. 

1 hour ago, Ramandu said:

Watch for planting trees in summer season, the grun will be ower dry. Best time is late autumn into early spring. If you Ken a fermer, get some muck in the hole before submerging the rootball. 

44 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

Strongly recommend growing a few nice marijuana plants if you have a wee stretch of private garden away from prying eyes. My own harvest got fucked early on, so I had to replant a few emergency Marys and three of the four are looking like they might be quite productive.  Can recommend White Bufallo (if you can find it), and Green Crack if you want to focus and get shit done. 

As for apple trees, I recently got interested in Black Diamond, an apple tree that produces black apples and grows in the mountains of Tibet. Unfortunately they are a cunt to grow outside their native area (not my words, Ramadu, the words of the Dalai Lama). Instead I got an Arkansas Black Apple tree, and a Fuji for pollination. Close enough. 

Also recently planted some American Chestnut trees, so if you want to do something in terms of reviving an entire species then find a couple of American Chestunt trees to stick in the ground. It's quite an extraordinary story if you are interested in things of an arborous nature. 

Lastly, and this is on my bucket list to acquire and I will hug them and squeeze them and name them George... Moon Trees, Ramalama... fucking Moon Trees.  I want a Redwood, but will settle for a Sycamore if I have to. 

Had to Google "moon trees", and what a stupid gimmick. I want one though.

I've got a seed tray out with sequoia seeds (from the house of dun), but no germination so far. If I get one going I'll plant it in a secure and inconvenient place.

4 minutes ago, Red Clive 1995 said:

Watch for planting trees in summer season, the grun will be ower dry. Best time is late autumn into early spring. If you Ken a fermer, get some muck in the hole before submerging the rootball. 

Definitely not planting anything in summer Clive, just planning ahead for early spring. Can get my overpriced muck from b&q or Dobbies - no fermers required.

The street I built my house on used to be an orchard so apple trees in pretty much every garden. Seem pretty bullet proof once established.

We planted a couple cherry trees (morello) which are pretty good but for cooking nae eating off the tree. Discovery is a good apple tree for up this way my dad planted them a few years ago. 

Dig a good sized hole and you won't go far wrong.