RUL Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 Same here, thought Millwall were dreadful last night. Leeds weren't great last night but deserved to win in my opinionDid they miss a penalty as well? Link to comment
redtildead88 Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 Did they miss a penalty as well? Aye, Beckford missed - terrible pen he never looked confident before he took it. They scored soon after. Link to comment
SteveW Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 Absolute, unadulterated pish! We wouldn't have been promoted out of League One this year, that's for sure. Leicester and Peterborough are better sides than us. As are MK Dons, Millwall and Leeds. Dunno if we'd struggle but we wouldn't be challenging. Link to comment
minijc Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 Beckford is a cracking player, I may go down to a game next season at Leeds, heard soo many good things about their ground and fans and especially the atmosphere. Also heard that beckford is a very polite player, when up against Whitbread in the first leg he kept saying "well played mate, great tackle" and "unlucky" if he got the better oif him or the other way around. Another thing, imagine had the finals still been in Cardiff and both millwall and Leeds got to the final, now that would have been fun. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 TBF Millwall have hardly looked like Championship material any time I've seen them in the last few seasons. Zac Whitbred ad David Fforde were the only reason you didn't get an absolute doing at our place just after we had gone something like 12 games without a win, and you only got a draw because of 95th minute equaliser with two handballs and a blatant foul on the keeper. Scunny for me now, as long as Hooper is fit. Should add that I wouldn't be surprised to see Leeds "do a Leicester" next season, with Grayson in from the start. They won't do a Leicester because we managed to come back up at the first attempt, something Leeds failed miserably to do. Leicester absolutely hosed League One without really breaking sweat and have a good chance of successive promotions. I doubt Leeds would hose it but they have a better chance of automatic promotion with Grayson at the healm. Link to comment
minijc Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 They won't do a Leicester because we managed to come back up at the first attempt, something Leeds failed miserably to do. Leicester absolutely hosed League One without really breaking sweat and have a good chance of successive promotions. I doubt Leeds would hose it but they have a better chance of automatic promotion with Grayson at the healm.Did Leicester have a huge points deduction? leeds never failed miserably to get up at the first attempt, they almost did it but had to settle for play offs, were really unlucky. Link to comment
Guest the shepherd Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 Watched the game from start to finish last night and whilst it was a decent game to watch played by players 100% committed only a couple of them on show were real stand-outs and would make the grade at a higher level, the boy Martin from Millwall and Robert Snodgrass of Leeds Utd. Did Jimmy Calderwood take in the game last night? Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted May 15, 2009 Share Posted May 15, 2009 Did Leicester have a huge points deduction? leeds never failed miserably to get up at the first attempt, they almost did it but had to settle for play offs, were really unlucky. I forgot about that, but they still failed miserably overall as you would of expected them to win in the play offs. This season as well. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 LOL did you even read what I said? I said the league, as in the organisers, would prefer Leeds due to their huge support so that they get a big crowd at the final. London Scottish, fairly safe to assume Millwall won't take anywhere near the amount Leeds will, see what happens though, could be wrong. Millwall have just sold out their allocation of 44,000 tickets as of 4pm today. Can't see how Leeds would have sold more than that. Link to comment
archiemacdougal Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 Scary to see the amount of top players Leeds had in 2001 that have never been the same again: Bridges, Harte, Bowyer, McPhail, Kewell, Bakke, and to an extent Viduka. Link to comment
minijc Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 The Leeds team that got relegated from the Prem was a team that should have been up in the top 6 of the league, one of the best squads to relegated i'd say. Link to comment
Jaws Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 Astonishing they got relegated with the calibre of players they had. Smith and Viduka formed a great partnership the season they got to the Champions League Semis. Smith's another that's never been the same since although how much of that is down to the bad injury he got at Man U i don't know. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 The Leeds team that got relegated from the Prem was a team that should have been up in the top 6 of the league, one of the best squads to relegated i'd say. A group of relatively talented individuals is of little use unless they're moulded into a team, and have a top class manager to pull the strings. Link to comment
rgudon Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 Millwall have just sold out their allocation of 44,000 tickets as of 4pm today. Can't see how Leeds would have sold more than that. but will they put on as good a display as leeds would have, thats the most important thing! f**k the fitba on the park, fits millwals display gonna be like? Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 but will they put on as good a display as leeds would have, thats the most important thing! f**k the fitba on the park, fits millwals display gonna be like? I'm sure Scunny will get a good and pwoppah doing..... Link to comment
minijc Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 I'm sure Scunny will get a good and pwoppah doing.....Off topic, do you actually know any twat that says words like that and in general speaks liek that? Link to comment
E-P-K Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 Off topic, do you actually know any twat that says words like that and in general speaks liek that? There is a lad who drinks in my local who was brought up on the Old Kent Road in S/E London and he sounds like that and a whole lot worse. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 Off topic, do you actually know any twat that says words like that and in general speaks liek that? I don't hear anyone from down here that says "fit like", "fit ye dein", " foos yer doos", etc etc etc. How would Jonathan Ross, for example, say the word "proper"? Link to comment
rgudon Posted May 19, 2009 Share Posted May 19, 2009 Off topic, do you actually know any twat that says words like that and in general speaks liek that? SS_RED? "old bill" and all that. Link to comment
minijc Posted May 24, 2009 Share Posted May 24, 2009 I don't hear anyone from down here that says "fit like", "fit ye dein", " foos yer doos", etc etc etc. How would Jonathan Ross, for example, say the word "proper"?Have fun in league one Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted May 24, 2009 Share Posted May 24, 2009 Have fun in league one Which English team are you going to decide to follow next year? Link to comment
minijc Posted May 24, 2009 Share Posted May 24, 2009 Which English team are you going to decide to follow next year?Not too sure mate, was you there today, what was it like? Link to comment
velcro Posted May 28, 2009 Share Posted May 28, 2009 Leeds are my English team and they've been such a disappointment over the past 3-4 years. I've been to a few high profile games - 3-3 draw with Lazio in Champions league - UEFA Cup semi-final home leg v Galatasaray (never seen so much hate at a game, even Dons v Rangers). I was at their last Premiership home game v Charlton but haven't been back since. Saw them pre-season at Easter Road the season after which was the last time I watched them. I would imagine Leeds MUST gain automatic promotion next season, I don't think the board or fans will expect any less.Might struggle though now that Beckford wants out. Link to comment