Gardening

The Boofon

Planning on growing a fair bit of fruit and veg this year and this weekend will see me begin to turn over the soil to get rid of any soil pest eggs that may be lurking.

Anyone else take an interest or got an allotment and willing to share some tips of best varieties of fruit and veg to grow.

Leeks, beetroot, carrots and ingins are regular favourites. Anyone got any top tips or a veg that's under rated and worth making the effort to grow?

Cheers now.

Planning on growing a fair bit of fruit and veg this year and this weekend will see me begin to turn over the soil to get rid of any soil pest eggs that may be lurking.

Anyone else take an interest or got an allotment and willing to share some tips of best varieties of fruit and veg to grow.

Leeks, beetroot, carrots and ingins are regular favourites. Anyone got any top tips or a veg that's under rated and worth making the effort to grow?

Cheers now.

Not got any tips as I'm a novice but I've always wanted to grow a prize winning marrow.

Herbs are great to grow as well as they will literally last forever and save you a fortune from Sainsbury's.

Cheers now.

Radish, Black-currants and cucumbers are my faves (nae sure of the varieties though). I get good success with these.

Also if you got room you should try a pumpkin or 2, I grow a few of them for Halloween and the kids love em they also make magic soup or a scary mask latern.

I use chicken manure on my soil it seems to boost fruit size for some reason, and with 5 lovely ladies pecking round my house its free. they also keep slugs n snails at bay

Grow your own you know its the future

Jesus i sound like a bloody hippy

:hysterical:

Agree with Tup. Why grow them. They might be sh*te.

Give me mass produced veggies any day of the week.

Grow them because I've a big f**king garden and I have vegetable plots in my big f**king garden and so it makes perfect sense.