Major League Baseball

Spring in North America brings the start of the new baseball season.... the 31st of March to be exact!

I've been a fan since attending a few Red Sox matches while in Boston a couple of years ago!

Should be an interesting season... Will be tough for the Giants to defend to defend their crown this season, as the Phillies are strong favourites for the National League. While over in the American League the Boston Red Sox go in as favourites, over the ageing Yankees.

Really hoping the Red Sox can do it this year - they upgraded massively with the addition of Carl Crawford and Adrian Gonzales, two absolutely stellar signings, and if everyone can stay fit they'll now have the big bats to go with the best pitching rotation in baseball. On that front, I'm expecting better from Lackey this year and hopefully Beckett can pull himself out of his slump. If those guys can step up the Sox are going to be tough to beat. The only weaknesses I can see are at catcher and relief pitching. The AL East has been ridiculously tough in recent years, with the Rays also incredibly strong, but they've lost a few players, notably Crawford and will struggle to make the post-season this year I reckon.

• Replies 75

Had my fantasy team in for a few weeks. Ended going with Sabithia for my starting pitcher. Still got a week of trading left so looking for outfielders now.

Boston have a good chance but my early tip is the White Sox,they've made some cracking additions.

Braves are my team. Let's go Atlanta.

Yankee fan here.

Despite many thinking i'm a glory hunter the first match i seen on TV was the Yankees with the Moose Mike Mussina on the mound.

Looking forward to it starting again, although like SOTR mentioned the yankees are ageing. Last seasons injured player Chris Carpenter (Cardinals) and Beckett (Bosox) i reckon will produce the goods this season.

I would rule out Tampa or the Giants doing anything this season. The Reds are my dark horses (i predicted correct last season when the Giants were 25/1!!) not checked out prices yet but they should be decent priced.

Sadly fear the Red Sox will produce the goods :(

Spring in North America brings the start of the new baseball season.... the 31st of March to be exact!

I've been a fan since attending a few Red Sox matches while in Boston a couple of years ago!

Should be an interesting season... Will be tough for the Giants to defend to defend their crown this season, as the Phillies are strong favourites for the National League. While over in the American League the Boston Red Sox go in as favourites, over the ageing Yankees.

Really hoping the Red Sox can do it this year - they upgraded massively with the addition of Carl Crawford and Adrian Gonzales, two absolutely stellar signings, and if everyone can stay fit they'll now have the big bats to go with the best pitching rotation in baseball. On that front, I'm expecting better from Lackey this year and hopefully Beckett can pull himself out of his slump. If those guys can step up the Sox are going to be tough to beat. The only weaknesses I can see are at catcher and relief pitching. The AL East has been ridiculously tough in recent years, with the Rays also incredibly strong, but they've lost a few players, notably Crawford and will struggle to make the post-season this year I reckon.

Any hope for the Blue Jays?

Got back from San Francisco on Saturday. Local taxi driver was moaning about ticket prices going through the roof on the back of the World Series win. He was a bit perplexed when RB2 asked him "Who in the rest oif the world did they beat?"

What's the difference between the American league and National league?

I always liked the Toronto Bluejays although I never pay attention to it.

In the National League the pitcher has to take a bat.... in the American League you may instead field a designated hitter, who has no involvement in the defence...

The winner of the national league players the winner of the American league in the world series. The conference which wins the all-star game takes home advantage for the first game of the world series. When the american league side plays away from home they must put their pitcher in to bat! Vice versa, when the national league plays away from home, they too can field a designated hitter.

Any hope for the Blue Jays?

They are expected to be better this year, but they are in the toughest division in baseball, The American League East. So they're competing against the Yankees and Red sox. Lately Tampa Bay have also been really strong in that division too, but they are expected to drop off too... they lost a couple of their best players in the winter - their best player left to the Red Sox!

I would reckon the Red Sox will win the division, with the Yankees finishing runners-up, with Toronto pushing them hard. Such is the competition in that division, 2nd place in the AL East usually takes the American league playoff wildcard.

Great start by The Rockies. Went to opening day - $100USD for a seat behind the catcher. Expensive for baseball but cool to be there opening day.

5-2.

Less said about the Cubs the better, though 4-4 is probably an improvement for them.

Cubs at Rockies next weekend so I'll get to see my 2 teams play each other.

• 2 months later...

Boston having a great start!

Long may that continue

Sadly for you it hasn't! After a 2-10 start, the Red Sox have just exploded! Absolutely blitzing teams right now as the offense has caught fire! Swept the huns at Yankee stadium too, absolutely mauling Sabathia and Burnett!

39-26 right now and 2 games clear of the huns, with the best record in the American league!

Still a lot of baseball to go though! We aren't even at the halfway mark for the season!

Surprised its took you this long to bring up that sweep! :banghead:

Yankees are crying out for a good starter, their roster (pitching wise) is the weakest i have seen. Not sure why they never went for anyone decent. They will struggle to make the play offs, even if they do, it certainly doesnt look good when you look at rival teams such as The Phillies (who have the best set of pitchers i have seen!) Boston have depth (minus Lackey who's uselessly funny!) even the likes of Tigers and Brewers have more solid pitchers who could win you games!

C.C is the only one that i like, A.J Burnett i have never rated, before he joined the Yankees he wasn't that good against other teams, it was just because he played well against The Yankees that the owners went for him failing to see he was bang average!!

If Phillies dont win it, id be shocked!

Boston v Phillies world series final would be a good watch. (As long as Phillies win!)

Surprised its took you this long to bring up that sweep! :banghead:

Yankees are crying out for a good starter, their roster (pitching wise) is the weakest i have seen. Not sure why they never went for anyone decent. They will struggle to make the play offs, even if they do, it certainly doesnt look good when you look at rival teams such as The Phillies (who have the best set of pitchers i have seen!) Boston have depth (minus Lackey who's uselessly funny!) even the likes of Tigers and Brewers have more solid pitchers who could win you games!

C.C is the only one that i like, A.J Burnett i have never rated, before he joined the Yankees he wasn't that good against other teams, it was just because he played well against The Yankees that the owners went for him failing to see he was bang average!!

If Phillies dont win it, id be shocked!

Boston v Phillies world series final would be a good watch. (As long as Phillies win!)

If Boston can keep Lester, Beckett and Bucholz fit, then they should be able to serve them well in the playoffs. Lackey has been sh*te and Dice-K, who is very hit or miss, will likely be out for the season. Tim Wakefield has done a decent job when he's needed to... and might be needed during any long series in the playoffs.

I think the Yankees will stay make the playoffs... I don't see much competition for the wild card at this point. The Blue Jays haven't been as good as expected and I doubt the Rays will last the pace - they lost too much last year.

I don't really follow the national league too closely, but at this stage the Phillies do look strong. The Giants and Cardinals will also be there or thereabouts you'd imagine.

The American league is far better but i still keep an eye on the National league.

Jimenez (Rockies) and Carpenter (Cards) have got awful records against them this year. Jim is 1-7, despite his ERA not being that high 4.63, Chris is 1-6 with an ERA 4.47.

I wish the Yankees would go for one of these guys, might get them slightly cheaper with their records this term.

What happened to the Twins, really didnt see them having such a poor season!

The American league is far better but i still keep an eye on the National league.

Jimenez (Rockies) and Carpenter (Cards) have got awful records against them this year. Jim is 1-7, despite his ERA not being that high 4.63, Chris is 1-6 with an ERA 4.47.

I wish the Yankees would go for one of these guys, might get them slightly cheaper with their records this term.

What happened to the Twins, really didnt see them having such a poor season!

Twins not doing to badly were on 8 game winning streak until Giants beat them the other night and they fairly paid them back last night with 9-2 drubbing.

Giants are again struggling to score runs with too many players either off form Huff, Ross, Torres or injured Possie (massive loss) Freddie Sanchez, Brandon Bolt and Sandoval for them to build any momentum. Only leagues best pitching roster are keeping us in the race for the division. Hopefully Sandoval's return from injury can help spark the other offensive players to find some form.

Anyone been to Fenway Park?

Trying to get Grandstand tickets but there seems to be only restricted view seats left.

It says that there may be restricted or no view of pitching mound or home plate OR BOTH.

Pretty pointless I'd have thought if you canna see those areas, but they still want full price 55 dollars.

Hows the view from Bleachers at the other side of the pitch, or from far left or right field, anyone know?

Anyone been to Fenway Park?

Trying to get Grandstand tickets but there seems to be only restricted view seats left.

It says that there may be restricted or no view of pitching mound or home plate OR BOTH.

Pretty pointless I'd have thought if you canna see those areas, but they still want full price 55 dollars.

Hows the view from Bleachers at the other side of the pitch, or from far left or right field, anyone know?

I was working over in Boston a few years ago and managed to get to quite a few games. It's a great day out - the atmosphere is brilliant!

I'm pretty surprised that you've even managed to get any tickets. When I was there, about three years ago, they'd sold out every game of the season, before it even started!

If you don't want to take the restricted view seats then you have another couple of options. While I was there, as I said every game was sold out, however, they do keep about 200 or so tickets available for general sale on match day, or the night before.... but you have to be quick! The tickets will go on sale, on their website (http://boston.redsox.mlb.com/ticketing/index.jsp?c_id=bos) the night before the game in question and are generally snapped up very quickly! Alternatively you could take your chances and head down to Fenway an hour or so before the game starts... there will be scalpers on the street openly selling tickets, but you'll likely have to pay a big mark-up on the tickets. Depends who their opponents are.... one of the Yanks I was working with told me his brother had paid about $300 for a ticket when the Yankees were in town!

I've sat in left field and the bleachers... both were fine views. In left field you are closer to the action and I thought the atmosphere was better, but in the bleachers you probably get a better perspective of what's going on across the entire field. Best seats you can get are behind home plate, but these are nigh on impossible to get... and if you did get a shot at them you'd have to pay a small fortune.

I was working over in Boston a few years ago and managed to get to quite a few games. It's a great day out - the atmosphere is brilliant!

I'm pretty surprised that you've even managed to get any tickets. When I was there, about three years ago, they'd sold out every game of the season, before it even started!

If you don't want to take the restricted view seats then you have another couple of options. While I was there, as I said every game was sold out, however, they do keep about 200 or so tickets available for general sale on match day, or the night before.... but you have to be quick! The tickets will go on sale, on their website (http://boston.redsox.mlb.com/ticketing/index.jsp?c_id=bos) the night before the game in question and are generally snapped up very quickly! Alternatively you could take your chances and head down to Fenway an hour or so before the game starts... there will be scalpers on the street openly selling tickets, but you'll likely have to pay a big mark-up on the tickets. Depends who their opponents are.... one of the Yanks I was working with told me his brother had paid about $300 for a ticket when the Yankees were in town!

I've sat in left field and the bleachers... both were fine views. In left field you are closer to the action and I thought the atmosphere was better, but in the bleachers you probably get a better perspective of what's going on across the entire field. Best seats you can get are behind home plate, but these are nigh on impossible to get... and if you did get a shot at them you'd have to pay a small fortune.

I contacted the hotel and they have arranged tickets for me against Blue Jays next week. Unobstructed view tickets in the Infield Grandstand. $100 dollars a pop.

The concierge managed to get tickets through his " broker ", so I expect that'll mean I need to tip the bxgger ana.

I suppose I'm on holiday and it's nae like I'm daein that every night, but tickets for the Theater were cheaper, marginally.

I might even enjoy West Side Story.

We've been to the Sky Dome (? ) in Toronto where funnily enough we also saw Redsox v Blue Jays, Yankee stadium and Turner Field, but the wife still has mare fun wi a' the trappings rather than watching the baseball.

Three oors plus is a bit much for her sporting attention span, so it's maybe just as well there are ither things gan on.

I'm also hoping to get to Minute Maid Park for a Houston Astros match this trip.

Got to Fenway park. Seats were in Right Field, nae that great.

Atmosphere was like a blxxdy carnival rather than a sporting event.

Thon Mexican wave should be outlawed.

A storm was approaching Boston so they rattled through 7 innings in less than 2 hours.

No 7th innings stretch. Straight on with the game. Rain pxshed doon half way through the 8th.

Delayed for aboot an hour, afore they finished the match aff. Match spoiled mare than a wee bit.

Worst of all, when I went for a beer, the lassie asked me for ID.

Ha ha says I, I've got 3 grandkids. No joke though, nae ID nae beer!

Folk next to me werenae drinking beer so I couldna even ask them to get me a beer.

The next night there was a major punch up which delayed the match by mare than half an hour.

Ortiz and the Baltimore pitcher had a wee handbags session. It's all a pantomime.

Watched the all star game at Hooters in TX so didna really care if it were any good or no.

In all honesty how could it be any good. It just isn't competitive, and they are all pally pally.

Got to Fenway park. Seats were in Right Field, nae that great.

Atmosphere was like a blxxdy carnival rather than a sporting event.

Thon Mexican wave should be outlawed.

A storm was approaching Boston so they rattled through 7 innings in less than 2 hours.

No 7th innings stretch. Straight on with the game. Rain pxshed doon half way through the 8th.

Delayed for aboot an hour, afore they finished the match aff. Match spoiled mare than a wee bit.

Worst of all, when I went for a beer, the lassie asked me for ID.

Ha ha says I, I've got 3 grandkids. No joke though, nae ID nae beer!

Folk next to me werenae drinking beer so I couldna even ask them to get me a beer.

The next night there was a major punch up which delayed the match by mare than half an hour.

Ortiz and the Baltimore pitcher had a wee handbags session. It's all a pantomime.

Watched the all star game at Hooters in TX so didna really care if it were any good or no.

In all honesty how could it be any good. It just isn't competitive, and they are all pally pally.

Each to their own I guess... but I love it! A carnival atmosphere is probably the best way to describe sporting events over here in Australia too! In Australia and the USA, they just have a different attitude to ours. Any Australian/American that attended, say an Aberdeen vs Dundee United fixture, would wonder what the hell was going!

Incidentally, the all-star match is pretty competitive, for the reason ScottishJohn mentions. When you start getting toward the playoff, it becomes a very big deal who won the All-star match. Also, the differences between the leagues, in terms of designated hitters/batting pitchers, mean that it's even more significant than just having home advantage! Maybe if you're a Cleveland Indian you might not have that edge, but you can bet that guys from teams like Yankees, Red Sox, Phillies and Giants will be giving 110%, incase their team makes the World series.

Aye but whoever wins gets their Leagues team home advantage in the World Series.

I'm not sure how much of an advantage this is though,

The change was made to try and give some meaning to the All star game but since the winner got home field advantage the AL had won 7 of the 8 all star games but the Championship was split 4-4 between the leagues.

And in that time the series has only made it to game 6 twice.

Bochy and Washington were treating it seriously though.

I'm not sure how much of an advantage this is though,

The change was made to try and give some meaning to the All star game but since the winner got home field advantage the AL had won 7 of the 8 all star games but the Championship was split 4-4 between the leagues.

And in that time the series has only made it to game 6 twice.

Bochy and Washington were treating it seriously though.

It would be more of an advantage if it was 4 homes in a row.

As it currently stands, it's HHAAAHH for whatever league wins the All Star Game.

Oh....

http://http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d4/Bartolo_Col%C3%B3n_2011.jpg/200px-Bartolo_Col%C3%B3n_2011.jpg

:lolrangers:

Got to a game at Minute Maid park.

Superb stadium with good views wherever you are seated.

Stadium roof closed to keep oot the heat.

It needs to be said now though that watching The Astros was like watching Aberdeen of recent years. A bunch of overpaid useless cxnts who do not appear to give a shxt.

Far and away the worst team in baseball.

On my trip I had a session in the batting cages.

Fxck me them baseballs fair fly at a right speed. Slow / medium or fast settings. I'm led to believe none faster than 75 mph.

You get 240 balls ( and strikes ) fired at you for 20 dollars. Fxckin knackered by the end of that.

Changed the setting to Softball after a while as it was easier to hit, and my ego was taking a hammering.

It actually changed my opinion on these guys. I reckon they must be fitter than I gave them credit for, and the balls they face are normally even faster than the 75mph I faced.

My wrists, shoulders, legs and torso muscles were aching for days afterwards.

I was surprised that the facility wasn't busier. Maybe something to do with it being aboot 100 degrees F at the time.