fine-n-dandy Posted March 22, 2011 Share Posted March 22, 2011 Basically no had one in years & bought a cheap one last year cos was planning on taking it up again but it's still in the box.Going to give that one to the Mrs & get myself a better/decent one.Will be mostly for normal riding & light trails etc. but will also want to do a little off road type riding at some points but nothing serious. Anyone no any decent buys or places online to get best deals? Probably willing to spend between a couple of hundred up to 7 or 8 hundred (but don't tell the Mrs cos hers was much cheapness) :thumbs: Link to comment
weapon Posted March 22, 2011 Share Posted March 22, 2011 After mountains of research, reading review after review i finally decided that i wanted a Cube bike so I bought this bike last autumn: http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Cube-Analog-Disc-Mountain-Bike-2011-Hardtail-Race-MTB_39708.htm Gotta say i'm loving the bike, have used it at Glentress and Ae trails and sometimes cycle to work and it handled the trails superbly, the bike is super light, i sometimes think too light and super fast and has good build quality (german built) and parts for the price cause i didn't wanna go mental expensive. You'll get a lot of good advice and reviews using this website and forum: http://www.bikeradar.com/ Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 22, 2011 Author Share Posted March 22, 2011 After mountains of research, reading review after review i finally decided that i wanted a Cube bike so I bought this bike last autumn: http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Cube-Analog-Disc-Mountain-Bike-2011-Hardtail-Race-MTB_39708.htm Gotta say i'm loving the bike, have used it at Glentress and Ae trails and sometimes cycle to work and it handled the trails superbly, the bike is super light, i sometimes think too light and super fast and has good build quality (german built) and parts for the price cause i didn't wanna go mental expensive. You'll get a lot of good advice and reviews using this website and forum: http://www.bikeradar.com/ That certainly looks nae three bad.Cheers, I shall take a lookie. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 23, 2011 Author Share Posted March 23, 2011 After mountains of research, reading review after review i finally decided that i wanted a Cube bike so I bought this bike last autumn: http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Cube-Analog-Disc-Mountain-Bike-2011-Hardtail-Race-MTB_39708.htm Gotta say i'm loving the bike, have used it at Glentress and Ae trails and sometimes cycle to work and it handled the trails superbly, the bike is super light, i sometimes think too light and super fast and has good build quality (german built) and parts for the price cause i didn't wanna go mental expensive. You'll get a lot of good advice and reviews using this website and forum: http://www.bikeradar.com/ That certainly looks nae three bad.Cheers, I shall take a lookie. is this the same bike as your link (different colour) or is it a poorer version?Just asking as it's £80 cheaper but worried it's nae as good.http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=57176 Edit: Never mind, just noticed it's no disc brakes, so probably other differences also Still undecided & shopping about but this does seem a fine one for the price. Link to comment
weapon Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 The only differences are the brakes, the rims n spokes, the front and rear hubs and the Rear Derailleur. The biggest out of that as you've noticed are the brakes. Both bikes have the same forks, which have a lockout where you have a switch at the suspension which can turn on and off the front suspension, off is good for road cycling as you waste energy/speed using suspension on the road especially uphill and the suspension is obviously for tough terrain. I did look at this bike before i bought my one cause i didn't want to pay too much for my bike in case i didn't use it enough or i didn't like it, just before i bought my bike my mate got this one: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=57173 The only reason i went for mine over the one you saw is because of the brakes, i was also very tempted to buy the same one as my mate but i just thought it was too expensive for my first real decent bike, but as i use my bike heaps and love going to the 7 stane trails i'm gonna splash out sometime this summer for a bike around 1k. If you haven Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 If you are more likely to use your bike on gravel and roads then you could look at getting a hybrid. Quicker on the roads, and still has enough grip for more "off-road" courses (you can change the tyres obviously to suit). I have a hybrid, but I am wishing I bought a road bike instead as I use my bike for getting to work and very seldom use it off-road. Link to comment
weapon Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 If you are more likely to use your bike on gravel and roads then you could look at getting a hybrid. Quicker on the roads, and still has enough grip for more "off-road" courses (you can change the tyres obviously to suit). I have a hybrid, but I am wishing I bought a road bike instead as I use my bike for getting to work and very seldom use it off-road. Personally I wouldna touch a hybrid bike, but that's my personal opinion. Just now i mainly use my bike to cycle to work but i have slick tyres on it designed for road use with mountain bikes, this means that when i start going to trails etc in the summer i can put on my normal tread tyres and of i go I did think about getting a racer/road bike as well but for me it was too much expense to have both and with the state of the roads just now you need feckin tractor wheels on your bike!!! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 23, 2011 Author Share Posted March 23, 2011 The only differences are the brakes, the rims n spokes, the front and rear hubs and the Rear Derailleur. The biggest out of that as you've noticed are the brakes. Both bikes have the same forks, which have a lockout where you have a switch at the suspension which can turn on and off the front suspension, off is good for road cycling as you waste energy/speed using suspension on the road especially uphill and the suspension is obviously for tough terrain. I did look at this bike before i bought my one cause i didn't want to pay too much for my bike in case i didn't use it enough or i didn't like it, just before i bought my bike my mate got this one: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=57173 The only reason i went for mine over the one you saw is because of the brakes, i was also very tempted to buy the same one as my mate but i just thought it was too expensive for my first real decent bike, but as i use my bike heaps and love going to the 7 stane trails i'm gonna splash out sometime this summer for a bike around 1k. If you haven Link to comment
weapon Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 My mates one has better forks and gear system than mine and the Analogue and the lockout function for the suspension is on the handlebars so it's easier to operate but i've ridden them both and you don't notice the difference apart from the lockout system so im well happy with my purchase and the one you're looking at will be the same basically as mine Link to comment
weapon Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 If you are seriously looking at that bike, you should check out this webiste: http://www.cubebikeshop.co.uk/ You'll get a free accessory pack worth Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 23, 2011 Author Share Posted March 23, 2011 If you are seriously looking at that bike, you should check out this webiste: http://www.cubebikeshop.co.uk/ You'll get a free accessory pack worth £75 with every bike and free delivery Also, you may want to consider the bike below the Analog, the aim if you're not wanting to go too expensive: http://www.cubebikeshop.co.uk/epages/es137350.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/es137350/Products/%22Cube%20Aim%202011%22/SubProducts/%22Cube%20Aim%202011-blue00%22 Looks well smart Cheers min, very much appreciated.Think I'm going for the Analog disc & from your link, so as to get the freebies.Will be ordering it as soon as next wage goes in, or maybe even tonight cos I'm an impatient bastrard. :thumbs: Edit.Sorry one more question.Frame size? was thinking around the 18" size or is that a little small? I'm 5ft 10.5"I should really go into a clycle shop & try some out for size but lazy as well as impatient Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 It depends on how big a paper round you've got. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 23, 2011 Author Share Posted March 23, 2011 It depends on how big a paper round you've got. No that big, I only deliver to your mums hoose Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 Basically no had one in years & bought a cheap one last year cos was planning on taking it up again but it's still in the box.Going to give that one to the Mrs & get myself a better/decent one.Will be mostly for normal riding & light trails etc. but will also want to do a little off road type riding at some points but nothing serious. Anyone no any decent buys or places online to get best deals? Probably willing to spend between a couple of hundred up to 7 or 8 hundred (but don't tell the Mrs cos hers was much cheapness) :thumbs: I Just got this one, and its f**king awesome. Got it from Alpine Bikes for Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 I Just got this one, and its f**king awesome. Got it from Alpine Bikes for Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 700 QUID FOR A f**kIN' PUSHBIKE? It better hae an engine for that price. To be honest its quite scary how much you can spend these days on a bike. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 I Just got this one, and its f**king awesome. Got it from Alpine Bikes for Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 23, 2011 Share Posted March 23, 2011 Was the pedals extra ? Was the pedals extra, you ask? The pedals were not extra. Link to comment
weapon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Cheers min, very much appreciated.Think I'm going for the Analog disc & from your link, so as to get the freebies.Will be ordering it as soon as next wage goes in, or maybe even tonight cos I'm an impatient bastrard. :thumbs: Edit.Sorry one more question.Frame size? was thinking around the 18" size or is that a little small? I'm 5ft 10.5"I should really go into a clycle shop & try some out for size but lazy as well as impatient Good stuff, nae bother. Well i'm 5ft 8" and i've a 18" cock....sorry bike frame ha ha I used this webiste to judge what one i needed: http://www.evanscycles.com/help/bike-sizing Link to comment
weapon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 And you should check out the 7 Stanes trails, they are superb!! http://www.7stanes.gov.uk/ I can highly recommend Glentress, regarded as one of the best trails in Europe and it's feckin brilliant, especially the downhill sections Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 i dinna like modern day mountain bikes. they look too much like bmxes for my liking. give me an old school mid 90s specialized any day! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 24, 2011 Author Share Posted March 24, 2011 That's it ordered now. :thumbs: Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 It depends on how big a paper round you've got. My 4 speed bike gets me from pub A to pub B fine enough .That bike could tell some stories. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 24, 2011 Author Share Posted March 24, 2011 My 4 speed bike gets me from pub A to pub B fine enough .That bike could tell some stories. Is it a Grifter with the twist grip gears? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 That's it ordered now. :thumbs:All good stuff fnd.What bike did you plump for on the end?I'm also looking to get a bike. Link to comment
weapon Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 That's it ordered now. :thumbs: Good stuff, what one did you go for in the end?? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Is it a Grifter with the twist grip gears? nah, i wish. its ox-bridge type city bike by some shitty make called Union.its cool as f*uk. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 This is my bike (well one extremely similar) was great in the netherregions It killed me trying to get it up a hill to tesco last week though! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Basically no had one in years & bought a cheap one last year cos was planning on taking it up again but it's still in the box.Going to give that one to the Mrs & get myself a better/decent one.Will be mostly for normal riding & light trails etc. but will also want to do a little off road type riding at some points but nothing serious. Anyone no any decent buys or places online to get best deals? Probably willing to spend between a couple of hundred up to 7 or 8 hundred (but don't tell the Mrs cos hers was much cheapness) :thumbs: You should see if your work takes part in the cycle to work scheme. That'll stick a few hundred quid towards the bike. Its a government scheme so they should be able to get hold of some filthy for you... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 This is my bike (well one extremely similar) was great in the netherregions get your motor running, head out on the highway...... Link to comment