barassie_afc Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Spent weekend there, beginning to like it more and more, nice pubs, restaurants and less neds than Glasgow. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Love Edinbugh...long weekend there coming up. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Much, much prefer a trip to Edinburgh than Glasgow.Infact I only intend going to Glasgow for footy and the airport. I looked into transferring my plumbing and heating apprenticeship to a firm in Edinburgh when I was younger and my ex bird was at Uni down there.Never happened as I was going out with my pals to much up here and meet other girls.. A sunny afternoon down the Grassmarket or the Cowgate pubs is great. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Usually a lot of good totty walking around Edinburghs city centre as well! Edinburgh > Glasgow > Dundee Link to comment
tup Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Egg chaser central, second best city in Scotland, albeit the competition is atrocious. Just as bad as Glasgow in parts however. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Egg chaser central, second best city in Scotland, albeit the competition is atrocious. Agreed. Inverness is streets ahead of Edinburgh in 1st place. Too many yahoo students in Edinburgh for my liking. Link to comment
GK55 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Love Edinburgh - try and get down 2/3 times a year for a long weekend. Good shopping/things to do/bars/restaurants....all round a good weekend away. Also enjoy it between Xmas and New Year - great atmosphere. Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Inverness.................................................Inver-f**king-ness Worst place for a night out in the world, zero shops to speak about and its f**king hun central. Best city in scotland? Not even in the top 5 EdinburghGlasgowAberdeenDundehPerth Link to comment
tup Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Agreed. Inverness is streets ahead of Edinburgh in 1st place. Too many yahoo students in Edinburgh for my liking. Inverness is a shithole full of w*nkers. I detest the accent. I canna take anyone who speaks like that seriously. Titch McCooey is a local hero, that says all that needs saying about Inverness. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 the only city you would visit in scotland is edinburgh. glasgow is alright. aberdeen could do better. the rest don't even figure on any radar. Link to comment
tup Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Glasgow is probably in the top ten worst cities on planet Earth. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Glasgow is probably in the top ten worst cities on planet Earth. 90% of it is. but the other ten percent is good. Link to comment
tup Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 If I was born, and was forced to live in Glasgow, rest assured I'd have chucked myself off a high rise building before now. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Edinburgh second in TripAdvisor UK tourism poll, Aberdeen 20th Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 If I was born, and was forced to live in Glasgow, rest assured I'd have chucked myself off a high rise building before now. plenty of options there in glasgow. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 If I was born, and was forced to live in Glasgow, rest assured I'd have chucked myself off a high rise building before now. If you were born? So if you weren't born just how were you entered into this world Macbeth? MAchine is almost there with the 10% bit. It's about 3%. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Edinburgh second in TripAdvisor UK tourism poll, Aberdeen 20th nae really surprising that. englands got a few very good cities but endinburgh compares pretty well with them, apart from london. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 MAchine is almost there with the 10% bit. It's about 3%. your right actually. 3p.c. must equate to about 9 roads, so thats spot on. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Forgot about Perth, I actually really like Perth. Beautiful countryside around perth and nice city centre. Falkirk, although not a city, is possibly the worst place i've ever driven through! Horrible Horrible little sh*t hole of a place. Link to comment
tup Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 If you were born? So if you weren't born just how were you entered into this world Macbeth? MAchine is almost there with the 10% bit. It's about 3%. f**koff, I missed out a comma, pedantic c**t. I've not seen all of Glasgow, thank f**k, but of the bits I've seen I'd say 0% looked appealing. It's on a par with Beirut or Gaza, in fact being honest I think even the likes of Hezbollah, the PLO or the Taliban would struggle to cope with life in Glasgow. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 nae really surprising that. englands got a few very good cities but endinburgh compares pretty well with them, apart from london. You honestly like London mate ? Think its overrated myself ! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 f**koff, I missed out a comma, pedantic c**t. I've not seen all of Glasgow, thank f**k, but of the bits I've seen I'd say 0% looked appealing. It's on a par with Beirut or Gaza, in fact being honest I think even the likes of Hezbollah, the PLO or the Taliban would struggle to cope with life in Glasgow. It's got a few good streets but nothing special. Full of minks and wide boys and wannabe wide boys. Pretty much horrible. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 You honestly like London mate ? Think its overrated myself ! of course. when a man is tired of london, he's tired of life. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 It's on a par with Beirut beirut, never been but i hear its one of the most up-and-coming city destinations in the world. i'd like to go. Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Glasgow is a midden. I f**king detest the place. Most miserable two years of my life living there. Thousands of ned assholes, a council determined to destroy any history/culture the place once had, an increasingly depressing nightlife involving w*nkers looking for fights and girls who thought Jimmy Calderwood was a bit on the pale side, two despicable football teams, a crap national stadium, an increasing ratio of sh*t-to-good music venues, no dogshit/needle/rubbish-free green spaces, tons of f**king hipster w*nker students, a motorway right through the middle of it(!), a city centre that smells like bile, etc... To be fair, they've got a decent public transport system though. Link to comment
tup Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 Oh yes, a man after my own heart, I would not pish on Glasgow were the whole city ablaze, human evolution has gone badly wrong there, strong drink is the staple diet, you're considered weird if you're not out your nut 24/7. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 England has it's fair share of sh*t holes as well: ManchesterLiverpoolHullNewcastle - full of tracksuited neds. to name a few. I have nothing against London, it's a tad bit over priced but we live in Aberdeen which is possibly the most over priced place in the UK! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 3, 2011 Share Posted May 3, 2011 England has it's fair share of sh*t holes as well: ManchesterLiverpoolNewcastle - full of tracksuited neds. you've obviously nae been to any of those cities then. Link to comment