stalin Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 http://www.scotzine.com/2011/08/an-interview-with-theo-snelders/ Decent interview here about Theo's time with the dons - Scottish Cup final was his greatest moment in football. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Legend. Could have been. Silly transfer spoiled it although he's one of the few who have been there that I count as still being ace. Jim Bett being another. Nae so sure about Cooper. Or foster. (Not deserving of capitalisation) Link to comment
tup Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Cracked up prior to a Holland Germany match, and was never the same again. Truly cracked up when he decided to follow the path of sheer hunnery. I was 20 yards from him when he saved Rogan's penalty. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Going to them leaves a bad taste, but I prefer to forget about that. What we'd give for a player of that calibre now. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Going to them leaves a bad taste, but I prefer to forget about that. What we'd give for a player of that calibre now. Aitken got rid of him , cxnt Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Going to them leaves a bad taste, but I prefer to forget about that. What we'd give for a player of that calibre now. To be fair I reckon we've got a sh*t hot man between the sticks at the moment. :thumbs: I kind of wish in a perverse sort of way he hadn't saved that penalty fae Rogan and had instead took his own one then saved from Bonner. Now that would have been a belter. I'm sure I read once he reckons the only way he saved it was because he knew he was up next. Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Aitken got rid of him , cxntNo - the board got rid of him when trying to sell all players when looked like club was getting relegated agreeing deal with Rangers then trying to back out of agreement after Aitken somehow kept us up. Dennis Miller the main culprit i seem to recall? Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I could see Gonzo taking a pen, he seems like the sort. Completely full of himself, probably an arse to go for a pint with, perfect for us though. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I forgive Theo any wrong doing in his life. I f**king loved Theo. Link to comment
Batting71 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Going to them leaves a bad taste, but I prefer to forget about that. What we'd give for a player of that calibre now.Seeing as he barely tried a leg for them it makes it just about acceptable. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Seeing as he barely tried a leg for them it makes it just about acceptable. Did he not bottle an Old Firm game (like he did for the Holland v Germany game) when he was with the Hun? Link to comment
tup Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I kind of wish in a perverse sort of way he hadn't saved that penalty fae Rogan and had instead took his own one then saved from Bonner. He would have had to have saved from Bonner, then taken his own one. Celtic took the first penalty. Link to comment
tup Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 No - the board got rid of him when trying to sell all players when looked like club was getting relegated agreeing deal with Rangers then trying to back out of agreement after Aitken somehow kept us up. Dennis Miller the main culprit i seem to recall? However, I distinctly remember Theo being not exactly apprehensive about the switch to the hun. Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 However, I distinctly remember Theo being not exactly apprehensive about the switch to the hun.Aye - hardly surprising though. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 He would have had to have saved from Bonner, then taken his own one. Celtic took the first penalty. Thanks for spotting my deliberate error. Even better end to the story. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Stewart, Willie, Alex, Davie! OOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!! Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I forgive Theo any wrong doing in his life. I f**king loved Theo. I loved him from his debut v Dundee at Dens to the minute he left, regardless if he went to the hun still an absolute legend in my eyes Link to comment
GK55 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 My all time favourite Aberdeen FC player. Simply brilliant! Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 See I don't get this.Foster goes on a years loan to the hun, which he probably had little say in and fans vilify him Theo forms gentlemans agreements with the board that he can leave if Rangers want him, when we knock back the bid he walks out Pittodrie an hour before a game, sulks the entire season until he's granted a move for far less than he was worth, think it was 100k we got in the end, to become backup to Andy Goram, and he's a legend. Theo is the one of the best keepers we've had and along with Paul Mason was my first 'favorite' player along with Paul Mason, after the 89 final, but his departure leaves a bloody sour taste on his time with us. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 How can you compare foster to theo? Fosters sh*t and theo didnt try a leg for the scum Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 How can you compare foster to theo? Fosters sh*t and theo didnt try a leg for the scumI never suggested Foster was a legend or anywhere close to Theo in terms of ability stature or what he did for the club.And he never got the chance to try a leg for the scum because he chose to be a bench warmer at Ibrox rather than stay with us. Link to comment
Batting71 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 And he never got the chance to try a leg for the scum because he chose to be a bench warmer at Ibrox rather than stay with us.Yes he did. I remember him not trying on one of those regularly hilarious European nights! Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 My all time favourite Aberdeen FC player. Simply brilliant! What?!more than Miller, McLeish, Strachan, Harper, Leighton etc etc? Link to comment
BillyStarkDivinHeeder Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Broomhill Avenue Got to be done... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBCyIh616DQ Link to comment
OddJob Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Brilliant keeper and a top bloke too. I always remember speaking to him at the Beach Ballroom not long after the incident with McCoist and wishing him a speedy recovery and he spoke to me for a while and really made my day. Legend!! Link to comment
RUL Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 What?!more than Miller, McLeish, Strachan, Harper, Leighton etc etc? Maybe he's under 30? Link to comment