Chrisyboy81 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 I just got the remasters box set it's f**king amazing. I know a lot of people reckon they are well over rated, but I think they were geniuses and the remasters proves it all over again! Thoughts... Link to comment
CrazyBullSheep Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Have to disagree with you on your title mate Under rated? Very much over rated if you ask me. But hey thats my opinion. Led Zepplin were far more under rated and better Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 1, 2011 Author Share Posted September 1, 2011 I listen to a fair bit of metal myself I don't think the two are mutually exclusive. I also love Zeppelin, an amazing band. JB's drumming on When the levee breaks is breathtaking. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 7th best band from Liverpool. Fab. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 1, 2011 Author Share Posted September 1, 2011 Who's the top 6 then? Link to comment
Nespa Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 How can the band that are considered as the greatest band ever be the most under rated? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 i like the beatles. time and a place for all types of music (except the pish they churn out on xfactor). and whilst i prefer some other bands back catalogues, the beatles do have an amazing number of good tunes. Link to comment
Big Man Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Don't like the beatles, never have. Over rated sh*te in my opinion. A few tunes but that's it. The Rolling Stones on the other hand.... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 aye the stones have my preferred top tunes. while my guitar gently weeps is great though. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 1, 2011 Author Share Posted September 1, 2011 The Stones are also amazing just not as consistent. When they were at there best they are untouchable. Gimme Shelter is unbelievable. Link to comment
phoenix Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 I was 15 when I first heard 'Love Me Do' , their first 45rpm on the Jimmy Saville Show , Radio Luxembourg. I don't think you had to be there but it helps , things got a whole lot more exciting after '62.....and the Beatles kick-started it. They were the catalysts for a massive release of youthful energy and creativity that was just waiting to happen after the austerity of the '50s and the receding memories of WW2. They were also reckoned to have gone stellar in the States because the assassination of JFK had left a nation paralysed and in despair , the Beatles changed that for them. They were perfect for their time. Once the States took them to their hearts , the World was theirs.....the States having more of an affection amongst nations around the World then than they perhaps do now. No Beatles.....no Led Zep.....and I've got everything Led Zep released( officially ) , and the Yardbirds before them. Lemmy from Motorhead went to see the Beatles in the Cavern Club , Matthew Street , Liverpool when he was a loon and loved them...it's what made him want to be in a band. If you under-rate the Beatles , you undermine your own heritage , no need to like the music but it is necessary to acknowledge their immense influence not just in GB.....but around the Planet. www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xuMwfUqJJM Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 In my life is one of the greatest pieces of musical brilliance ever recorded. Fact. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 1, 2011 Author Share Posted September 1, 2011 In my life is one of the greatest pieces of musical brilliance ever recorded. Fact.Unbelievable song pretty much perfect in everyway. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Lemmy from Motorhead went to see the Beatles in the Cavern Club , Matthew Street , Liverpool when he was a loon and loved them...it's what made him want to be in a band. liverpool. great place for a night out. speaking of lemmy. is it true that he's a dead ringer for cheesepipes? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Love The Beatles, although I prefer Pink Floyd! I Want You (She's So Heavy)SomethingWhile My Guitar Gently WeepsStrawberry Fields Amongst others, all cracking tunes. Link to comment
robbo Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 i cant stand them. whatsoever. under rated....no f**king way. over hyped imho Link to comment
Quagmire Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 The Beatles and Led Zep under-rated? WTF? Link to comment
phoenix Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Top Comments 1962 - Love Me Do 2011 - f**k Me Do DannyMadFerIt 3 weeks ago 178 Reply I promise, If I ever had childern, I will play them Beatles even befor their birth.. Homik111 3 weeks ago 61 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xuMwfUqJJM Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Nae a great fan like. Lennon was a fruit cake.McCartney bugs the sh*t out of me.I like Ringo, he's cool.George...nae sure. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4xeidmjy6sMcCartney finest, not. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 The Beatles are amazing. Perfection. Failure to appreciate them is a serious mistake on behalf of anyone. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApBfsUoFpBU Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Beautiful You've Got To Appreciate This By The Way John was eccentric, but a genius Paul is tainted, but a genius. Ringo wasn't the best drummer, even in the Beatles George Harrison was just a modern day genius. Collectively, geniuses, and probably responsible, in some way or another, of influencing everyone who picked up a pick or a drumstick in the intervening 20-30 years. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Paul is tainted, but a genius. George Harrison was just a modern day genius. Collectively, geniuses, and probably responsible, in some way or another, of influencing everyone who picked up a pick or a drumstick in the intervening 20-30 years. Tainted in what way? George Harrison a modern day genius? Explain that one as well please? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 I reckon Ringo's best work was post Beatles. The loon fecking LOVES Ringo's later stuff. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Tainted in what way? George Harrison a modern day genius? Explain that one as well please?Tainted, as in affected by something reprehensible; As in Heather Mills Nothing to explain re George. His lyrical and musical compositions are genius. My opinion only. All things must pass is one of favourite albums ever. And his mere presence in the Wilburys would testify to his geniusness Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Paul's solo work pisses all over Lennon's. Ram is brilliant. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted September 1, 2011 Share Posted September 1, 2011 Ringo can't drum worth a f**k. Decent band, but for me music REALLY got going with The Who, Hendrix, Zeppelin and Cream onwards... Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 2, 2011 Author Share Posted September 2, 2011 I used to slate Ringo's drumming but having listened to the remasters it sounds an awful lot better. He's no John Bonham, but he's much better than he gets credit for. Yeah it's fairly straight forward but who wants to hear Tommy Lee banging his double bass pedal all over Day Tripper? Link to comment
OddJob Posted September 2, 2011 Share Posted September 2, 2011 Beautiful You've Got To Appreciate This By The Way John was eccentric, but a genius Paul is tainted, but a genius. Ringo wasn't the best drummer, even in the Beatles George Harrison was just a modern day genius. Collectively, geniuses, and probably responsible, in some way or another, of influencing everyone who picked up a pick or a drumstick in the intervening 20-30 years.This ^^^ My favourite band Link to comment
Pudgie Posted September 4, 2011 Share Posted September 4, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ziku4FlRfb4&feature=related The Beatles are arite. Need more of their stuff to be honest. None of them close to the playing talent of Mr Tommy Emmanuel up above though. And Ringo's a dick of the highest order! Link to comment