James Bond

The Boofon

No series of movies even come close to James Bond.

MGM stopped filming for a while cause they had money problems I think.

Does anyone know how much more books (if any) still need to be made into movies. After the books are done, as much as I like James Bond, I think it should stop before it goes on with a new writer.

Prefer the bourne films.

Although the next one doesnt actually have bourne in it........... :dontknow:

bourne is very good, love the films....

though the early bond films has tongue n cheek moments back in the 60 and 70's I dont think bond could be portrayed as a womanising, killer in those days....thats why I think the way the last 2 films have went, makes them more like the books.

No series of movies even come close to James Bond.

MGM stopped filming for a while cause they had money problems I think.

Does anyone know how much more books (if any) still need to be made into movies. After the books are done, as much as I like James Bond, I think it should stop before it goes on with a new writer.

I'm pretty sure casino royale was the last book, there was issues with ownership of it which prevented them using it until now. There was a comedy version of it made years ago with Peter Sellers so I think they had problems acquiring the rights. They ran out of books a long time ago, even when they were still using books they weren't sticking to the plot, I think most of Roger Moore's films were new plots put to original titles by Fleming. So you've been watching new stories for years, it's still working so why not.

I love Bond, From russia with love is my favourite. Daniel Craig is pretty good, I heard this was gonna be his last one though, anyone else heard this?

From Russia With Love used to be my favourite. I wouldnae mess we that wee wifie and her spikey shoe.

Casino Royale trumped it though, it is pretty much the perfect Bond movie for me.

Casino Royale is just unbeatable for me. Guess it's similar to your first World Cup being your favourite.

I just about remember 1966 - so, no not exactly.

Goldfinger is good, liked Thunderball too. Live and Let Die with Moore was fun.

Bond is Connery - Fleming even made Bond Scottish because of Connery I believe.

From Russia With Love used to be my favourite. I wouldnae mess we that wee wifie and her spikey shoe.

Casino Royale trumped it though, it is pretty much the perfect Bond movie for me.

Rosa Klebb! She's a scary fucker alright, so is Red Grant theyre both good baddies. Casino royale is really good but the Connery ones are the best.

Forgot aboot Red Grant, Robert Shaw was a bit o a meeler back in the day.

Did something happen to him cause he fair aged by the time he was in Jaws (think that was only aboot ten years later)

Forgot aboot Red Grant, Robert Shaw was a bit o a meeler back in the day.

Did something happen to him cause he fair aged by the time he was in Jaws (think that was only aboot ten years later)

He was a raging alky! I'm sure he used to drink whisky by the pint, fucking superb actor though. I still get goose bumps when I watch him doing his USS Indianapolis speech.

Bond never did it for me , never liked Connery much as an actor altho' he's probably the best and most iconic Bond before Daniel Craig ; a bittie like Patrick Troughton was the best and most iconic Dr.Who for me.

It's generation dependent , maaan.

Matt Damon as the other JB I do indeed dig.

In dig I do.

• 4 years later...

Interesting conspiracy theory article about the new Bond here (I haven't seen Spectre yet, but have read very mixed reviews, though following Skyfall was always going to be hard).

http://vigilantcitizen.com/moviesandtv/spectre-really-james-bond-tool-occult-elite/

The wife and I recently ran through our Bond DVD box set and thoroughly enjoyed re-appraising them, especially as we hadn't seen some of them in a decade or more. A few observations I have...

• I still think Connery is the best Bond. The first 4 films are the benchmark for me (if I had to choose one, bloody hell that's tough, but I'll go for Thunderball)

• George Lazenby is still shyte. I have no idea why some revisionists think he deserves a re-appraisal, but I'll give him a brief one here - he was shyte then, is shyte now and always will be shyte. That said, if Connery had played the part, you'd have had, in OHMSS, one of the best films of the series

• Is it just me (and the Mrs.) here, but the Roger Moore era really doesn't stand up too well? Sure, 20-30 years ago when his only rival was Connery and when big gadgets, camp humour and eyebrow-raising (literally in his case) misogyny were the order of the day, he might have made sense... this time out however, I found myself cringing at some of his performances - that said, I've always liked FYEO as the pick of his bunch.

• Not that long ago, Brosnan was being hailed as "best since Connery", but since Craig picked up the role, there seems to be a lot of revisionism going on that Pierce is bearing the brunt of. Is this harsh, or has he indeed been eclipsed? Was he overrated at the time? Well, for me, his first three are all very good (I'd say it's a toss-up between Goldeneye and TWINE for his best turn) and his legacy is only tainted by the huge disappointment of Die Another Day.

• As I said, I haven't seen Spectre yet, but Daniel Craig has been fantastic so far. Casino Royale was a brilliant return to form and one of the best since the Connery era. QofS was always going to get a tough time coming after CR, but I think it's the overly frenetic pacing and poor villians that let that one down. Skyfall was as good as or better than CR. If Craig is bowing out as rumoured, he's left a hell of a legacy and will be a tough act to follow.

My last observations, however...

I still think Timothy Dalton is by far and away the most underrated (and my second favourite) Bond. Those of us who have read the original Fleming novels almost unanimously agree he is the closest to the literary character - dark, angry, brooding and jaded, often challenging of authoriity, yet with a fierce sense of loyalty to friends. He got flack from those raised on Moore, who thought he was devoid of wit and too aggressive, but Roger disappeared up his own arse long before he retired (clown shoes in Octopussy, shagging Grace Jones at 57 in AVTAK?!) and the series needed a change. I find it bemusing how he was criticised for the very same things Craig is universally praised for. It shows how times have changed, whether it's Bourne upping the ante, or the Dark Knight (Rises) era heralding darker heroes, who knows...??

For those not overly familiar with Dalton's 2 films, I would recommend watching them back to back after the Craig era films, then you'll see it makes sense, in terms of where the character develops and evolves. While Craig has given Bond a perfect re-boot, Dalton portrayed the mid-to-late-career Bond, who looks like he's had enough of it all and is ready to lose it. Imho, the only fault was being ahead of his time. Rivetting stuff.