Sports Direct Arena

savvy work by the owner.

good on him.

who cares?

its nae like your average geordie from jesmod is likely to say ''lets gan doon the sports direct stadium and watch spuggy, gazza tiote and have a bottleof dog''.

fans up and down the country and esp in newcastle will still call it the st james.

savvy work by the owner.

good on him.

who cares?

its nae like your average geordie from jesmod is likely to say ''lets gan doon the sports direct stadium and watch spuggy, gazza tiote and have a bottleof dog''.

fans up and down the country and esp in newcastle will still call it the st james.

Other named stadiums:

Arsenal: Emirates Stadium

Bolton: Reebok Stadium

Manchester City: Etihad Stadium

Swansea: Liberty Stadium

Stoke: Britannia Stadium

Wigan: DW Stadium

Brighton: Amex Stadium

Coventry: Ricoh Arena

Doncaster: Keepmoat Stadium

Hull: Kingston Communications Stadium

Leicester: King Power Stadium

Few in that list have already had more than one name. Leicester used to be the Walker's Stadium I think.

Not sure how many of these are new builds and how many have been redeveloped. New builds being named after sponsors isn't an issue as it's a brand new stadium with no history.

An existing stadium being given a new name is a bit different but for once I agree with Bluto. It'll always be St James' Park to Geordies and probably most others.

Is it just me that thought this was announced 2 years ago?

They renamed it "Sportsdirect.com @ St James Park Stadium" in 2009, With the goal to get a new sponsor, but keep the @ St James Park Stadium. "Carlsberg @ St James Park Stadium" but obviously they had little or no interest in such like.

Now it has been totally renamed "Sports Direct Arena" again with the goal of getting another sole investor "Carlsberg Arena"

So it will more than likely be renamed again in the near future.

Other named stadiums:

Few in that list have already had more than one name. Leicester used to be the Walker's Stadium I think.

Not sure how many of these are new builds and how many have been redeveloped. New builds being named after sponsors isn't an issue as it's a brand new stadium with no history.

An existing stadium being given a new name is a bit different but for once I agree with Bluto. It'll always be St James' Park to Geordies and probably most others.

They're all new builds.

Thanks.

Have any old stadiums been renamed before?

Cant think of any in the UK off the top of my head...unless you count the City of Manchester Stadium (or Eastlands as it was also known)...or HMRC Park (Ibrox) ;)

Stadium naming rights are sold for most grounds in Germany. Think most stadiums were new though (for WC).

Other named stadiums:

you'd agree with me most of the time if you werent so argumentative.

i would reckon that a couple at least have official names, i.e. the name on the deed and council register etc.

like ashburton grove, city of wank stadium etc.

Most new grounds seem to sell naming rights.

Sunderland, Boro's grounds were built before that era.

Cardiff the exception though.

Chelsea want to rename Stamford Bridge.

boros ground was firstly the bt cellnet riverside stadium.

another example of an official name and a sponsers name.

been there, good little stadium.

i love newcastle.

its an ace city, with beautiful architecture, great cafe and resteraunts and brilliant pubs.

and its got a huge stadium slap bang in the city centre. like aberdeen having it on guild street, could you image that?

great atmosphere in the centre of town on match days.

used to think aberdeen had a good location too, central-ish and near the beach.

canna wait for cove.

personally i canna believe that the arch corporate club man united havent done this already.

ditto liverpool who were skint and now have yanks bankrolling them.

why nae everton too who are pennypinching.

arsenal did it. the richest club in the world have done it. and now chelase are after it.

in todays money driven world its a no brainer to me.

winna be long too that the spainish old firm join in. barca caved in and are now shirt sponsered. and madrid were bailed out not long ago by the council.

Fans have history with even just the NAMING of a park.

Sports Direct Park means nothing to them, if Sports Direct went bust, then that reflects on the name of Newcastles ground.

St James' Park means something to the fans - if they MOVED stadiums, they'd probably understand a lot more, but this is their stadium - St James' Park has history.

This was done by the owner to piss off the fans, that's all.

I'm no Newcastle fan, but I'd be fucked off if I was.

Just need to look at America for stadia names that are pretty rank,

"Home Depot Centre"

"Metlife stadium"

"Gaylord Family memorial stadium"

"Sports Authority Field @ Mile high"

"Sun Life Stadium"

"Heinz Field"

And the list goes on.

Just need to look at America for stadia names that are pretty rank,

"Home Depot Centre"

"Metlife stadium"

"Gaylord Family memorial stadium"

"Sports Authority Field @ Mile high"

"Sun Life Stadium"

"Heinz Field"

And the list goes on.

some quality grounds over there

soldier field

pasadena rose bowl

jets stadiaum

Are they a better stadium because they have a so called name, are they fuck.

Wonder how much AFC supporters actually know what Pittdrie means

well pasadena is the district the stadium is in.

a rose is asweet smelling flower.

a soldier is a cool hard man.

and a jet is a fast plane

thats alll cool names if you ask me.

yes i know what pittodrie means and its nae a nice smelling flower.