London To Aberdeen By Road

The Boofon

• Replies 76

The M6 anywhere south of Warrington is a nightmare, best to head up M1 and cross at Carlisle.

Thank you.

It's showing about 11 hours and 600 miles. That's averaging 54 MPH. Surely I'll get back quicker than that driving on a motorway all the way to Weegieville and dualler after I pass beyond that shithole?

if its through the daytime its M1, M6 TOLL road and M6. Nightime, ( after 7pm) M1, M6.

M11, A1, A66 isnt too bad now but can be hellish in north Yorkshire through the day as there are loads of farmers who use it with tractors

you will get stuck behind loads of overtaking trucks as well on A1.

London>Birmingham>Manchester>Carlisle

M6 toll road has made a huge difference. Use it.

'Tis a fair point. Cos I was up and doon that road all the time, and the tolls were getting silly, I stayed on the Brum section of old M6, the toll certainly takes the worst out of the journey.

The question the nation wants answered is:

'Where are you now buffoon?'

'And what route did you end up choosing, and are you happy you made the right call in that respect?'

I'm sure the butler will handle it anyway whatever road he's asked to take.

I'm still overseas at the moment. Jetting in on Wednesday to pick up the new wheels and driving home. (Chauffeur still up the road)

Not decided yet. The new news about the M6 being much better after the toll road opening has me still undecided.

Wife chirping in my lug about not doing the whole journey in one go and asking me to stop over somewhere on route.

Probably deserving of it's own thread asking where to stop for the night but I'll keep it here. :sherlock:

Keep the routes coming though. I might even resort to vote counting to decide.

I'm still overseas at the moment. Jetting in on Wednesday to pick up the new wheels and driving home. (Chauffeur still up the road)

Not decided yet. The new news about the M6 being much better after the toll road opening has me still undecided.

Wife chirping in my lug about not doing the whole journey in one go and asking me to stop over somewhere on route.

Probably deserving of it's own thread asking where to stop for the night but I'll keep it here. :sherlock:

Keep the routes coming though. I might even resort to vote counting to decide.

M6 is defo the best route...The fact FS thinks you should take the M1 speaks volumes

Be sure and keep us all up to speed later in the week then.

I for one am gripped by the possible variances of up to an hour in journey time by choosing different routes and it's just a pity we did not have maybe 20 vehicles departing at the same time and place but thereafter taking differing routes to Scotland, only then could we truly put our minds at rest as to which route is the quickest as there seems to be no consensus among the posters who have commented so far and indeed some of them seem to be speaking from personal preference rather than distance, letting their hearts rule their heads, which is unhelpful.

I also think you should phone Sally 'Traffic' as she is as fascinated by this kind of tale as I am but could probably offer unrivalled advice through her network of contacts.

Good luck, and dinna beat yourself off up if you end up choosing unwisely.

I for one am gripped by the possible variances of up to an hour in journey time by choosing different routes and it's just a pity we did not have maybe 20 vehicles departing at the same time and place but thereafter taking differing routes to Scotland, only then could we truly put our minds at rest as to which route is the quickest as there seems to be no consensus among the posters who have commented so far and indeed some of them seem to be speaking from personal preference rather than distance, letting their hearts rule their heads, which is unhelpful.

I also think you should phone Sally 'Traffic' as she is as fascinated by this kind of tale as I am but could probably offer unrivalled advice through her network of contacts.

Aye, and jist thing of the threads he could start, asking where's got the cheapest petrol, the best service station along the way etc

Aye I find if you go off the beaten track slightly you can save up to twenty pounds on a family meal and as much as 2p on every litre of fuel purchased so it makes sense to consult fans of Aberdeen FC on these issues before committing yourself.

Assume yer coming in tae LHR?

Then M25-M40-M6(Tolls where possible) and up in to Scotland fae there.

Don't assume anything. It makes an ass out of u and me.

It's Gatwick.

The journey time is of no real importance. It's hastle free motoring I'm after. Traffic jams, hitchhikers etc all preferably avoided.

Cheap petrol is of no importance. It's a diesel automobile I'm driving.

Have ye no thought it's weird she's employed a pool-boy at this time of year? :itch-chin:

No. The pool is indoors and heated so they are hired all year round. They only seem to last a month though before they get fired. :ThumbsDown:

Gatwick :itch-chin:

If yer arriving in the morning, yer fucked either way ye go round the M25, arguably easier going anti-clockwise, but not by much. Remember to make sure Jeeves has cash on the hip for the Dartford tunnel.

Otherwise eh'd recommend M23-M25-M40-M6.

EDIT: Just read, 4pm arrival, then definitely go clockwise, the tunnel can be a fuckin nightmare in the evening rush.

Gatwick :itch-chin:

If yer arriving in the morning, yer fucked either way ye go round the M25, arguably easier going anti-clockwise, but not by much. Remember to make sure Jeeves has cash on the hip for the Dartford tunnel.

Otherwise eh'd recommend M23-M25-M40-M6.

EDIT: Just read, 4pm arrival, then definitely go clockwise, the tunnel can be a fuckin nightmare in the evening rush.

I'm not leaving from Gatwick. I'm leaving from Sidcup. Catching a train from Gatwick to Sidcup. Fuck I feel like a common man syaing that. :laughing:

What's your plan from Sidcup?

I'm not leaving from Gatwick. I'm leaving from Sidcup. Catching a train from Gatwick to Sidcup. Fuck I feel like a common man syaing that. :laughing:

What's your plan from Sidcup?

FFS man, make yer mind up. So yer slow training it to London Bridge and then taking the Dartford train towards Sidcup? :hysterical: Jist dinna make eye-contact wi any fucker on the Dartford train.

Then for someone with no local knowledge ye've one option: M2-M25-M11-M1 etc.

Doff yer cap tae Bexley on the way past, it's my old stomping ground.

If there's a queue when ye come on tae the M25 at junction 2, which there will be, stay in the left lane and go off again at junction 1, and then go straight back on again. When ye start merging afore the tolls, keep left as long as possible, most of the ignorant fuckers there tend to merge immediately, but there's plenty of space to roar past and get within 100 yards of the tolls.

That said, coz eh ken the hood, eh personally wid consider M2-Blackwall Tunnel-M11, it'll be dark so that will add to the element of risk, but it's a helluva lot quicker.

What's the best way?

M1 then onto the M6 or just horse up the M11 and then A1 joining the M6 again at Carlisle?

Distance wise there is only 20 miles difference. More looking for the quieter route. Leaving London at approx 4pm which will be a challenge on it's own.

Cheers.

why not stay the night then?

its the best city in the country and your leaving it as soon as you get there.