Uni Life

Big Man

poor choice mate.

shouldve gone to auld reekie.

Full of minks with HIV. No thanks,

Doing nothing becomes very boring, rapidly.

There's only so much drinking and so many nights out you can take before you get pissed off with it all.

Yep

Definitely. If you choose your placement well, and impress, you don't even need to think about job hunting in fourth year either.

Which takes a lot of stress away from you for all the 9-5s you will be in all year round as it is that much to do... (Usual scaremongering at the start of every new educational step you take in your life)

I'm currently working there part time through 4th year. :thumbup1:

Fuck me you speak like you're some worldly old school graduate, you're about 22 FFS. How condascending!!

Age has f*ck all to do with maturity. If i've had life experiences then im entitled to talk about them - that's not me being condescending (note the spelling), that's me just talking.

If you feel patronized, then perhaps you're troubled by the fact that there are some who can attain excellence at a young age.

And im 23 btw.

I have to confess that I think Uni life is great.

Couple of hours a week where you are meant to go in for lectures but providing you know someone who is diligent and has legible handwriting you can skip that and copy their notes later.

7 days a week out drinking with not a proper care in the world.

Pubs and business bending over backwards to get your money off you and dishing out loads of discounts or "student prices."

Only really need to do some work at the end of each year to make sure you get through exams to allow you a summer of doing nothing but more dossing about before it all starts again in Sept/Oct.

Fit are you studying old boy?

Age has f*ck all to do with maturity. If i've had life experiences then im entitled to talk about them - that's not me being condescending (note the spelling), that's me just talking.

If you feel patronized, then perhaps you're troubled by the fact that there are some who can attain excellence at a young age.

And im 23 btw.

Not troubled at all, I'm only 26 yet have a good well paid job, own numerous properties and live extremely comfortably. It's the way you speak about nowadays the students are like this, you must have graduated what, a year ago.

Don't try and pick out minor spelling mistakes to make yourself feel big.

Not troubled at all, I'm only 26 yet have a good well paid job, own numerous properties and live extremely comfortably. It's the way you speak about nowadays the students are like this, you must have graduated what, a year ago.

Don't try and pick out minor spelling mistakes to make yourself feel big.

Graduated 2 and a half years ago.

Statements of fact never make me feel big.

Totally worth it for me. I had no idea what I wanted to do after uni, I didn't care. All I wanted to do was study. I partied hard in 1st and 2nd year and calmed down in 3rd and 4th year and studied subjects which I loved and couldn't get enough of. 12 hour library benders reading and researching such things as middle east terrorism, theories of democracy, space politics and preparing my dissertation on the economic blockade of Cuba. Fucking great. Went along to extra lectures on the reformation and criminal law, and done a Maths course on astronomy as well as two years of Philosophy. Then I did a post grad. I thrived in such an atmosphere and if I was picking up rubbish now or stacking shelves or flipping burgers I would never regret going to uni. I'd love to go back someday and do a PhD

That's fair enough but think a lot of people now go there expect to party then don't understand what they are going to do at the end of it saddled with debt, I'm glad I chose the path I did, now considering doing an open uni degree in the next few years further my skills whilst still earning a decent wage.

Patronised (note the spelling). :checkit:

p.s. Excellence at a young age... :laughing:

No - this is not a spelling issue...

There are two accepted variants of the word in common usage. One is an americanism (granted) and the one you present isn't.

Its a matter of personal choice which one you use.

However, i would draw to your attention the fact that the Oxford English Dictionary prefers the "-ize" form on etymological grounds (due to the Greek origins of the word a.ka. "-izein"). As do i...

:dancin:

That's fair enough but think a lot of people now go there expect to party then don't understand what they are going to do at the end of it saddled with debt, I'm glad I chose the path I did, now considering doing an open uni degree in the next few years further my skills whilst still earning a decent wage.

Also done open uni when working full time. IMO it was much more difficult than going to uni proper, juggling work and uni aside, I think because I was a bit more mature I took my studies really seriously and only the best was going to do. In my first year I studied at third year level and I also made sure I attended all the tutorials which were held in Stirling at a weekend (I was in Buckie). The second year I binned that as I was only studying at second year level.

Tough going but glad I've done it.

There are two accepted variants of the word in common usage. One is an americanism (granted) and the one you present isn't.

However, i would draw to your attention the fact that the Oxford English Dictionary prefers the "-ize" form on etymological grounds (due to the Greek origins of the word a.ka. "-izein"). As do i...

When there are the two variable spellings, I prefer standardisation across the board. There are a good few instances where the ize does not apply and there is only the one spelling.

I concede I may have been a bit hasty in my criticism (criticizm?), but there the use of a z largely looks poor...

For me uni was basically a ticket to certain jobs, I fucked about as much as possible while still getting through it (unless I was actually interested in something, which sadly was less often than not). Had some amazing laughs. It is amazing how inconsistent even singular unis (i.e. lecturers) are in marking though, especially coursework or dissertations.

Did a hons then specialised in something I liked for masters then another post grad for work. Closer you get to what you like the better(obviously) but to get an hons you'll prob have to wade through some right shite at some point (actually only went to one of my lectures for one course in third year).

No chance, I've never once seen it spelled with Z even in literature.

Patronised, stick in at the college big man and try and learn the spelling of the words for yourself instead of relying on the Americanised spellchecker you ran patronised through.

:dc:

Sorry to dissapoint tup - but i didn't use no spellcheck. I just wrote it aff the cuff - as it sounded in ma heid you ken.

Your accusations are quite hurtful. But seeing as its yourself i'll assoilzie you of any wrongdoing.

And im 23 btw.

You're obviously still searching for excellence in numeracy then min.

I thought you were 24 2 days before me...

You're obviously still searching for excellence in numeracy then min.

I thought you were 24 2 days before me...

I was and i am.

Numbers have never been my strong point i'll admit Dynamo.

On a serious note i didn't even notice that until you pointed it out - 3 is right next to 4 on the keyboard is the only explanation i can offer.

Also done open uni when working full time. IMO it was much more difficult than going to uni proper, juggling work and uni aside, I think because I was a bit more mature I took my studies really seriously and only the best was going to do. In my first year I studied at third year level and I also made sure I attended all the tutorials which were held in Stirling at a weekend (I was in Buckie). The second year I binned that as I was only studying at second year level.

Tough going but glad I've done it.

I've had a brief look into it, what sort of costs,time are we speaking to complete?

How does an open degree compare up with say one from a proper uni?

Folk who do mickey mouse courses should have to pay a fucking fortune for the rest of their days.

What would you class as a mickey mouse course?

The class before one of my lectures is "Fashion Management" :suicide: Although saying that, the birds are tidy as fuck.

Know someone studying Geology. Not sure if this is a "mickey mouse" course or not?

What would you class as a mickey mouse course?

The class before one of my lectures is "Fashion Management" :suicide: Although saying that, the birds are tidy as fuck.

Know someone studying Geology. Not sure if this is a "mickey mouse" course or not?

I'm pretty sure most people in Fashion are faggits.

Geology is quite worthwhile in the Oil industry.

I'm pretty sure most people in Fashion are faggits.

Geology is quite worthwhile in the Oil industry.

Its a class of about 40, and there is only 1 male. Highly likely he is a raging homo, but there may be the odd chance he is just a clever cunt, and has picked a class with a bunch of fit birds.

Probably the raging homo part though.