NorthernLights24 Posted October 7, 2011 Share Posted October 7, 2011 Downloading the demo now. I have to admit I haven't really enjoyed the last few games. What used to be an addictive game that would keep you occupied for literately hours at a time has recently become something of a chore to play. Every year though I play it again in the hope they have recaptured the magic of the earlier games. Link to comment
Nealey Posted October 7, 2011 Share Posted October 7, 2011 I'm going to wait until the game comes out proper and see what like.Back playing Championship Manager 01/02 just now,what a game! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 7, 2011 Share Posted October 7, 2011 My favourite version was the one with actual commentary.. that were fucking excellent. Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted October 7, 2011 Share Posted October 7, 2011 Demo is quite shit. I won't be buying FM2012. Link to comment
Maniac Cop Posted October 8, 2011 Share Posted October 8, 2011 Downloading the demo now. I have to admit I haven't really enjoyed the last few games. What used to be an addictive game that would keep you occupied for literately hours at a time has recently become something of a chore to play. Every year though I play it again in the hope they have recaptured the magic of the earlier games. I agree, can't be bothered setting up training schedules etc. Was so much better when you only had to worry about signing the players, picking a formation and picking a squad. Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted October 8, 2011 Share Posted October 8, 2011 Quite enjoying the demo so far, but then I enjoy the setting up of training, tactics etc, the new team talk thing is pretty good as well, as is the new camera angles showing the game. Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 8, 2011 Share Posted October 8, 2011 I agree, can't be bothered setting up training schedules etc. Was so much better when you only had to worry about signing the players, picking a formation and picking a squad.This ^^^ Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted October 8, 2011 Share Posted October 8, 2011 Quite like the new ones if I'm honest. However I feel 12 is actually no better or even worse than 11! Strikers: Vernon>Magennis>Fallon>Mackie>Chalali>Megginson Osbourne is pretty crap in the game, Arnason is also under-rated. Clark Robertson is still a M® which has really annoyed me. That's two years now! Link to comment
slippers Posted October 17, 2011 Share Posted October 17, 2011 Just had a read of a review! http://uk.pc.ign.com/articles/120/1200623p1.html I used to love this game! I pre ordered it every year without fail and was playing till ridiculous hours! Now I'm a bit older and actually have stuff to do such as a job and socialising! But it's also the fact that I aswell can't really be bothered with training ext! In previous games iv had a fantastic team yet I'm still getting beat by shit, so annoying! Saying tht I would imagine I will buy this game once again and try and take the dons to the top once again! I do love a challenge and find it hard to go any other team then Aberdeen! Link to comment
slippers Posted October 17, 2011 Share Posted October 17, 2011 On a side note! Do you think we will move into a new state of the art stadium in a few years in the game? Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 17, 2011 Share Posted October 17, 2011 I wish they would go back to the classic versions of the game, where you just stuck your players into your chosen formation, decided if they were to defend or attack and went for it! remember playing ridiculous formations like 2-5-3 etc as I had so many attackers and midfielders I didnt want to drop. Failing that, Im sure I read on here someone suggesting an option in the game to do that - can't be bothered with all the sorting out training and that... Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 Got much the same opinion as others on here. Loved the older versions, took Brann to great heights in the champions league, played 15 seasons or something. Now it's so difficult to get in to it. Tried playing as Toronto FC in the MLS, but got bored quickly. Eh'm in charge of WBA, doing ok, but a combination of everyday life, and lack of interest means eh'm about 11 games in after 2 months of playing it. Toying wi the idea of taking over some little Russian ootfit, tinkering wi the Editor so that eh've millions behind me courtesy of some corrupt oil baron. Ken fine eh will get bored tho. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 12 is better than 11 in many ways. The team talks in particular are just fantastic. The new contract negotiations are great to eke out a bit more for a bit less money from a thieving gypsy bastard / aka player, the "shout" thing you can do now, to create on the fly tactics, lots of good stuff. Just opening up the game now after having played the demo to mid-season AND not been sacked (by the skin of my teeth apparently) Link to comment
RUL Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 Everything you've posted is why folk can't be arsed with the game anymore though. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 Everything you've posted is why folk can't be arsed with the game anymore though. Some folks... definitely not all or even most going on how the sales keep on going through the roof. Link to comment
Rossshepherd Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 Agree. Takes a fucking age to get everything in order. Training, tactics, some half decent coaches.. Taking ages. Tempted to play Batman Arkham City seeing as they both arrived today. Link to comment
Rossshepherd Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 Also the amount of injuries players get.. Fallon, Arnason, Mawene, Jack, Langfield, Clark and Folly are all going to miss the opening few weeks/months. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted October 21, 2011 Share Posted October 21, 2011 I just started going on line and downloading training schedules, tactics and the like, loading them up and playing. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 22, 2011 Share Posted October 22, 2011 The only games I play are strategy types, so FM isn't anything like complicated so far as I'm concerned. I can see if the sort of game you play is the type where you only have to decide which button to mash in order to lob a grenade or switch weapons then FM's pretty superficial elements might seem like a pain in the arse. There's not really a whole lot to it, though the fact that a team 3 divisions below you will come out in the second half playing like the Milan team of the 80s is just horribly unrealistic. Every time.... you're 2-0 up against Arbroath at half time and you come out and get passed off the park, BOOM, 3-2 Arbroath, full time. They might want to tone that shit down... I mean, yeah, a half time talk can be inspirational, but Darren Young isn't turning into Messi just because Hartley shouts at him a bit. Anyway, bought FM12... it's not significantly different to FM11 at all. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted October 22, 2011 Share Posted October 22, 2011 Also the amount of injuries players get.. Fallon, Arnason, Mawene, Jack, Langfield, Clark and Folly are all going to miss the opening few weeks/months. Yer right there min. I've got more injured player than fit eens. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 22, 2011 Share Posted October 22, 2011 Nothing to say, but you had to say something. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted October 22, 2011 Share Posted October 22, 2011 Downloading the demo now. I have to admit I haven't really enjoyed the last few games. What used to be an addictive game that would keep you occupied for literately hours at a time has recently become something of a chore to play. Every year though I play it again in the hope they have recaptured the magic of the earlier games. Is that not because you are older?Add in the novelty factor has gone too? Link to comment
robbo Posted October 22, 2011 Share Posted October 22, 2011 sitting playing the demo. must say im actually really enjoying it. the team talk thing is decent but i fear could get really dull quite quickly purely because you cant just continue, you need to talk to pretty much everyone which is bloody annoying. i did like being able to call a team meeting and discuss what we want from the season, hearing what the players wanted to aim for was a classy extra. havent bothered setting up training, coaches or scouting like since its just the demo but once i rip through arkham city, this will be a priority purchase i feel. ps - cammy smith is pretty decent like. deffo a better option than mackie Link to comment
robbo Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 how KEECH are we in it!! our squads so stretched and weve hardly any manouverability to adjust finances sell mackie. you can get 50k for him easy. then i picked up mcindoe to play LW, Robbie Neilson for RB (both on frees) and left it at that. youth players are alright enought to plug the gaps. ive played 12 games and am comfortably top. granted thats the demo so maybe the full game is harder but compared to 10 and 11, 12 seems a walk in the park. Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 sell mackie. you can get 50k for him easy. then i picked up mcindoe to play LW, Robbie Neilson for RB (both on frees) and left it at that. youth players are alright enought to plug the gaps. ive played 12 games and am comfortably top. granted thats the demo so maybe the full game is harder but compared to 10 and 11, 12 seems a walk in the park. I finished 8th in my 1st season. Was close to the sack at one point. 1st few games of 2nd season and things are looking up. Sold a couple of youth players. Signed a few players on free's. big Russels back. First few results- Won 4-1 v St Mirren (h)Drew 2-2 v Tims (a)Won 4-0 v Dumbarton (a) League cupLost 1-0 v St Johnstone (h)Won 4-1 v Dundee utd. (a) Link to comment
dervish Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Bought this on impulse, hope it doesn't become a chore. Few bit of success in the first couple of seasons will probably be needed to keep me interested. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Bought this on impulse, hope it doesn't become a chore. Few bit of success in the first couple of seasons will probably be needed to keep me interested. Seems to be a lot easier... changing tactics does, for the first time, seem to have an effect on the outcome. And opposition teams have stopped playing like Real Madrid if you're beating them at half time. Better than their last effort, that's for sure. Link to comment
dervish Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Getting into it a bit, my spreadsheet team beat Celtic 2-3. :D Link to comment
dervish Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 To be fair it's pretty actuate, just went out in after a pen shoot out in the second round to Forfar... EDIT: Oh aye but Nicky Low scored their first pen and he's on loan surely ineligible... Link to comment
florin_raducioiu Posted November 16, 2011 Share Posted November 16, 2011 What's the latest thoughts on this? I'm still in the old one in about season 2016/17 I think and still playing it now and again. Probably wait til xmas to get the new one. Tried playing the demo but got as far as my first friendly after trying to sign some players etc and the thing crashed and I couldn't be arsed starting it again Link to comment