The Falklands

BrianFaePerth

Fuck the argentinians. Their president is a complete bam.

The falklands were discovered in the 1600s but no one can be sure by who. It's a choice of Portugal Spain and UK. Argentinas only real claim is that's the islands are closer to them so they should own them.

The islands changed hands from the 1600s numerous times with the French, spanish and British all staking claims.

Argentina didn't even exist as a country when the British finally took control of the falklands in 1833.

The bottom line is the islanders are all British citizens, have been for generations and that's how they want it to stay. They don't speak Spanish and want fuck all to do with Argentina.

There is no way the UK will hand them over. I think they are angling for a share in the oil boom if there is one. They should be told to take a hike.

the way the argie presidente is carrying on you'd think she'd forgotten the actual history of it all.

correct me if I'm wrong, I'm sure some will revel in it ;) but wasnt it the argies that invaded the Falklands in the 80's and wasnt it them that sent their troops onto the ground in the first place? We love piece my ass!!

Now there are a couple of huge finds of oil they start with their claims again.

Its part of the old British Empire, the people want to stay part of the UK colonies, she's banging on about that being antiquated but the Falklands want to remain that way. Isnt that really democracy in action... I know it was just a poll that was taken rather than an official referendum but it was unanimous for fuck sake.

So aye, it is worth the hassle when people who want to remain part of a country are being intimidated again by their neighbours now they've found a bit of money in the sea.

As far as I see it, Argentina should have no say whatsoever.

If the people of the Falklands want independence from the UK, they should hold a refurendum. If they vote for it, Britain should let them go.

What they do after that is up to them.

Oil should not come into it, if they vote for independence they keep their oil, just like we would be expecting to keep ours should Scotland gain independence

Oh aye, and until such time they do break away from the UK, we should defend it to the hilt.

the people want to be brits not argies. the benefit for the uk was that it gave access to the antartic.

the argies have always claimed the islands as there own, still selling malvinas t-shirts out there and they wont stop claiming them.

a lot of brits fought and died out there in 82. the islands must remain part of britain

I don't think there have been any huge oil finds in the falklands, not yet anyway. Borders and Southern have not long spudded, Desire are down the shitter and Rockhopper have one possible commercial find in Sea Lion.

Not sure what the argies are so up in arms about, they got owned end of story. Back in yer box.

I don't think there have been any huge oil finds in the falklands, not yet anyway. Borders and Southern have not long spudded, Desire are down the shitter and Rockhopper have one possible commercial find in Sea Lion.

Not sure what the argies are so up in arms about, they got owned end of story. Back in yer box.

the estimate is 60 billion barrels, worth fighting over in this day and age.

no coincidence IMO that the argies started all this again as soon as black gold was mentioned.

Rockhopper need to find a medium / major oil company to partner them in the development of Sea Lion, Rockhopper do not have the financial nor technical resources to do it alone,

Argentina have only blocked Falkland flagged vessels from entering there ports, UK flagged ones can still come and go as they please,

Keep the island, extract the oil!

The majority of inhabitants on the island are either British or want the island to remain under British sovreignty so there's no reason to hand them back to Argentina. If the shetlands were owned by Norway i'd doubt i'd give 2 shits so i don't understand why the Argies get all penisy about 'Malvinas'...oh right the oil.

Keep the island, extract the oil!

The majority of inhabitants on the island are either British or want the island to remain under British sovreignty so there's no reason to hand them back to Argentina. If the shetlands were owned by Norway i'd doubt i'd give 2 shits so i don't understand why the Argies get all penisy about 'Malvinas'...oh right the oil.

You would, oil.

Argies clype to UN

What's everyone's take on this?

On the one hand, it's a windswept wee set of islands in the back of beyond wi a bunch of farmers who want to be British. On the other hand, geographically speaking it's more or less part of South America and the Argies were in charge at various times until 1833.

Oh, and there's lots of oil offshore.

250 British dead in 1982. That's enough for me.

The Argentine claim is based on the fact that Spain "claimed" the islands, so anything Spain had claims to when Argentine was "The River Plate Colony", become Argentinian territory on their independence from Spain. Funnily enough, they don't mention much about the wholesale slaughter of native "Argentinians" (Indigenous tribes) in the south - Tierra del Fuego, the part of Argentina which the Falklands is "attached" to in their minds. Tierra del Fuego wasn't "added" to Argentina until much later post-independence.

Still, we're the imperialists. That's rich. :rolleyes:

Speaking as a pacifist who hates Thatcher so much that her continued clinging on to life hinders my breathing, I'd say the only thing she did that I wouldn't happily have punched her in the mouth over was her handling of the Falklands. Of course her political career as PM was about to come to an end at the very next election, so she needed to pull something big out of the bag if she was going to remain in power, so her hand was pretty much dealt for her. She had no option but to send in the sujers.

Territorial claims on the basis of, "Well, it's quite close to us, isn't it?" doesn't really hold a lot of water. Hitler had a more legitimate claim to Polish territory than Argentina does to the Falklands.

Stick a bunch of sunburn missiles around the islands, a good amount of anti-aircraft missiles on the hills, and a couple of regiments of SAS at a secret undisclosed location on East Falkland.

That'll change Fishlips' mind.