tainboy Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Testing in Jerez finished now. Is there anything to read into it or are the big guns playing it coy??? Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 That new advert for the Sky F1 HD channel is amazing. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 the new cars look odd with the nose cone design, no the prettiest this year. i hope di resta does well and good to see raikkonen back. Link to comment
thebladder Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 anyone ever been to a race? Haven't masel but looking into Spa or Monza this year. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 i went to silverstone, it's a bit like watching the golf at st.andrews, much better on the telly. monaco would be the one, right up close to the action. Link to comment
360 Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 That new advert for the Sky F1 HD channel is amazing. I reckon their coverage will be shit compared to the BBC. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 I reckon their coverage will be shit compared to the BBC. I agree. Will they stop for adverts? Link to comment
360 Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 I'm not sure. All that I know is that the BBC coverage has been pretty damn good over the last few years, and I won't be able to watch it on Sky Sports. 7 Cunts. At least the BBC still gets bowls and shit that no-one cares about... Link to comment
Iraq_Red Posted February 26, 2012 Share Posted February 26, 2012 Went to the Spanish Grand Prix in 2010 and it was great, brilliant atmosphere and weather. As for 2012 season, I think we it will only see who's who came March and I'd love for McLaren to be on the pace straight off, although they have the only car that doesn't have that funny step in the nose, so it could be a big winner or a massive mistake? Going by the comments coming out of the testing, everyone thinks Red Bull will still be the ones to beat and Ferrari might struggle?? Link to comment
tutankamun Posted February 26, 2012 Share Posted February 26, 2012 I agree. Will they stop for adverts? Apparently not http://www1.skysports.com/formula-1/news/12433/7332332/Sky-Sports-launches-F1-channel Link to comment
Sandafc Posted February 26, 2012 Share Posted February 26, 2012 Apparently not http://www1.skysports.com/formula-1/news/12433/7332332/Sky-Sports-launches-F1-channel Think the coverage will be pretty good. Looking forward to seeing it on Sky. Link to comment
Sandafc Posted February 26, 2012 Share Posted February 26, 2012 I'm not sure. All that I know is that the BBC coverage has been pretty damn good over the last few years, and I won't be able to watch it on Sky Sports. 7 Cunts. At least the BBC still gets bowls and shit that no-one cares about... Pretty sure BBC went to Sky as they couldnt afford to show every race. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 Who's co commentator with Martin Brundle? David Coulthard jumped ship too? Thought they were a good combo last year. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 anyone ever been to a race? Haven't masel but looking into Spa or Monza this year. Been to a few - best probably the Osterreichring many years ago - saw three starts (including Brundle flying through the air) - hot as hell - out in the open but good atmosphere if you can put up with the tifosi and their bull horns. Position is everything in watching the race - had pit straight seats at Silverstone a few years back when it was wet - stunning race and again wonderful atmosphere - many, many moons ago went to watch race at Monaco (Dr Jonathon Palmer who drove for tyrrell gave a talk about the race after qualifying) - hard (read horribly expensive) to get anywhere with a view (I was stuck on the side of a hill with a poor view (bnut I suspect as good as anywhere)- better viewing at home but again atmosphere among fans great. Not been to Spa or Monza but both supposed to be good. Link to comment
thebladder Posted March 14, 2012 Share Posted March 14, 2012 Been watchin the sky roundups of last seasons races. Pretty interesting, a lot of good driver communications that the bbc would never broadcast. Link to comment
RUL Posted March 14, 2012 Share Posted March 14, 2012 Is there any plans for a f1 news channel? If not I'm cancelling sky, sick of this shit Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 14, 2012 Share Posted March 14, 2012 Is there any plans for a f1 news channel? If not I'm cancelling sky, sick of this shitYup, F1 lost me as a viewer the day SKY got involved. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 14, 2012 Share Posted March 14, 2012 Well, Sunday afternoon EPL fitba on Sky Sports 1 gets approx between 1.5-2.5 million viewers - http://www.barb.co.uk/report/weeklyTopProgrammes/? BBC last F1 season was getting average 6.1 million viewers. Be surprised if F1 on SKY gets over 1 million. Link to comment
zander Posted March 15, 2012 Share Posted March 15, 2012 Will skys coverage nae be better imagine it will have all the gizmos etc . Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 15, 2012 Share Posted March 15, 2012 At least their won't be adverts on during the race like the shambles that was ITV F1. Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted March 15, 2012 Share Posted March 15, 2012 F1 broadcasts are the same wherever you watch them, its FIA who own the rights then sell them on to the broadcast companies, and the home GPs tv companies that decide camera angles etc, hence in Spain Alonso and Algeshuari get more attention. Only annoyance is adverts, which sky won't have. Sky didn't nick the broadcast rights. BBC had to sell them as it was costing too much. Reckon SKY will be fine but will probably revert back for the BBC ones. Link to comment
StevieT1986 Posted March 15, 2012 Share Posted March 15, 2012 Canna wait for this season. More looking forward to the midfle pack of team think williams will surprise a few people Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted March 17, 2012 Share Posted March 17, 2012 Good start to the qualifying for Australia anyway, Hamilton and Button looking strong, Mercedes have improved, Red Bull look as if they are gonna have a fight on their hands and STR out qualified Ferrari. Brilliant Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 17, 2012 Share Posted March 17, 2012 the problem with ferrari is there are too many italians in the team, pat fry's there but he's no adrian newey. i hate to say it but you need the english garagistas working for you. Link to comment
Sandafc Posted March 17, 2012 Share Posted March 17, 2012 Yup, F1 lost me as a viewer the day SKY got involved. Well you can thank BBC for that not Sky since it was BBC who had to cut costs and went to Sky. Link to comment
thebladder Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Good race yesterday, Button didn't put a foot wrong and Vettel was lucky with the timing of the safety car.Overall thought the sky coverage was good, the guy doing the commentary with Brundle needs to calm down though. He is totally over the top. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Enjoyed the race - Button did well, despite not really showing in qualifying Red Bull will have come away happier after Sunday than Saturday but I am surprised they are so off the pace comparitively as they must have spent most of last season designing this seasons car. Mercedes given a bit of luck look competitive as do Lotus (Renault) - was impressed with williams and disappointed with Di Resta/Force India though his wee jink at the end to claim the last point was class. Link to comment
tainboy Posted March 21, 2012 Author Share Posted March 21, 2012 Sky's coverage is good. Commentators nae the best but hey ho. Button. Awesome just awesome. Drove the perfect race. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 24, 2012 Share Posted March 24, 2012 Qualifying is tasty this morning. Di Resta 14th but ahead of Hulkenurg this time at least. After Q2. Mercedes, Lotus and McLaren all have both cars ahead of Red Bull. Q3 is going to be interesting! Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted March 24, 2012 Share Posted March 24, 2012 That was some qualifying. Almost wants to make me get up tomorrow for it. Mon the McLaren Link to comment