muttondressedaslamb Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 Just to put a spanner in the works in Egypt. Shame justice wasn't served. (Reported on Radio 4 so I'm taking it to be true) Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 Just to put a spanner in the works in Egypt. Shame justice wasn't served. (Reported on Radio 4 so I'm taking it to be true) Seems the high water mark of the Dictator has been reached and is now subsiding. It's a pity, because I quite like the occasional mad dictator, me. Now we can look forward to the era of the Corporate Government. You don't really have that too much in Europe yet, but it's coming all right. Frankly I'd rather have the Dictators, because Corporate Fascism isn't good for any of us. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 That country is in the shitter I think. The current military incumbents of power have even more power than Mubarak ever had. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted June 19, 2012 Author Share Posted June 19, 2012 Aye they are dying breed. Luckily we've still got the likes of Turkmenistan to keep us going with their weirder than weird dictators since independence Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted June 19, 2012 Admin Share Posted June 19, 2012 That country is in the shitter I think. The current military incumbents of power have even more power than Mubarak ever had. I think the military are wanting a secular country and to be guardians of a secular constitution (much like turkey), and are more than willing to hand over to a democratically elected government... just not an Islamic democratically elected government, that will rewrite a constitution into a islamic state. Link to comment
Big Man Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 You should have called the thread ''Changes Afoot at Jellabiya Level''... Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 I think the military are wanting a secular country and to be guardians of a secular constitution (much like turkey), and are more than willing to hand over to a democratically elected government... just not an Islamic democratically elected government, that will rewrite a constitution into a islamic state.Your probably bang on there Bebo.Muslims running the show is not what a lot of the world want to see. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 Don't worry a consortium of chancers and bluffers are on their way to make sure Egypt keeps its history. Tutan doesn't do walking away. 1 Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 19, 2012 Share Posted June 19, 2012 The Great Pyramid of Giza must stay open! 3 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 More importantly, how's Boofon taking the news? Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 he's nae actually proper deed yet!! he's in a coma on life support, so probably will end up panners, but nae quite yet! Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 The Great Pyramid of Giza must stay open! :laughing: If I was computer litterate I would have Photoshoped the fat hun with a Pharaohs head dress on and the pyramids in the background But I'm nae and oh how I would have laughed. Link to comment
Liam Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 The Great Pyramid of Giza must stay open! If anyone can do chief_wiggums request it would be hilarious Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 hozni even looked like a dictator, he didn't even try to appear otherwise. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Seemed like a nice enough chap. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Seems the high water mark of the Dictator has been reached and is now subsiding. It's a pity, because I quite like the occasional mad dictator, me. Now we can look forward to the era of the Corporate Government. You don't really have that too much in Europe yet, but it's coming all right. Frankly I'd rather have the Dictators, because Corporate Fascism isn't good for any of us. Kelt, have you ever read "Jennifer Government", by Max Barry? I really think it'd be right up your literary street. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 More importantly, how's Boofon taking the news? One of the few dictators I hadn't met so not too bothered about this news. Best Egyptian I've met was Adel Eman when I was in Egypt last year doing some consultant work for Vodafone. Brilliant laugh for an old guy. Link to comment
weemackie Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Aye they are dying breed. Luckily we've still got the likes of Turkmenistan to keep us going with their weirder than weird dictators since independence Im just back from working in Turkmenistan. Strange country. Photos and statues of the president everywhere. The time before last time i worked there i was stuck in a hotel for 2 days because the president was going to be arriving in the city i was staying in so they have to shut the whole place down, no flights, roads are closed and nobody is allowed out. They sometimes cut there power off aswell. Apparently for his security On the plus side, if you are from Turkmenistan you get all you fuel, gas and electricity for free so he's not too bad for being a complete radge Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 I think it would be a fascinating place to visit, dictatorships usually are.Turkmens look funny too, half European, half Chinese. Anyway aye Hosni is still with is. Maybe it's all part of an elaborate hoax so that the military can cling to power. But regardless you've got to love a guy who is the human form of Count from Sesame Street. You can just imagine him saying something along the lines of one bastard dead ahahah, two bastards dead ahahah.... Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 The Great Pyramid of Giza must stay open! Just for you man. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLMrEAs2syw 1 Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 Just for you man. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLMrEAs2syw&feature=youtu.be Look above, what is it? I can't see anything grrr. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 I think it would be a fascinating place to visit, dictatorships usually are.Turkmens look funny too, half European, half Chinese. Anyway aye Hosni is still with is. Maybe it's all part of an elaborate hoax so that the military can cling to power. But regardless you've got to love a guy who is the human form of Count from Sesame Street. You can just imagine him saying something along the lines of one bastard dead ahahah, two bastards dead ahahah....The Turkmens are strange alright...had to send a punter in there to do a job for Dragon Oil...he thought he'd be smart and go outside the airport terminal for a cigarette...big mistake...nearly got arrested...you can smoke inside but not outside...well fu*ked up! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Look above, what is it? I can't see anything grrr. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLMrEAs2syw Link to comment
MincePie Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLMrEAs2syw Nice Kelt Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 Kelt, have you ever read "Jennifer Government", by Max Barry? I really think it'd be right up your literary street. Haven't read that one, but from what I can gather it appears to follow what Huxley said regarding the suppression of the masses. Where Orwell suggested government would manipulate and control everything about civilian society, via means of warfare, fear and brutal oppression of thought and action, Huxley suggested we'd be entertained into silence, in the same way the Romans placated the populace with circuses. The truth is that a combination of both is being used. If you're part of the industrial world you'll be given masses of prescription drugs, Wii, Ipods and 3DTV, backed up by less and less personal freedom, under the guise of 'Keepin' y'all safe.' If you're unfortunate to live in the developing world, then you'll be kept in line via 500lb vacuum bombs, starvation, disease and war. I may add Jennifer Government to my reading list. The only political book I'm reading right now is 'In the Name of God'. In the Name of God Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 Haven't read that one, but from what I can gather it appears to follow what Huxley said regarding the suppression of the masses. Where Orwell suggested government would manipulate and control everything about civilian society, via means of warfare, fear and brutal oppression of thought and action, Huxley suggested we'd be entertained into silence, in the same way the Romans placated the populace with circuses. The truth is that a combination of both is being used. If you're part of the industrial world you'll be given masses of prescription drugs, Wii, Ipods and 3DTV, backed up by less and less personal freedom, under the guise of 'Keepin' y'all safe.' If you're unfortunate to live in the developing world, then you'll be kept in line via 500lb vacuum bombs, starvation, disease and war. I may add Jennifer Government to my reading list. The only political book I'm reading right now is 'In the Name of God'. In the Name of God I'm going to check out that book Kelt, really interested in the Iranian regime. I tried to visit a few years back but the fuckers wouldn't let me into their country. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 20, 2012 Share Posted June 20, 2012 I'm going to check out that book Kelt, really interested in the Iranian regime. I tried to visit a few years back but the fuckers wouldn't let me into their country. The Black Sabbath T-Shirt not go down too well at their embassy? Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted June 20, 2012 Author Share Posted June 20, 2012 The Black Sabbath T-Shirt not go down too well at their embassy? Dicks wouldn't tell me! There was speculation that it might have been because I was just back from the states or because I was a female travelling on my own. I was gutted as I wanted to spend my 30th there. Soon changed flights though and went to South Africa instead which was immense. Still hoping to get there someday. That book isn't available on Ebooks. None of them by that author are. Link to comment