Tord31 Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Injured: Jack & Robertson Team (and bench) picks itself. We will need to rotate the squad but not quite yet. Another massive match - we need to be looking to close the 21 point gap over the next few weeks as Celtic will take their eye off the ball be sure of that. Langfield Logan Anderson Reynolds Considine Flood Robson McGinn Pawlett Hayes Rooney subs: Weaver, Shaughnesey, Tate, Low, Smith, Zola, VernonPrediction 0-2 McGinn due a goal or two COYR Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 st midden 0 - 1 ABERDEEN (Peter Pawlett baby) . Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted February 10, 2014 Admin Share Posted February 10, 2014 St. Mirren go into this game with terrible form. Having won 2, lost 6 and drawn 2 in their last ten games. Scoring 11 conceding 17, although slightly better at home this season at sneaking a draw. 0-4 Aberdeen. Link to comment
RDU_64 Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Hoping for a fairly routine win but St Mirren are always a team that can surprise you from time to time. Did think about heading down for the game but the early kick off and the fact that it is on Sky Sports put me off. Link to comment
ebbe Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 we'll dig out a 0-1 here I reckon. train doon with a squad of bandwagon jumpers, fitba then an engagement party in Maryhill, should be fun like. Link to comment
the_shrimp Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 We're super so I recon it'll be 4 or 5 nil to us. Rooney will score. Pawlett will defiantly score. Robson will score from a corner. Hayes will run and cross the ball. Langfield won't have a save to make. I was going to attend this een then I saw the kick off time. It's on the tv isn't it? And it's the day after valentines day so I prob won't be able to stand after pumping my bird all night. Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Taking the bird for her birthday weekend away, her first game of live fitba, lucky girl. 1 Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Any decent boozers near the ground bripod..? Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Any decent boozers near the ground bripod..?I work in Paisley and categorically say, no. Town centre is the only real option, then jump on the train one stop to Paisley St James station. Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Any fellow dandies be frequenting anywhere in particular pre match? Link to comment
rgudon Posted February 10, 2014 Share Posted February 10, 2014 Most probably having beer and breakfast in town then train through. Horseshoe serving from 10am.You get the train from central station? Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 Aye, just after 12 will get you there for KO Is it a lunchtime kick off? Last time I was there I went to the Holiday Inn bar, long time ago, not even sure it's still open. Spent the evening in Paisley station, nice cup of tea and decent mattress, wouldn't recommend a whole weekend there though, menu was limited. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 3-0 to the Aberdeen. Link to comment
Bigslick Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 Wouldn't mind seeing McGinn dropped for this one in favour of Low, just to let him know that he is not indispensable any more. 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 I could see quite a few changes in this one with Anderson and Robson possibly being rested, although with Jack out we're a bit light in midfield. Pawlett was rested for the Motherwell game only to have to come on after 10 minutes, so he may start on the bench, but I think we'll start something like this: LangfieldLogan Tate Reynolds ConsidineFlood LowMcGinn Pawlett HayesRooneysubs: Weaver, Shaughnesey, Anderson, Robson, Smith, Zola, Vernon Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 I could see quite a few changes in this one with Anderson and Robson possibly being rested, although with Jack out we're a bit light in midfield. Pawlett was rested for the Motherwell game only to have to come on after 10 minutes, so he may start on the bench, but I think we'll start something like this: Langfield Logan Tate Reynolds Considine Flood Low McGinn Pawlett Hayes Rooney subs: Weaver, Shaughnesey, Anderson, Robson, Smith, Zola, Vernon Don't think anyone will be deliberately rested for this one. We have three games in a week between the 22nd Feb and 1st March: Partick away (22nd), Celtic home (25th), St Johnstone home (1st). Reckon we're more likely to see players rested (Anderson and Robson the only two, really) at Firhill. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 this is the game where we'll see if that mythical corner has actually been turned. How many teams have had a decent run, beaten one of the filth and then failed to do anything for weeks after over the last few years... Win and I'd say that kind of proves we have the team on our hands we're beginning to think we do. Loose and its not quite there yet. No need to panic or anything if we do loose though, just means there's still a lot of work to do to secure 2nd and to be confident of winning at least 1 of the cups. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 Don't think anyone will be deliberately rested for this one. We have three games in a week between the 22nd Feb and 1st March: Partick away (22nd), Celtic home (25th), St Johnstone home (1st). Reckon we're more likely to see players rested (Anderson and Robson the only two, really) at Firhill.Thankfully we don't have Motherwell, Hearts or The Rangers in the Quarter Final the week before the League Cup final. Hopefully we'll go a few goals up early on and then take off Pawlett, Hayes and Anderson for the final. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 Important to get 3 points here to get back to winning ways in the league. Link to comment
RDU_64 Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 I could see quite a few changes in this one with Anderson and Robson possibly being rested, although with Jack out we're a bit light in midfield. Pawlett was rested for the Motherwell game only to have to come on after 10 minutes, so he may start on the bench, but I think we'll start something like this: Langfield Logan Tate Reynolds Considine Flood Low McGinn Pawlett Hayes Rooney subs: Weaver, Shaughnesey, Anderson, Robson, Smith, Zola, Vernon If we were to rest Anderson, I would put Shaughnesey in at centre back. Tate hasn't impressed me. Ok, against Hibs, he played at right back which he isn't. His lack of pace is worrying and I just fear is legs may have gone. Link to comment
supermario Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 I'd play Anderson and Reynolds for sure. Steven Thompson can be a threat and think they're experience of him is key Link to comment
Sandafc Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 If we were to rest Anderson, I would put Shaughnesey in at centre back. Tate hasn't impressed me. Ok, against Hibs, he played at right back which he isn't. His lack of pace is worrying and I just fear is legs may have gone. Was RB he played against ICT not Hibs, where I believe he struggled? I thought he strolled the game against Hibs to be honest. Link to comment
RDU_64 Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 Was RB he played against ICT not Hibs, where I believe he struggled? I thought he strolled the game against Hibs to be honest. Ah yes, you are correct. Played centre back against Hibs. Still worry about his pace and Hibs, going forward, were absolutely awful that game. Don't think he's the answer even as a backup/stop-gap. Link to comment
Northernlad Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 We were shit when we played them on the Monday night game earlier in the season. Lessons will have been learned 1-3. Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted February 11, 2014 Share Posted February 11, 2014 We were shit when we played them on the Monday night game earlier in the season. Lessons will have been learned 1-3. I thought it was more down to how good St Mirren were that night rather than how poor we were. They hit us pressing really high from the start. Once they got their goal they got a bit nervous, didn't know whether to continue the way they'd been going prior to taking the lead or sit back and go deep. Had we scored a tad earlier than we did, I'm sure we would've won that night. Remember in injury time McGinn coming down the left and going for a shot, when he had Hayes square who would've just tapped it in. That game seemed to spark a mini-revival in St Mirren at a time when it looked like Danny Lennon might get the boot. They're in need of another mini-revival. Hope it doesn't start on Saturday. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted February 12, 2014 Share Posted February 12, 2014 I thought it was more down to how good St Mirren were that night rather than how poor we were. They hit us pressing really high from the start. Once they got their goal they got a bit nervous, didn't know whether to continue the way they'd been going prior to taking the lead or sit back and go deep. Had we scored a tad earlier than we did, I'm sure we would've won that night. Remember in injury time McGinn coming down the left and going for a shot, when he had Hayes square who would've just tapped it in. That game seemed to spark a mini-revival in St Mirren at a time when it looked like Danny Lennon might get the boot. They're in need of another mini-revival. Hope it doesn't start on Saturday. We were shit in the first half down to one of the very few mistakes McInnes has made since he came here. He tried to accomodate both Zola & Vernon as it was the Monday after Vernon's hat trick v Falkirk. Second half we played a bit better. We'll win 1-0 on Saturday. Link to comment
livi Red Posted February 12, 2014 Share Posted February 12, 2014 How many tickets have we sold for the game? Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 12, 2014 Share Posted February 12, 2014 I hope we don't do that british sport thing, where you win a big one and then think that's it, this game is not so important. balls to that, let's get tore in and put 4 past these muggy caaahnts as well. get the shitey hoops flappin.mon you reds!! Link to comment