Banksy Scandal Bullshit

Bobby Connor

So... one Banksy somewhere down south got sprayed all over with slogans that I can't quite make out and the BBC are in outrage. I'm assuming that it said "Banksy is a poof" purely because that's what I would have wrote. Not because I don't believe he's a bit of a legend but because his artwork is illegal graffiti and is therefore fair game for other illegal graffiti regardless of wether it has merit or not.

If I drew a smiley face on a beach I wouldn't have any right to moan about the sea coming in and wiping it out or if some kid made a sandcastle in the middle of it or drew a cock in the sand.

Just because his graffiti is better than most doesn't really avoid the fact that it's still graffiti. If he wanted it to be permanent than he should have chosen a different platform. Perhaps one than what isn't the equivalent of sketching in sand.

If the Mona Lisa was hung up in Inverness High St. I would be the first one out with a permanent marker drawing a belter of a moustache.

If you want it to be tret like a piece of fine art that is to be preserved for humanity then paint it on a fucking canvas and hang it in an art gallery. Don't try to be all Mr Fucking cool if you can't accept the nature of the medium you are working in.

Stupid BBC shite.

If you've seen his art book "Wall and Piece" most of his stuff disnae last anyway, either the council wipes it out or folk graffiti all over it so I dinna think yon Banksy gadgie loses much sleep over it. It's just the arty farty crowd that are going mental. I like a bit of art now and again, but if you think about it, what Banksy does, although it really is vandalism, is an art form that is ultimately disposable. Even though it costs councils a small fortune to clean off.

You nailed it there when you said it was a disposable art form which is basically what I was also saying. No point in the BBC or anyone else getting their knickers in a twist. It's been photographed to fuck so we all know what it was supposed to look like.

You don't have to be in the 'arty farty' crowd to call it correctly so take 5 gold stars from me.

Here's an excerpt from his book:

Speak softly, but carry a big can of paint. Mona Lisa with rocket launcher 15 minutes. Soho 2001. Later converted to Osama Bin Laden by an unknown artist. Then removed after two days.

banksy_mona_lisa_streetart_clothing_tshi

Couldn't find the converted image but you get the gist. He disnae gie the remotest of fucks as to what happens to his art, so why the art farty crowd are getting their knickers in a twist, well that's their problem.

Overrated IMO. He uses stencils. A child can do this. His pieces are interesting and clever but if done by anyone else they wouldn't be worth a fraction of what deluded twats pay for his originals. Good save from pele right enough

Yeah, this is my thought too. Spray paint over a stencil with a sledgehammer-subtle political message. It's hardly fucking Salvador Dali.

Still, he's made a bit of cash from it, so good luck to the lad.

Yeah, this is my thought too. Spray paint over a stencil with a sledgehammer-subtle political message. It's hardly fucking Salvador Dali. I

Still, he's made a bit of cash from it, so good luck to the lad.

Salvador fuckin dally

Who that cunt?

I only deal in masters.

Overrated IMO. He uses stencils. A child can do this. His pieces are interesting and clever but if done by anyone else they wouldn't be worth a fraction of what deluded twats pay for his originals. Good save from pele right enough

I am not that bothered about his work but surely creating the stencil is a bit of work in itself. I child would be better suited to sponges and half potatoes.

I agree maybe he uses stencils so he can get away quicker without being seen

I think what he does is different and whatever way he does it does not matter to much as long as people enjoy it and get the message..

Classic graffiti from around Aberdeen:

A/DEEN THUGS KILL ALL VISITING FANS - College Street

51.6% SCOTLAND SAID AYE - Top of Powis Place, over railway looking towards Erskine Street

NO BILLS - JUST FREDS - St Nicholas Centre build

GAY LIBERATION - there for years, outside Tilted Wig

Soccer Casual Mannie - cartoon ASC mannie under Debenhams car-park, beside the old pishy corner.

Banksy doesn't have a fuckin' look in.

Classic graffiti from around Aberdeen:

A/DEEN THUGS KILL ALL VISITING FANS - College Street

51.6% SCOTLAND SAID AYE - Top of Powis Place, over railway looking towards Erskine Street

NO BILLS - JUST FREDS - St Nicholas Centre build

GAY LIBERATION - there for years, outside Tilted Wig

Soccer Casual Mannie - cartoon ASC mannie under Debenhams car-park, beside the old pishy corner.

Banksy doesn't have a fuckin' look in.

You missed out "Pay No More Than 30 A Score" - numerous locations, Summer 1994