ScottishJohn Posted November 9, 2014 Share Posted November 9, 2014 I need a new phone this week and want some advice on which phone to get and on which network. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 9, 2014 Share Posted November 9, 2014 I would buy a nexus 5 simpy cause its not a rip off, like an iPhone, and its semi decent Link to comment
lukas989 Posted November 9, 2014 Share Posted November 9, 2014 Moto G. Sainsburys mobile. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted November 9, 2014 Share Posted November 9, 2014 Galaxy 5, had it for 6 weeks, good phone. Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted November 9, 2014 Author Share Posted November 9, 2014 Has anyone used the Amazon Fire phone? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 9, 2014 Share Posted November 9, 2014 Has anyone used the Amazon Fire phone? Galaxy S5, I would say. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 I would buy a nexus 5 simpy cause its not a rip off, like an iPhone, and its semi decent not sure how a free phone can be a rip off bluto. -------------------------- 6 plus is decent. The camera is the main improvement and the big screen is good for those of us with fat fingers. You should've maybe tried it bluto, save the world from some of your incoherent shite. Mind you it might take more than spelling properly for that to happen Link to comment
caledonia Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 Get a strong one that will not need any covers and you wont losehttp://www.britishbits.co.uk/k6.htm Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted November 10, 2014 Author Share Posted November 10, 2014 Get a strong one that will not need any covers and you wont losehttp://www.britishbits.co.uk/k6.htm I'd never buy anything off a website with that name. 1 Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 If you live in Aberdeen, get an iPhone on O2 so you can complain about having no battery life or signal. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 Remarkably managed to get a 3G signal (O2) on Queens Road today. Scenes. Link to comment
caledonia Posted November 10, 2014 Share Posted November 10, 2014 I'd never buy anything off a website with that name. lol your fucking right i never noticed the name anyway i am sure the postage is way to high Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 If you live in Aberdeen, get an iPhone 5 on O2 so you can complain about having no battery, life or signal.Fixed that for you Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted November 12, 2014 Author Share Posted November 12, 2014 I got the Amazon Fire. A good phone but needs alot more apps. Not any google ones as Amazon hate Google which is shite for us. Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 Fixed that for you Cheers buddy. Any chance of having a crack at 4G signal too? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 Cheers buddy. Any chance of having a crack at 4G signal too?Works fine around the hospital, just hang around there. Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 Works fine around the hospital, just hang around there. Great Ormond Street? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 Great Ormond Street? so i'm told... Link to comment
Iraq_Red Posted November 12, 2014 Share Posted November 12, 2014 Surprised to get 4G on Vodafail at Pittodrie on Saturday, it was great as didn't get the usual network congestion. Also got 4G with my work phone, which is on 3. Phone wise, have you considered a Windows one? I've the Lumia 930 and I find them great to use Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted November 13, 2014 Author Share Posted November 13, 2014 Due an upgrade soon. I don't want an iPhone - Apple are cunts, I no longer want to be with o2 and I don't want that shitty Amazon Fire phone. Nae sure what I'll get, but I'll probably go to EE.So you're getting a Samsung Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 Plenty other phones out there that isn't Samsung. Windows phone, Nexus or fitever, so nae necessarily. Problem I keep having every time I go to upgrade is nothing quite works as simply and easily as an IPhone. Probably doesnt help I have a mac so getting a phone that has good mac software for transferring music etc isnt easy unless its an Apple, its a trap ken. I was looking around for months before I upgraded last time though, was bored to death of the IPhone, had one since they first came out. Samsung S5 was decent but Android is a pish, slow operating system and windows is garbage. Nokia Windows thing, gadz, windows.Sony, see Samsung and it was really slow to do simple things. You'll end up either pissed off or pretending your not by highlighting things that are 'good' but arent really. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 Samsung Note 2 (current) is best phone I've ever had. I was glad I made move from Apple it has to be said. If you've already got a Samsung and like it then the S5 is meant to be the nuts. Try the new Sony as well, you'll be used to Android. I'd stay away from the Windows ones though, try explaining a virus in your phone when the wee ones been up for 3 days ill, your missus is needing a bit of tlc but youre too busy fixing your phone after ripping the heed aff in the bog Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 I've an LG G2 & noticed that its been quite slow of late.Also have a Nokia Lumia Windows phone for work which is pish. But its free so I tolerate it. Won't be going back to Apple though. I'm with EE. Decent enough service and even now have 4G in Westhill for when I'm surfing the net whilst walking the dog. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 I like HTC's. Contact was actually up in August, been due an upgrade since April. Probably going to go with 3, as O2 are pap. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 Problem I keep having every time I go to upgrade is nothing quite works as simply and easily as an IPhone. Probably doesnt help I have a mac so getting a phone that has good mac software for transferring music etc isnt easy unless its an Apple, its a trap ken. I was looking around for months before I upgraded last time though, was bored to death of the IPhone, had one since they first came out. Samsung S5 was decent but Android is a pish, slow operating system and windows is garbage. Nokia Windows thing, gadz, windows.Sony, see Samsung and it was really slow to do simple things. You'll end up either pissed off or pretending your not by highlighting things that are 'good' but arent really. Nonsense. I've still got the S4 and it is very quick. Android does pretty much everything IOS does, a lot more in fact until they released the newest version of IOS which incorporated old Android stuff, but it also allows you to customize everything from your main screen, your apps screen to having widgets. Android doesn't treat you like a moron like Apple does with their "oh, we can't allow you to do that...no no no, give us it here...we'll do it for you" attitude to their OS. Also Android doesn't have such a tight grip on what Apps are allowed on the market so you can still download things like emulators and music download apps. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 Nonsense. I've still got the S4 and it is very quick. Android does pretty much everything IOS does, a lot more in fact until they released the newest version of IOS which incorporated old Android stuff, but it also allows you to customize everything from your main screen, your apps screen to having widgets. Android doesn't treat you like a moron like Apple does with their "oh, we can't allow you to do that...no no no, give us it here...we'll do it for you" attitude to their OS. Also Android doesn't have such a tight grip on what Apps are allowed on the market so you can still download things like emulators and music download apps. Your S4 may be quick, just not as quick as my IPhone 5 was when it came to finding things through the menu and changing settings, calls, texts, whatsapp, facebook etc and interweb. It has a much better camera and probably has more apps and shit like that. I'd say they are pretty similar phones overall though, just depends what you're after. As I said I'd wouldve probably changed from the IPhone if I wasnt so set in my ways (lazy when it comes to learning how new tech works) and if I didnt use a macbook. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 iTunes is possibly the most infuriating piece of shit i've ever had the displeasure of using. Therefore the iPhone 5/6/7 could be the greatest thing since...well, the iPhone 1 and i wouldn't go near it for that reason. Unfortunately I still have a classic iPod which I use for storing all my music so it's a necessary evil until that packs in. Link to comment
Iraq_Red Posted November 13, 2014 Share Posted November 13, 2014 Next contract Im going on 3, £18 per month on a 30 day contract and unlimited t'internet Link to comment
a don in oz Posted November 14, 2014 Share Posted November 14, 2014 Got myself an iPhone 6 and an IPad Mini 2 (a refurb from Apple: too good a price to turn down). The phone was sitting through the hoose and I had the iPad and was farting around on it when it started bloody ringing. I'd totally forgotten about Continuity and that was the first time I'd ever seen it happening. Very cool! Naturally made a couple of calls from the iPad after it to try it out. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted November 14, 2014 Share Posted November 14, 2014 Got myself an iPhone 6 and an IPad Mini 2 (a refurb from Apple: too good a price to turn down). The phone was sitting through the hoose and I had the iPad and was farting around on it when it started bloody ringing. I'd totally forgotten about Continuity and that was the first time I'd ever seen it happening. Very cool! Naturally made a couple of calls from the iPad after it to try it out. Link to comment