The Cockney Don Posted November 30, 2014 Share Posted November 30, 2014 Happy St Andrew`s Day, my Jock pals 3 Link to comment
caledonia Posted November 30, 2014 Share Posted November 30, 2014 cheers min Happy St Andrew`s Day, my Jock pals cheers min time it was a national holiday Link to comment
dervish Posted November 30, 2014 Share Posted November 30, 2014 Thanks, I'm celebrating it in the traditional way. Drinking all the random booze I don't normally touch unless I'm in such a bind. Not on the mouthwash yet, but then again it is early. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted December 1, 2014 Share Posted December 1, 2014 Takes an Englisher to point out it's Scotland's national day 2 Link to comment
caledonia Posted December 1, 2014 Share Posted December 1, 2014 Takes an Englisher to point out it's Scotland's national day noticed that even the happy thanksgiving topic got 17 reply s this one has 4 well 5 now Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted December 2, 2014 Share Posted December 2, 2014 Happy St Andrew`s Day, my Jock pals Happy St Andrews Day - fair play to you. I went to a St Andrews Day sung mass last night (latin mind, none of that modern rubbish). it was first rate. I love the smell of incense - it beats even that of napalm in the morning Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted December 2, 2014 Share Posted December 2, 2014 Takes an Englisher to point out it's Scotland's national day Aye but the day is utterly meaningless in contemporary, post-Christian Scotland. I saw "ideas to celebrate st andrews day" in the press and it was stuff like "paint a saltire on your face" - puerile guff, needless to say there was no mention of St Andrew / who he was / what he represents etc. Its a shame how hollowed-out our national identity has become. Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted November 30, 2015 Author Share Posted November 30, 2015 Happy St Andrew's Day me old jock china's. 1 Link to comment
RAZOR Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Whats with FB having the Romanian flag doing the rounds? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Whats with FB having the Romanian flag doing the rounds? St Andrew is also the Patron Saint of Romania, as well as Scotland. (bunch of other places too). Its a public holiday in Romania, which is an extremely religious country (close to 100% of Romanian population say they are religious). Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Romanians are a right weird lot Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Weird cunts up our way want to celebrate Paddys Day more than St Andys Day. Twats. St Patrick was born in Scotland - as with most things the micks are famous for, they stole him from us! They should pay us a royalty Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Romanians are a right weird lot They have many gorgeous women and make decent cars, so are alright in my book Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 St George is from Syria, something ironic about that Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 They have many gorgeous women and make decent cars, so are alright in my book That's what I meant apart from cars (DACIA FFS) some fantastic woman and generally they all like a party and a drink but they have all those who are more or less peasants or live in Transylvania Weird looking folk who look like Andre the Giant Link to comment
zander Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 St George is from Syria, something ironic about thatAs is our Drew. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 That's what I meant apart from cars (DACIA FFS) some fantastic woman and generally they all like a party and a drink but they have all those who are more or less peasants or live in Transylvania Weird looking folk who look like Andre the Giant Ive never driven a Dacia, but thought they were no' bad cars? The women are class right enough. As for weird looking folk, never mind Romania - just drive through Govan or Parkhead! Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 maybe if St. Andrew's Day was a holiday that everyone got the day off to actually celebrate, it might have more takers.like a real national holiday? Happy St. Andrew's Day, all! x Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Not sure what we would do to celebrate such a day (or man)It is not as if Scottish people need another excuse Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 Yes, happy St Andrews Day! I'm going to celebrate it with silent contemplation of the great achievements of Scots long dead. Our contribution to the Arts, Literature, Medicine and Technology. I'll read my favourite Robert Burns sonnets followed by my favourite passages from the life of Sir Alexander Fleming. A trip to the Sottish National Portrait Gallery to round off the day I think. Na, fuck it, I'm gonna get pished instead!! Link to comment
caledonia Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 :beer: :applause: :applause: :applause: Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted November 30, 2015 Share Posted November 30, 2015 :beer: :applause: :applause: :applause:It's nae St Paddy's day Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 Happy dinna offend the immigrants day. Link to comment
caledonia Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 Not allowed to fly our own flag on st andrews day now http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-patron-saint-of-north-britain/#comments Scroll back up to top Link to comment
zander Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 Where's the actual part that says we can't project saltires on to buildings? If that was actually true don't you think Sturgeon et all would be out in force greeting about it. Wings over Scotland is just as bad as Britain First for propaganda. Should have added who can actually stop the Scottish Government from doing so? Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted November 30, 2016 Author Share Posted November 30, 2016 Got beaten to it this year(which is a good thing). Happy St Andrew's Day. Link to comment
The Buzzard Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 It's the day I hatched but celebrations consist of sitting at my desk. Link to comment
caledonia Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 Where's the actual part that says we can't project saltires on to buildings? If that was actually true don't you think Sturgeon et all would be out in force greeting about it. Wings over Scotland is just as bad as Britain First for propaganda. Should have added who can actually stop the Scottish Government from doing so?Your a nae richter you go out your way to defend anything anti Scottish Link to comment
360 Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 Not allowed to fly our own flag on st andrews day now http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-patron-saint-of-north-britain/#comments Scroll back up to top Anyone with more than half a brain cell could see that the removal of "#comments" from the URL would negate having to scroll up. I can see why you struggled with that, and I can also see why you are so keen for a divorce from the United Kingdom. As you will finally be on the "winning" side of a divorce, unlike when your ex-wife divorced you. Wings over Scotland is just as bad as Britain First for propaganda. Absolutely. Gross misrepresentation, smear campaigns and a pure hatred for those who are not the same are some of the common traits between the two. Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted November 30, 2016 Share Posted November 30, 2016 Too right it would be the 'winning' side, getting rid the English millstone round our necks Link to comment