fine-n-dandy Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Nuttall being very busy. Sounds pretty keen Link to comment
Tord31 Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Left at half time FFS Only thing I learned from first half is there is no way Flood is starting Saturday Link to comment
paddy Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 CHAMPIONS!!!!!! :trophy: :trophy: :trophy: :trophy: Link to comment
zander Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Any word when the open top bus parade is? Link to comment
The Cockney Don Posted September 8, 2015 Author Share Posted September 8, 2015 We won the cup we won the cup ee aye adio we won the cup Link to comment
KidCreole Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Glad Nuttall sounds good Link to comment
RAZOR Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Parker?Played his part in a 1-0 victory over Guatemala. The Bennaboys would get their break in the second half after a Guatemalan defender handled Aberdeen striker Josh Parkers shot in the box. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Glad Nuttall sounds goodI think it's Joe Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Nuttall!He's gonna score NuttallHe's gonna score Nuttall Link to comment
Dave Bus Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Nuttall was terrible, missed a one on one with no pressure, missed a sitter where he put it straight at the keeper and missed a straight forward header with the goal gaping. Rose looks a very good prospect, frank Ross and scott Wright were also impressive Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 Nuttall was terrible, missed a one on one with no pressure, missed a sitter where he put it straight at the keeper and missed a straight forward header with the goal gaping. Rose looks a very good prospect, frank Ross and scott Wright were also impressiveAwe fuck Nae another Darren Mackie? I have faith. Nuttall!He's gonna score NuttallHe's gonna score Nuttall Link to comment
Guest Posted September 8, 2015 Share Posted September 8, 2015 1st half pants. They probably went the opposite from us in that they started with strongest team and then took on fringe players 2nd half. We went the other way.... thankfully. The played with pace, in our faces and made good use of the width they had in their formation. The two black strikers they had were very effective and skillful. Robson - ready for management. Good pro, but by god, he's well past his sell by date. Michael Rose is a unit. I like the look of the lad. A Zander Diamond when he broke into our side, without the headless chicken aspect. Could make his mark in the side in next 2 seasons. Good back up for Reynolds/Ash/Quinn. Other than that, I thought Frank Ross looked a bit lost out on the right - not sure what his natural position is, but he wasn't at the races. Pawlett was rank poor 1st half, as was Cammy Smith. Robson and Flood were intent on sitting back and as a result, we had no guile going forward at all. 2nd half was like night and day as expected when subs came on. We improved and they were on the back foot a wee bitty more. Main observations for me, are that Hayes is pure class at full back. I'd quite happily play him there every week, overlapping with say Shinnie..... who, as it happens, is not a central midfielder. He lost possession far too many times. He seems to lack concentration in there. Full back or left mid for me thanks Dek. Nuttal lacked sharpness but you know what - he just seems to have this knack of being in the right place at the right time. I think we could be on to a winner with this lad. He has that Daniel Sturridge type of swagger in him and has a physical presence. Should have scored a hatrick mind! Scott Wright - more meat on a butcher's pencil, but he's got a few good skills in his locker and a right turn of pace. He reminds me a bit of Pawlett when he broke in. Speaking of Peepaw, he came onto a game 2nd half when the work was being done by the likes of Jack, McLean, Hayes and Shinnie, but that's probably why he's spent and will spend, most of this season on the bench. Reasonably entertaining game and decent value for money Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 FFS guys, Nuttal has had no pre season and is just back from a knee op, he had 20 minutes to make his mark and was understandably nervous on his first Pittodrie outing, to get into positions where he could have scored 3 is great going, give the lad a chance before writing him off, he has a two year contract and is just at the beginning of his journey. Not aimed at you TWD just the rest of the plebs, I believe we have a star on our hands, lets encourage him to the max, we're lucky he's here, lets encourage the guy. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 1st half pants. They probably went the opposite from us in that they started with strongest team and then took on fringe players 2nd half. We went the other way.... thankfully. The played with pace, in our faces and made good use of the width they had in their formation. The two black strikers they had were very effective and skillful. Robson - ready for management. Good pro, but by god, he's well past his sell by date. Michael Rose is a unit. I like the look of the lad. A Zander Diamond when he broke into our side, without the headless chicken aspect. Could make his mark in the side in next 2 seasons. Good back up for Reynolds/Ash/Quinn. Other than that, I thought Frank Ross looked a bit lost out on the right - not sure what his natural position is, but he wasn't at the races. Pawlett was rank poor 1st half, as was Cammy Smith. Robson and Flood were intent on sitting back and as a result, we had no guile going forward at all. 2nd half was like night and day as expected when subs came on. We improved and they were on the back foot a wee bitty more. Main observations for me, are that Hayes is pure class at full back. I'd quite happily play him there every week, overlapping with say Shinnie..... who, as it happens, is not a central midfielder. He lost possession far too many times. He seems to lack concentration in there. Full back or left mid for me thanks Dek. Nuttal lacked sharpness but you know what - he just seems to have this knack of being in the right place at the right time. I think we could be on to a winner with this lad. He has that Daniel Sturridge type of swagger in him and has a physical presence. Should have scored a hatrick mind! Scott Wright - more meat on a butcher's pencil, but he's got a few good skills in his locker and a right turn of pace. He reminds me a bit of Pawlett when he broke in. Speaking of Peepaw, he came onto a game 2nd half when the work was being done by the likes of Jack, McLean, Hayes and Shinnie, but that's probably why he's spent and will spend, most of this season on the bench. Reasonably entertaining game and decent value for money Link to comment
Foster14 Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 TWL always has to have something completely ridiculous in there. Shinnie not a centre mid, due to losing possession a too many times in an ultimately pointless game. Ignoring him being our best player while playing there in the Euro ties and having a very good record there while at Inverness. Anyway, didn't watch the game but Considine at left back, Quinn at centre back and Shinnie playing in central midfield may give an indication of thoughts for the weekend. Link to comment
Sandafc Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 TWL always has to have something completely ridiculous in there. Shinnie not a centre mid, due to losing possession a too many times in an ultimately pointless game. Ignoring him being our best player while playing there in the Euro ties and having a very good record there while at Inverness. Anyway, didn't watch the game but Considine at left back, Quinn at centre back and Shinnie playing in central midfield may give an indication of thoughts for the weekend. I think Shinnie will play in midfield on Saturday too actually but last night was only playing midfield for 20 mins once Flood and Robson went off. Came on for Considine at left back at half time. Link to comment
Guest Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 TWL always has to have something completely ridiculous in there. Shinnie not a centre mid, due to losing possession a too many times in an ultimately pointless game. Ignoring him being our best player while playing there in the Euro ties and having a very good record there while at Inverness. Anyway, didn't watch the game but Considine at left back, Quinn at centre back and Shinnie playing in central midfield may give an indication of thoughts for the weekend. I'm not basing my assessment on 20 mins of last night's game... rather over a period of previous games I've seen him played there. Most of the time, the errors of losing possession have came when he's started at left back and moved to centre mid later on in the game. I think he's fine if he starts the game there (a la various Europa games), but whenever I've seen him make the transition during a game, he struggles to get up to speed with the tempo. I don't know if this is just a slight trait of his, and he can fix that problem. I'd like to think so as he's light years ahead of any previous left back we've had and is definitely one of our best players. However, 3 or 4 slack passes and/or caught in possession, not just last night against a fading Viking team, but also in a couple of other games. I don't mind players losing the ball in the opposition half, but not in our own as it puts us under immediate pressure in that area of the pitch. I think Shinnie will play in midfield on Saturday too actually but last night was only playing midfield for 20 mins once Flood and Robson went off. Came on for Considine at left back at half time. We looked a far better unit when Dek set us up with 3 centre backs and 5 across midfield (with Hayes as one of the wing backs if you like). Hayes has the pace to get back and cover and also the attacking flair to break forward and produce that moment of magic when we counter. Dunno how he'll play it on Sat - just hope he doesn't play McLean in that centre mid role next to Jack.... last night prove yet again, what a threat and potent force he is, when played up front or just sat in behind the striker. Did I say how good Hayes looked last night? Back to his brilliant best. Let's hope the mini break has done him good as it looked like he was playing with a slight injury for the start of the season. He had similar issues last season if I recall. Looked fresh and razor sharp last night. I likey!! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 Nuttall was terrible, missed a one on one with no pressure, missed a sitter where he put it straight at the keeper and missed a straight forward header with the goal gaping. Rose looks a very good prospect, frank Ross and scott Wright were also impressiveAnother Shankland then? Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 Have faith. The fact that Nuttall only had 20 minutes suggests he's going to take a few weeks to be ready.He has pace and got into some great positions. Yes, he missed chances but it's pretty obvious that hehas ability.Second half was decent in comparison to the first and I hope Hayes starts off on Saturday in the same styleas he displayed last night. Link to comment
Guest Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 Another Shankland then? I know the ladies will tell you size doesn't matter. But big Joe has stature. He has a physical presence. Shank the Tank may be pinging them in at reserve level (and a league or two below the SPL). But I don't feel like he really commands the area. Joe looks like Hector did - he has that swagger, that presence. You just sense by watching him he could be a star in the making. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 Can't help feeling we suffer by sporadically trying to accommodate McGinn, Goodwillie and Maclean all into that attacking outside right position alongside Rooney. Choose one (like others its Maclean for me) decide what to do with Mcginn (related to whats happening with Logan who should be overlapping with him) and Goodwillie drops out, or if we must, swaps with Rooney to retain the ball and avoid Rooney getting tired/injured. I think the back four is fairly firm whilst giving us the flexibility to bring Shinnie into midfield alongside Jack. Easier games we'll drop Quinn, pull Shinnie left and put Flood in alongside Jack. Hayes on the left (combines very well with Shinnie and Considine) Rooney's in the middle leaves two. Maclean for me fairly advanced alongside Rooney leaves McGinn to do a relatively free role, but since we're keeping Logan in check to do all these square passes around the defence just and solely to piss off the south stand, it sounds like more of a wingers role for now, which he does very well when he can be arsed. Cannot wait for Saturday! Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 Here we go, 3 in a row #OffshoreEuropeCup Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 I have faith. Nuttall!He's gonna score NuttallHe's gonna score Nuttall Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted September 9, 2015 Share Posted September 9, 2015 Just over ten minutes on the park & Nuttall has about six touches in total & four of them are shots on goal. All but one are on target. The one off target was only inches off target.The ones on target weren't the most worrying for the keeper but at least he's hitting the target, which is the most important thing. Given time his touch will come I predict. He's only just back from injury & yet still looked a hard player to defend against. Hopefully he gets a decent injury free run to get up to speed. He looks good. I have faith. Nuttall!He's gonna score NuttallHe's gonna score NuttallHe's gonna score Nuttall Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted September 10, 2015 Share Posted September 10, 2015 Just watched this game. Wright was very impressive.Hayes looked in unplayable mode. Hope that continues through to Saturday. Nuttall looked sharp considering just coming back from injury.He found himself some excellent positions.Sort of fluffed a header 15 seconds after coming on, had a great sliding attempt that just shaved the post.He then found himself through on goal, under pressure from defenders but didn't quite get the power needed to beat the keeper.Then should have done much better from a central position after a spill from the keeper but directed it straight back at him.There's a bit of promise there methinks. Kenny McLean is a goal machine, and a player with bags of skill and technique.Some signing. Link to comment