OddJob Posted February 26, 2017 Share Posted February 26, 2017 Diagnosed with Dementia his family confirmed https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/39095623 Real shame like. Always had great things to say about the Dons and revealed leaving us after a year was his biggest regret Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 26, 2017 Share Posted February 26, 2017 Diagnosed with Dementia his family confirmed https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/39095623 Real shame like. Always had great things to say about the Dons and revealed leaving us after a year was his biggest regret Do we know how bad it is? I thought it was "kinda" manageable if caught in early stages?Edit - wiki saying he can no longer speak? FFS. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 26, 2017 Share Posted February 26, 2017 Do we know how bad it is? I thought it was "kinda" manageable if caught in early stages?Edit - wiki saying he can no longer speak? FFS."Manageable" for fuck sake man, if you think seeing member of your family in that state, is " manageable" then you are a better man than most that is a very uncaring thing to say, i wouldnt wish that on anyone .delete you account. AYE, EVEN ALL YOU CUNTS ON HERE ! ( i know im going soft) i will make an exception for Jimmy Calderwood thougn the shite he spouts i reckon he has it already. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 27, 2017 Share Posted February 27, 2017 "Manageable" for fuck sake man, if you think seeing member of your family in that state, is " manageable" then you are a better man than most that is a very uncaring thing to say, i wouldnt wish that on anyone .delete you account. AYE, EVEN ALL YOU CUNTS ON HERE ! ( i know im going soft) i will make an exception for Jimmy Calderwood thougn the shite he spouts i reckon he has it already.Looking thru the symptoms...is it not exactly the same as banging back about 5 hot knives?... Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted February 27, 2017 Share Posted February 27, 2017 Obviously billy doesn't have long left. I think we need to recognise what he started to build.When he does pass away that will be MacLeod. McNeil. Porterfield all gone. Aye Ferguson must be shitting himself Link to comment
The Lighthouse Posted February 27, 2017 Share Posted February 27, 2017 It is without doubt a cunt of a disease and is definitely on the increase. Sad news about Billy as he was a top player, manager and by all accounts a very decent man. 1 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 27, 2017 Share Posted February 27, 2017 did he do enough at AFC to be considered for the hall of fame? Link to comment
Nelly Posted February 27, 2017 Share Posted February 27, 2017 Will always be thought of as a Celtic legend. As sad as the news is lets leave it to them to arrange the year long tributes. They are the specialists. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 did he do enough at AFC to be considered for the hall of fame?No he did not imo (in my opinion). Link to comment
Oregon Red Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 I think McNeill took over from Ally and moved the club forward..to Fergie that led to the ECWC.I think we would have been successful under McNeill, maybe not as much as Ferguson though.I think he is deserving of Semi-Legend status! Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 long before my time so I only ask the question Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 He was here one season. Pretty sure we went undefeated from middle of December to the very last day of the season, the cup final v the defunct hun fucks.Aboot 25 games, vast majority wins. Had a chance to win title on last day, and probably would have had it nae been for blatant fucking hun cheating in the title run-in. Some things never changed. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 28, 2017 Share Posted February 28, 2017 Yup, a good manager for us - we played well under him - was gutted to see him go - little did I know - Fergie did better at resisting the lure of the ugly sisters. Awful illness - probably now more a challenge for his family - would wish him well given the chance. Link to comment
Guest Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 Remember his one season in charge, most definitely prepared the foundation for the future Fergie success.Don't normally praise Tims or Huns.But in this case, dead or alive, Billy always had my total respect.A hell of an illness the poor man and his family had to suffer.RIP big man, you will never be forgotten for your part in the Dons' history. Link to comment
leftside Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 He bought Strachan and Archibald, brought McLeish into the first and was close to winning the double.I remember a fantastic 4 - 1 home win against the victims as the highlight of his time here. RIP. 6 Link to comment
Henry Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 This will be a grief-fest the likes of which we’ve never seen. 2 Link to comment
RUL Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 Such a shame, a great supporter of our great club through the years. I think anyone who knows someone with dementia will agree that his wife must be one hell of a woman to have coped these last few years. Link to comment
Poodler Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 This will be a grief-fest the likes of which we’ve never seen.Wonder if Liverpool will get involved Link to comment
jamiesd Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 RIP Billy. Met him briefly and biggest regret in Footy was leaving the dons to soon. Link to comment
BWG Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 This will be a grief-fest the likes of which we’ve never seen. Indeed.I think we should name the new stadium the Billy McNeil Arena... it'll probably only last the one year as well. Link to comment
Guest Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 This will be a grief-fest the likes of which we’ve never seen.If Willie Miller died we'd be the same. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 A legend of the game - a good manager for us - a gent by all accounts - horrible illness for him and his family - RIP Billy 4 Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 23, 2019 Author Share Posted April 23, 2019 Such a shame, a great supporter of our great club through the years. I think anyone who knows someone with dementia will agree that his wife must be one hell of a woman to have coped these last few years.Correct, an absolutely awful illness and terrible to see your loved one in that sort of state. And as Woody says wouldn’t normally care so much about the OF ex players etc but McNeil is different as he was an absolute gent and had nothing but praise for our club too RIP Billy 1 Link to comment
Torry Tosser Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 RIP....A great player and a good guy who had respect for all in the game.True Gent. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 Tribute at Celtic game required Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 doublepost. Fuck the tims. 2 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 23, 2019 Share Posted April 23, 2019 Tribute at Celtic game requiredBig Billy knew card display? 1 1 Link to comment