Aberdeen 2 - 0 Hibs

Just now, tightbreeks said:

If we beat the huns on the 22nd, the signs are pointing to a potentially great season. Maybe having no fans at pittodrie helps, coz even with fans it's like a morgue.

This is what we always do though.  Get ourselves into a good position to do something then lose the big games that matter.

Time to start changing that if we are ever to progress. 

Going to be a tough 90 minutes without Hayes, McGrorie and Watkins. McGeough being out as well makes it even worse as it means Ojo is back in the frame.  Which will mean the midfield sitting really deep. 

Would be a massive bounce if we go down there and do them again though like we did a couple of times in Gerrard's early days. 

1 minute ago, aberdeen1970 said:

This is what we always do though.  Get ourselves into a good position to do something then lose the big games that matter.

Time to start changing that if we are ever to progress. 

Going to be a tough 90 minutes without Hayes, McGrorie and Watkins. McGeough being out as well makes it even worse as it means Ojo is back in the frame.  Which will mean the midfield sitting really deep. 

Would be a massive bounce if we go down there and do them again though like we did a couple of times in Gerrard's early days. 

Heard tonight that McGeouch is not as bad as first thought

Delighted with that result.

Great first 25 mins and then McInnes decided, and fair enough to be honest, to try and make it a non event after that.

I'm surprised he didn't try to get any minutes in to Ojo or Devlin before Ibrox

edit. fair enough comment is because we conceded 7 in the previous 3 games.

1 hour ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Need to tie both Wright and McLennan down.  There's a long list of players who we can shed next summer before we start thinking about losing them.  

Big turnaround as most on here would have happily seen Wright, Hedges and Mclennan moved on in the summer. Agree all 3 need tied down to longer deals

10 minutes ago, Sheepo said:

Big turnaround as most on here would have happily seen Wright, Hedges and Mclennan moved on in the summer. Agree all 3 need tied down to longer deals

Aye, football can change fortunes quickly. For better or worse. 

McLennan turned 21 just a few weeks ago and has 60 odd appearances in the last 2 and a bit seasons since he broke through. He's a regular in the Scotland under 21s and there's plenty of competition in that squad for midfield places.  Just don't see the point in letting someone like that leave at such a young age.  I think the new formation will suit him better. 

We're just starting to see Wright make a real impact now and he's a couple of years older.  And McKenna didn't even break into the side really until he was McLennan’s age. 

100% add another vote to contract extensions to be offered to mclennan, wright and hedges. We are not in a position to offer increase of more than a quid here and there though so unlikely to be straightforward.

It would be nice if we were worrying about Cosgrove's contract before long ie he is banging in goals

1 minute ago, rocket_scientist said:

Joke defending by Hibs = 2-0.

Kennedy gave away a pen and a free kick on the edge, denied by dreadful refereeing.

He also failed to get a deadball past the 1st defender in the final third. Del needs to hammer him for that. Inexcusable. Decent player but that shits piss poor. St J standard isnt acceptable for us. 

13 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

A main striker getting the ball outside the box with time to run toward goal and nobody close enough to get near him is as clear a one-to-one as possible. It's arguably the easiest situation ever so if that's "a lot of work to do", fuck knows what a medium amount or a little bit of work to do looks like, before we even talk about easy chances let alone sitters. 

Your a hard man to please.

Put it this way the likes of Curtis  Main would have ballooned it over the roof of the Red Shed 

Actually with the inside of his foot I still think it was an excellent finish and he meant it

Very confident finish

7 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Agree with yin and yang. Disagree with soft. As clear as day, as it always is when the defending player runs into the attacking player and clearly knocks him over without getting anywhere near the ball.

And a great football authority backed me up so we must be right, some fucking gluepot in a pink jaiket who's never played the game, the game being men's fitba. Putting these females on the panel is excrutiating. 

Absolutely fucking excruciating. Pardon the cliche but it PC gone fucking insane. 

These women are pub league standard players/ex-players at best. Get them to fuck away from talking with ‘authority’ on our top level game. Laughably bad. It only detracts from it.

1 minute ago, ABERDEENROWIE1903 said:

Your a hard man to please.

Put it this way the likes of Curtis  Main would have ballooned it over the roof of the Red Shed 

Actually with the inside of his foot I still think it was an excellent finish and he meant it

Very confident finish

Agreed. It was a great finish. Wrong foot aswell. Darren Mackie/Stavrum/Lee Miller/Vernon etc wouldnt have scored in that position let alone do it with such aplomb.