Steven Gunn- Football Operations Manager.

15 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

LOL, that’s harsh.

I don’t hate the guy.

He’s just in a role that he’s not suited for, through no fault of his.

Makes absolutely sure he isn’t anywhere near the job next season. Better safe than sorry. And for what it’s worth, I hear he’s a bellend. 

42 minutes ago, Dandie1992 said:

Can I have it translated into Doric please?

No you fucking can't, you cheeky tart. 

Although... what we can do is have someone who likely doesn't speak Doric read a poem in their 'poash Scoattish eccent' to reel in the middle class listener. 

Oh, michty, but ey was fair scunnert,

as ey put on mey scerf end mey bunnet

sort of thing. 

12 hours ago, Ke1t said:

Yeah... you rarely hear good things about this site or its posters when it's mentioned on other football sites. Usually 'scum' and 'vermin' and the like are used heavily when we are mentioned. 

'Legitimate' fan things like yer podcasts and the like,  even the club itself, also seem to avoid mentioning The Hat. 

We've said it for years, The Hat needs to spread its wings a bit and start doing one of these fashionably wanky podcasts, have some old and current players on, ask them proper fitba questions like, "Have you ever shat yourself as a grown up?" or "Can you throw a kettle over a pub?"

A 'Diet Tips Fae Joey Harper' segment for the fitness-oriented fans. 

Kelt's Kunts podcast incoming...

15 hours ago, Parklife said:

Absolute pish. You (and most of the people who follow Scottish football) have an old-school, stuck in the past viewpoint.  

Nice to hear that you agree.

The quality of football before the inception of DoFs was far better than the quality that is served up today.

Unfortunately, due to football becoming more and more commercialised and less of a competitive sport over the past 30+ years, it' is embedded in the psyche of the majority of supporters that a DoF is an absolute necessity for any club to have in their payroll. The mainstream media have played an absolute masterstroke in.airing this mistaken belief and, as a consequence, how it has easily influenced the majority of supporters.

Nothing wrong with being old-school or having an objective old-school opinion.

10 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

The quality of football before the inception of DoFs was far better than the quality that is served up today.

No. It's not. That's absolute drivel. Elite Football of the past 15 years is at a higher level than it has ever been  

Pep's Barca and Pep's Man City would destroy pretty much every team in history. Both clubs employed Sporting Directors/Directors of Football. 

10 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Unfortunately, due to football becoming more and more commercialised and less of a competitive sport over the past 30+ years, it' is embedded in the psyche of the majority of supporters that a DoF is an absolute necessity for any club to have in their payroll. The mainstream media have played an absolute masterstroke in.airing this mistaken belief and, as a consequence, how it has easily influenced the majority of supporters.

Drivel, considering what we mostly hear from pundits is the kind of ill-informed viewpoints that you're espousing. 

32 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

A director of football works well when it's done properly. A genuine style of play is imprinted at all levels so that youth coming through play the same style as the 1st team. It should mean that a change in manager or head coach shouldn't have a major impact on how the team performs.

We've just totally fucked up the implementation of the role. Managers come in and we are signing a new team of players to facilitate their style of play.

Of the mistakes made by Cormack this is one of the biggest. Employing an admin guy at Pittodrie to take up the role because he pulled a few slides together. Fuck up after fuck up. Basic tasks not done because this person has no background in football.

5 minutes ago, brownie said:

A director of football works well when it's done properly. A genuine style of play is imprinted at all levels so that youth coming through play the same style as the 1st team.

Correct. Under Gunn our strategy/style of football has changed multiple times by the looks of it. 

We spent less then a year with the attacking football philosophy then binned it because shockingly a B team manager wasn’t the right person to implement it.

33 minutes ago, Parklife said:

No. It's not. That's absolute drivel. Elite Football of the past 15 years is at a higher level than it has ever been  

Pep's Barca and Pep's Man City would destroy pretty much every team in history. Both clubs employed Sporting Directors/Directors of Football. 

Drivel, considering what we mostly hear from pundits is the kind of ill-informed viewpoints that you're espousing. 

Only if these teams hypothetically played eachother at the disparate level of fitness. 

Imho elite guys back in the day were technically superior to much of the current elite who mostly rely on physique and pace. They also played on terrible pitches more often as opposed to the bowling greens we are accustomed to now. 

A DoF is necessary for continuity and what not, but what you've said there is just an opinion. 

Just now, CCB III said:

Only if these teams hypothetically played eachother at the disparate level of fitness. 

Imho elite guys back in the day were technically superior to much of the current elite who mostly rely on physique and pace. They also played on terrible pitches more often as opposed to the bowling greens we are accustomed to now. 

I don't agree at all. I think the overall skill of players has improved massively due to the advancement in training methods and the financial realities meaning players at elite level can focus entirely on their craft.  

Just now, CCB III said:

A DoF is necessary for continuity and what not, but what you've said there is just an opinion. 

Of course it's an opinion, I think it's one that stands up to logical scrutiny though. 

Greater investment than ever > more advanced facilities/coaching/training methods > better players and teams. 

23 minutes ago, Parklife said:

I don't agree at all. I think the overall skill of players has improved massively due to the advancement in training methods and the financial realities meaning players at elite level can focus entirely on their craft.  

Of course it's an opinion, I think it's one that stands up to logical scrutiny though. 

Greater investment than ever > more advanced facilities/coaching/training methods > better players and teams. 

Conversely, I think the game has been stifled in many ways by its modernisation and has largely ironed out individual talents in replace of a robotic, methodical approach. 

Elite players back in the day were able to make individual decisions based on their own intelligence. 

Aye, better facilities etc mean if you dropped Aberdeens 1983 ECWC winning side up against Sevilla, who won last years EL, it wouldn't be a contest. 

I still maintain the footballers in either side would be technically every bit as good. They couldn't hide behind explosiveness, stamina or strength alone, they had to be able to play, with obvious exceptions. 

3 hours ago, brownie said:

A director of football works well when it's done properly. A genuine style of play is imprinted at all levels so that youth coming through play the same style as the 1st team. It should mean that a change in manager or head coach shouldn't have a major impact on how the team performs.

We've just totally fucked up the implementation of the role. Managers come in and we are signing a new team of players to facilitate their style of play.

Of the mistakes made by Cormack this is one of the biggest. Employing an admin guy at Pittodrie to take up the role because he pulled a few slides together. Fuck up after fuck up. Basic tasks not done because this person has no background in football.

Cracking summary min. Like you say, if an experienced DoF is appointed, preferably from a professional footballers background, and fulfils their core duties as expected, the role at our club will be required.

However, the current DoF at our club as well as others in the past who generally have only been in the role short-term before leaving AFC (another issue that requires to be answered and addressed), renders the role futile in its current format.

The role is deemed to be essential nowadays at a professional football club as an integral part of the hierarchy between the management and tecruitment staff and the board, but if it is not executed properly, it is a waste of a wage I'm afraid.

Steven Gunn evidently is not fulfilling his role to an acceptable standard, therefore will continue to receive a wage and being rewarded for being incapable until such time he is relieved of his duties.

Until then, the club is haemorrhaging money apportioned for the current DoF's wages.

3 hours ago, CCB III said:

Conversely, I think the game has been stifled in many ways by its modernisation and has largely ironed out individual talents in replace of a robotic, methodical approach. 

Elite players back in the day were able to make individual decisions based on their own intelligence. 

They still do that now though. It's just much harder now because defenders are so much better. 

3 hours ago, CCB III said:

Aye, better facilities etc mean if you dropped Aberdeens 1983 ECWC winning side up against Sevilla, who won last years EL, it wouldn't be a contest. 

I still maintain the footballers in either side would be technically every bit as good. They couldn't hide behind explosiveness, stamina or strength alone, they had to be able to play, with obvious exceptions. 

I don't agree at all. I think whereas in the past being an athlete was less important, now it is compulsory. No matter how good you are nowadays, if you're not also a top athlete and in great shape, you won't make it to the very top. 

I don't see the need to have great fitness as also meaning that there's been a reduction in the presence of technical ability or creativity. 

6 minutes ago, Parklife said:

They still do that now though. It's just much harder now because defenders are so much better. 

I don't agree at all. I think whereas in the past being an athlete was less important, now it is compulsory. No matter how good you are nowadays, if you're not also a top athlete and in great shape, you won't make it to the very top. 

I don't see the need to have great fitness as also meaning that there's been a reduction in the presence of technical ability or creativity. 

There was a huge debate on some podcast regarding players being more 'athletes' than 'ballers' nowadays, argument was you probably wouldn't have seen someone like ' Le Tissier' nowadays who was a baller but wasn't an athlete. Was other players mentioned but can't remember who exactly, argument was the new Gen of managers eg Pep had put more on fitness and pressure than actually picking out a 40 yard pass or hitting a shot from 35 yards instead of passing it sideways nowadays.

5 hours ago, brownie said:

Why do people speak as if we was a secretary prior to this role? Seems to be a cheap shot that people love to use but completely ridiculous at the same time. Been involved in the football operation for years prior to the appointment. Everyone starts somewhere. 

Anyway. He’s not blameless by any means but he’s been chucked under a bus. A real shame.  Fighting shit storm after shit storm. I hope the next person is aloud to do what’s needed to move the club forward. 

5 hours ago, Ke1t said:

It might be interesting to put together a proof of concept.

The Hat's full of lazy fuckers, tho.

Happy to... I miss my FB page... No holds barred... Profanity insanity... The most sweary podcast in the world... It sells itself...

2 hours ago, slippers said:

Why do people speak as if we was a secretary prior to this role? Seems to be a cheap shot that people love to use but completely ridiculous at the same time. Been involved in the football operation for years prior to the appointment. Everyone starts somewhere. 

Anyway. He’s not blameless by any means but he’s been chucked under a bus. A real shame.  Fighting shit storm after shit storm. I hope the next person is aloud to do what’s needed to move the club forward. 

A real shame?

He's paid handsomely for a role he was never qualified or experienced to do.

Fighting shit storms? Won't get into the details here but he's not blameless in that area.

Edit: Everyone says he's a lovely guy and I'm sure he is but this is a football club that should demand more.

12 hours ago, slippers said:

Please elaborate?

what I will say is, Gunn does not have the experience in professional football to hold the DOF job. He may have 'experience' in admin stuff, but that's not just what it's all about. 

29 minutes ago, DD1903 said:

Please elaborate?

what I will say is, Gunn does not have the experience in professional football to hold the DOF job. He may have 'experience' in admin stuff, but that's not just what it's all about. 

The notion that you need to have been a player to be a director of football is nonsense. Gunn was involved in everything a director of football does prior to appointment. My gripe was people saying he booked hotels 1 week and running our football operations the next. 

4 minutes ago, slippers said:

The notion that you need to have been a player to be a director of football is nonsense. Gunn was involved in everything a director of football does prior to appointment. My gripe was people saying he booked hotels 1 week and running our football operations the next. 

I think having some experience in relation to the professional game helps - this guy is meant to discuss footballing matters with coaches and managers? How can he, he's no previous involvement

17 minutes ago, DD1903 said:

I think having some experience in relation to the professional game helps - this guy is meant to discuss footballing matters with coaches and managers? How can he, he's no previous involvement

Agree it does help. But I think you're putting a bit to much emphasis on a director of football. He hires the coaches and managers not telling them how to play. He also hires the recruiters and has input in contract negotiations for players they find. People answer to him and he should be in control of hiring and firing in the football operation (we know this isn't case) yet gets all the heat. Ultimately he gets judged on who he hires which he doesn't even have full control over. 

The big issue is the hiring of people that don't align to our apparent philosophy. See Goodwin and Robson appointments and even Warnock. If you are going to shout about the philosophy you are going to get judged on it. It's absolutely ridiculous that Garner and Milne have input on managerial appointments. A job that should lie with Gunn.

Things will change in summer but the undermining has to stop. Appoint the right people and let them do their job.