sooth_stander Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 Anybody know someone local (Aberdeen) who could do a small bit of fencing and rebuild a small wall? And some landscaping too? Not a big piece of work, probably a day and a half/ 2 days tops. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 1 hour ago, sooth_stander said: Not a big piece of work, probably a day and a half/ 2 days tops. That’s not your decision, unfortunately. Link to comment
manboobs109 Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 If it's anything like down here you've no chance. I've been trying to get decking pulled up, taken away and slabs put down. Been struggling to even get cunts to look at it. Sacked it til spring. Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted October 21, 2021 Author Share Posted October 21, 2021 1 minute ago, milne_afc said: That’s not your decision, unfortunately. Will be a fixed price, then you can take as long as you want. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 Do it yourself you lazy fucker Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted October 21, 2021 Author Share Posted October 21, 2021 7 minutes ago, Reed or deed said: Do it yourself you lazy fucker I’m loaded son, can afford to get an expert in Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 1 minute ago, sooth_stander said: I’m loaded son, can afford to get an expert in Ha ha. In other words you are hopeless wi a hemmer and a shovel. If you are loaded why are you fixing a price? I’m not qualified in any of the aforementioned areas but i will do it for £25k. We on? Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted October 21, 2021 Author Share Posted October 21, 2021 15 minutes ago, Reed or deed said: Ha ha. In other words you are hopeless wi a hemmer and a shovel. If you are loaded why are you fixing a price? I’m not qualified in any of the aforementioned areas but i will do it for £25k. We on? Yep, and you can do the 30 sq metre hoose extension while your at it. We on? Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 23 minutes ago, sooth_stander said: I’m loaded son, can afford to get an expert in Don’t think the hat is the place to find experts in anything other than tonguing assholes. 2 Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted October 21, 2021 Author Share Posted October 21, 2021 4 minutes ago, Redforever86 said: Don’t think the hat is the place to find experts in anything other than tonguing assholes. A fair comment Mods - please delete, I’ll try Mad instead Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 3 minutes ago, sooth_stander said: A fair comment Mods - please delete, I’ll try Mad instead I ken a boy who does landscaping, nae sure if he’d do your wall however. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 Best way of getting anything done, particularly if it's basically manual labour, is to do it yourself. Drill, screws, post hole digger, few bags of cement, a rope, and some fencing. Job done. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 59 minutes ago, manboobs109 said: If it's anything like down here you've no chance. I've been trying to get decking pulled up, taken away and slabs put down. Been struggling to even get cunts to look at it. Sacked it til spring. Fars the eastern europeans fan you need them eh? Cunts! Link to comment
redstrummer Posted October 21, 2021 Share Posted October 21, 2021 2 hours ago, sooth_stander said: Anybody know someone local (Aberdeen) who could do a small bit of fencing and rebuild a small wall? And some landscaping too? Not a big piece of work, probably a day and a half/ 2 days tops. yeah a mate of mine , pm me and I'll give you his details Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 7 hours ago, Roberto said: Step forward EricBlack4Boss If you live near a Tesco, don’t be surprised if he takes a long break. Dont shake his hand after either 3 Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 11 hours ago, redstrummer said: yeah a mate of mine , pm me and I'll give you his details Poof Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 You mean you don’t already have a swimming pool? LOL Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 21 hours ago, Roberto said: Step forward EricBlack4Boss Wouldn't even quote me for a small fence, mans a spent force. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 On 10/21/2021 at 7:28 PM, sooth_stander said: Yep, and you can do the 30 sq metre hoose extension while your at it. We on? That will be extra ? Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 On 10/21/2021 at 7:12 PM, Reed or deed said: Ha ha. In other words you are hopeless wi a hemmer and a shovel. If you are loaded why are you fixing a price? I’m not qualified in any of the aforementioned areas but i will do it for £25k. We on? Why wouldn't you fix a price? Would you let a tradesman loose on your house on an hourly rate without a quote being provided in advance!? Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 16 minutes ago, dazzy_deff said: Why wouldn't you fix a price? Would you let a tradesman loose on your house on an hourly rate without a quote being provided in advance!? It depends who it was. See if you fix a price, the person providing the quote will be inclined to cover themselves when there is any uncertainty of how long things will actually take, so you could end up paying more. Sometimes when estimating works, it is impossible to be accurate as difficulties and unforeseen obstacles can appear, so inflate the estimate to cover for that. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 7 hours ago, daytripping said: Wouldn't even quote me for a small fence, mans a spent force. I'm oor busy with work until January, when I get back to work, I usually leave the domestic fencing it's more trouble than it's worth usually. Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 Not all tradesmen are ripping off cunts. There are plenty genuine honest folk out there. And to be honest if you work for somebody who treats you with mistrust before you even start then it’s a bad place to start. The public are just as bad. Bunch of greedy cunts that want stuff doing for fuck all and dont pay etc etc 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 59 minutes ago, dazzy_deff said: Why wouldn't you fix a price? Would you let a tradesman loose on your house on an hourly rate without a quote being provided in advance!? Yip. Did exactly that last week getting a room plastered, coving fixed up and a ceiling rose made. Bill was £600 shy of what I predicted. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 22, 2021 Share Posted October 22, 2021 1 hour ago, The Boofon said: Yip. Did exactly that last week getting a room plastered, coving fixed up and a ceiling rose made. Bill was £600 shy of what I predicted. If it's a tradesman you know and trust, fine. No way you'd do that with a random. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 23, 2021 Share Posted October 23, 2021 4 hours ago, Reed or deed said: It depends who it was. See if you fix a price, the person providing the quote will be inclined to cover themselves when there is any uncertainty of how long things will actually take, so you could end up paying more. Sometimes when estimating works, it is impossible to be accurate as difficulties and unforeseen obstacles can appear, so inflate the estimate to cover for that. Shit is that how it works Link to comment
Reed or deed Posted October 23, 2021 Share Posted October 23, 2021 8 hours ago, BrianFaePerth said: Shit is that how it works No. I just made that up. Link to comment
Fridge Posted October 24, 2021 Share Posted October 24, 2021 I am fortunate enough to know someone who has a contract with a fix all firm so I just get them to do everything and give them a tip Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 24, 2021 Share Posted October 24, 2021 16 minutes ago, Fridge said: I am fortunate enough to know someone who has a contract with a fix all firm so I just get them to do everything and give them a tip Don’t turn your back to kids in the Spar? Link to comment
Fridge Posted October 24, 2021 Share Posted October 24, 2021 Just now, BrianFaePerth said: Don’t turn your back to kids in the Spar? Don’t smell Bri’s armpits Link to comment