Ken08 Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 ****SHOUT-OUT FOR DONS FANS!**** STV News is looking to talk to Aberdeen fans who travelled to Gothenburg to see them win the Cup Winners' Cup nearly 40 years ago - it's for a piece for next week. If you were there and fancy reliving the experience, or know someone who was, please let me know! You can post in the comments section, or email me at louise.hosie@stv.tv Thanks in advance! Louise 1 3 2 Link to comment
Roberto Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 I'm interested in hearing some stories as well from some of the old wankers on AFC Chat. Reminiscing time. Link to comment
Millertime Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 2 hours ago, Ken08 said: ****SHOUT-OUT FOR DONS FANS!**** STV News is looking to talk to Aberdeen fans who travelled to Gothenburg to see them win the Cup Winners' Cup nearly 40 years ago - it's for a piece for next week. If you were there and fancy reliving the experience, or know someone who was, please let me know! You can post in the comments section, or email me at louise.hosie@stv.tv Thanks in advance! Louise Do you have to have been there? Link to comment
Russell Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 I moved a while ago now but is Grampian TV still on the go or is it all STV? Link to comment
Roger Ramjet 62 Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 Battered in a gay bar, done for shoplifting in Hamburg, shagathon in Sweden and a mass punch up on the ferry back to Kiel. Those were the days. 2 Link to comment
donswin1983 Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 Was that anything to do with Gothenburg min, or just something recent you wanted to get off your chest? either way, fair play👏 Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 6 minutes ago, Roger Ramjet 62 said: Battered in a gay bar, done for shoplifting in Hamburg, shagathon in Sweden and a mass punch up on the ferry back to Kiel. Those were the days. Some lads on my bus were lifted for stealing track suits in Hamburg. They caught up with us in Kiel where we were playing 20 a side fitba. 1 Link to comment
Roger Ramjet 62 Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 Just now, Tommy said: Some lads on my bus were lifted for stealing track suits in Hamburg. They caught up with us in Kiel where we were playing 20 a side fitba. Hooligans. Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 1 minute ago, Roger Ramjet 62 said: Hooligans. Bandit busters and duty free shoplifters too 😄 1 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 Hi Louise, What’s your favourite Dons moment? Link to comment
Dave Bus Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 1 hour ago, Russell said: I moved a while ago now but is Grampian TV still on the go or is it all STV? Got weegiefied into STV - like everything in Scotland these days. Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 59 minutes ago, Roger Ramjet 62 said: shagathon in Sweden What was his name? Link to comment
Johnnyred1 Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 Everybody talks about going by plane or boat. We went by bus!!!. Aberdeen down to Dover. Over to Calais, through Belgium, Holland, through Germany and then a 10 hour ferry to Gothenburg. I was on the double decker with a single decked bus following. Guts were pickled by the time we got home. Left on Sunday got there on Wednesday morning and home Friday Night. Anybody on here on one of those buses? Plenty stories of that journey especially the altercation at Preston which started the tour in style. Link to comment
Guest Posted May 8, 2023 Share Posted May 8, 2023 19 minutes ago, Johnnyred1 said: Everybody talks about going by plane or boat. We went by bus!!!. Aberdeen down to Dover. Over to Calais, through Belgium, Holland, through Germany and then a 10 hour ferry to Gothenburg. I was on the double decker with a single decked bus following. Guts were pickled by the time we got home. Left on Sunday got there on Wednesday morning and home Friday Night. Anybody on here on one of those buses? Plenty stories of that journey especially the altercation at Preston which started the tour in style. Did you have a toilet on board? Link to comment
shut up meg Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 I was too young to go however a mate I used to play amateur football with went by train, if I recall correctly he left at the weekend and arrived Wednesday and got home at midday on the Saturday, just in time for the game. Link to comment
Johnnyred1 Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 9 hours ago, North east Cobian said: Did you have a toilet on board? Yes.....but it was clogged before we hit Dover. Couldn't even harbour a pee. Link to comment
Poodler Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 24 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: Wtf is the username ‘Ken08’ all about? Really loves the gulf war BTSOI Link to comment
Millertime Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 54 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said: No. You can know someone who was. Do you HAVE to have known someone who was there? Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 12 hours ago, Johnnyred1 said: Everybody talks about going by plane or boat. We went by bus!!!. Aberdeen down to Dover. Over to Calais, through Belgium, Holland, through Germany and then a 10 hour ferry to Gothenburg. I was on the double decker with a single decked bus following. Guts were pickled by the time we got home. Left on Sunday got there on Wednesday morning and home Friday Night. Anybody on here on one of those buses? Plenty stories of that journey especially the altercation at Preston which started the tour in style. Preston was fun 😄 Link to comment
jamiesd Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 I was just under 10 but remember the day of the final as if it was yesterday. Out on the streets with my Pops pals at full time who were all round to watch the game. Meeting my mates round the corner on the street. All singing and hugging. Days before mobiles etc. Car horns going mad driving by. Mum then taking us to see the Parade on Queens road the following week. What a time for a young loon. Link to comment
Don_Corleone Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 I can't wait to see the news story that comes out of the nonsense folk write on here, going to be epic! 😆 Link to comment
Millertime Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 4 hours ago, shut up meg said: I was too young to go however a mate I used to play amateur football with went by train, if I recall correctly he left at the weekend and arrived Wednesday and got home at midday on the Saturday, just in time for the game. Gold Bloody gold that! Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 I know a guy who was actually conceived on that Gothenburg ferry, it’s a really touching emotional story, with such a fairytale ending. Link to comment
Russell Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 1 hour ago, Sooper-hanz said: You should email Louise that anecdote. That’s the kind of gold they’re looking for. Reads like the boring priest with the big tache from Father Ted Link to comment
Roberto Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 2 hours ago, jamiesd said: I was just under 10 but remember the day of the final as if it was yesterday. Out on the streets with my Pops pals at full time who were all round to watch the game. Meeting my mates round the corner on the street. All singing and hugging. Days before mobiles etc. Car horns going mad driving by. Mum then taking us to see the Parade on Queens road the following week. What a time for a young loon. Sounds bliss. Oh to be older. At 37, I'll never see the likes and it is quite painful when I think deep down. Football is a bit of a cunt in these times. 1 Link to comment
Roberto Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 49 minutes ago, Redforever86 said: I know a guy who was actually conceived on that Gothenburg ferry, it’s a really touching emotional story, with such a fairytale ending. I know someone who was Gothenburg but hadn't been born quite yet. Haha. Infact she posted about this on FB yesterday. Lovely story. I'm sure the story may have been told by a poster on here. He can step forward if he wishes. Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 7 minutes ago, Roberto said: I know someone who was Gothenburg but hadn't been born quite yet. Haha. Infact she posted about this on FB yesterday. Lovely story. I'm sure the story may have been told by a poster on here. He can step forward if he wishes. Aye, she still had two months until born but loves telling people she was there. 1 Link to comment
Roberto Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 4 minutes ago, Tommy said: Aye, she still had two months until born but loves telling people she was there. If it was me, I would cling to that as well. 🤣 1 Link to comment
JakieBastard Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 My dad never made it across because he couldn't get child care for one year old me. Pretty sure the cunt has held a grudge ever since. To be fair, I would too Link to comment
jamiesd Posted May 9, 2023 Share Posted May 9, 2023 37 minutes ago, Roberto said: Sounds bliss. Oh to be older. At 37, I'll never see the likes and it is quite painful when I think deep down. Football is a bit of a cunt in these times. We can only live in hope. COYR Link to comment