2 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

It's unlikely he will change from the back 3 but I think he should consider it. 

A back 4 of Hendry, Hanley, McKenna and Robertson would allow us to get an extra midfielder in the team and get the attacking midfielders closer to the striker.  We need to try and get more possession in midfield than we've done in the last 2 games. 

Robertson could still get forward leaving 3 in defence and Hendry would do a better job defensively at right back than Ralston. 

+1

This reeks of France 98 and euro 2020 where we have 1 point and go all out in the last game but lose 3-0 / 3-1 

or is it more euro 96 where we have 1 point and pull off the victory but still go out? 

I don’t see us winning but I hope to fuck I’m wrong. This Scotland team is nowhere near the level they have been in the last 3 years. With key players injured and John mcginn not turning up I fail to see how we win. What is it, 1 win in about 11 games - against Gibraltar? 

3 minutes ago, Scotty_Toronto said:

At least we won't have a blonde Craig Burley prancing about (look at me, I scored at the World Cup) and leaving us short.

You never know. Their was a pitch invader at Italy v Albania as well. 

a blonde haired nae teeth strike might just add insult to injury 

8 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

This reeks of France 98 and euro 2020 where we have 1 point and go all out in the last game but lose 3-0 / 3-1 

or is it more euro 96 where we have 1 point and pull off the victory but still go out? 

I don’t see us winning but I hope to fuck I’m wrong. This Scotland team is nowhere near the level they have been in the last 3 years. With key players injured and John mcginn not turning up I fail to see how we win. What is it, 1 win in about 11 games - against Gibraltar? 

Just win, that’s all I’m looking for. If others teams do better then at least we’ve achieved successful failure. And that’s the real quiz.

6 minutes ago, Arthur FN Shelby said:

Well he hasn’t turned up yet. Honestly Ralston sums up the lack of quality we have. Bang average.

now watch  him score tomorrow.😐

What’s annoying is that Stephen o Donnell started at the euros 3 years ago. 

since then we have seen hickey develop from hearts to bologna to Brentford. Patterson go from rangers to Everton. And Ramsay go from Aberdeen to Liverpool. 

but we arrive at euro 2024 with Celtics 2nd choice right back and Bristol city’s right back who only realised he was a right back about 18 months ago 

1 hour ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Due a win then 😄

Draw be enough provided Italy, Spain, Turkey and Portugal win their final matches….. 

In/ oot: both. Nae ticket yet, can’t see that changing 

score: 3-0 Hungary (easier to say we will get beaten and pray for the opposite). They’re a decent side though. 

pre match: drinking heavily again and being an auld cunt, reflecting on previous tournaments where we haven’t qualified by various self destruction methods and bad luck.

post match: scooby doo van, hoping it’s biding a bit longer

attire: yellow Scotland shirt from 86 (I think) and nae bucket hat this time.

c’mon the jocks. Please let this be the tournament we get out the group..🤞🤞

I've fucked my back so whether or not I am able to get out of bed determines if I'll be in or oot for this one. 

I hope to god we turn up. 

I honestly can't even begin to predict the score in this one. 

If we go out I hope it's not another "ooohhh so close" failure. The ones where we are just mashed out are somehow easier to take than the goal difference and 'what-if' failures. 

We have seen it before all two often, the glorious failure that our national  side specialises in.

1982, a win in the final game would  have seen us through, we surrendered  a point to the ussr,  with a squad containing  numerous Dalglish, Souness, Wark, Robertson, Archibald,  miller, mc leish. Strachan, Sturrock, 

86, again a star studded squad and a win in the final game against  Uruguay  and we progress,  but we play out a drab goalless  draw without  creating many chances.

90, we start with the Costa rica debacle, we get a great win against Sweden and then lose a goal in final ten minutes  to Brazil to exit , again that squad had Leighton. Mcleish ,Miller, Bett, Johnston, Malpas, Gough,  mc Coist, mcAllister, Collins,

Auch I'm just depressing  myself  now my point being  we have gone out with far better squads and I fear the same again 

18 minutes ago, Arthur FN Shelby said:

Think we peaked with this group in the qualifiers. No idea if we get through tonight but expect more thrashings from the top teams if we do. Pessimistic? Maybe more realistic. 

Bring on Spain in the next round.

Beat em once and we were cheated out of a 2nd win. Cheating var weasels.

I'm so deluded it's mad.

3 hours ago, ericblack4boss said:

We have seen it before all two often, the glorious failure that our national  side specialises in.

1982, a win in the final game would  have seen us through, we surrendered  a point to the ussr,  with a squad containing  numerous Dalglish, Souness, Wark, Robertson, Archibald,  miller, mc leish. Strachan, Sturrock, 

86, again a star studded squad and a win in the final game against  Uruguay  and we progress,  but we play out a drab goalless  draw without  creating many chances.

90, we start with the Costa rica debacle, we get a great win against Sweden and then lose a goal in final ten minutes  to Brazil to exit , again that squad had Leighton. Mcleish ,Miller, Bett, Johnston, Malpas, Gough,  mc Coist, mcAllister, Collins,

Auch I'm just depressing  myself  now my point being  we have gone out with far better squads and I fear the same again 

You're forgetting in the 86 game against Uruguay they went a man down in the first 2 mins! That was the biggest choke we've ever had. Euro 96 was the unluckiest. If memory serves we were actually heading through for a wee while until the Dutch scored a consolation to make it 4-1 against England.

I worry we don't have enough firepower to score several goals and I have a feeling Hungary will score. So another hard luck story....